Ratings based on 91 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Should have been better

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Should have been better for the price. Worst hotel experience at the end of several weeks travelling around Mexico. Biggest issue were the staff / managers at the restaurant (connected to hotel and where breakfast was served). Made us feel very uncomfortable. Didn't really feel very welcome, not so much as a goodbye on departing. Breakfast okay - served through gritted teeth. Beach nice but tarred by the rest of the experience. We loved our time in Mexico and have spent time travelling around Mexico several times and have never felt like this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely place to stay.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Very charming. Clean and friendly. It was my daughter and I traveling and I felt safe and secure. I would definitely go back. The place is a little jewel by the sea side.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

It's all perspective

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Welcoming drink was very nice along with the free breakfast every morning. The beach was awesome as it is most everywhere in Tulum. Great food!
Location: Great restaurants in the area, and bars with live music. Nice mix of night life and beach tranquility.
We expected the room to be small, but the bathroom was really cramped, and there were two steps up to the bathroom. (which is scary in the middle of the night) Worse thing for us was no hot water on our last night and the morning we left. When we told the management we were told that it was "nature". The hotel's prices were reasonable in today's market for Tulum but for sporadic hot water issues it should be a lot cheaper. Finally the beach area is shared with the hotel next door and it is next to a public access. This was only an issue once when no beach chairs were available.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Beautiful Rustic Cabanas on the Carribean

Posted Mar 2, 2017
We had a great stay at Punta Piedra, the highlights being the breathtaking view (we had cabana 21, with a private 2nd story patio overlooking the the Caribbean!) and the beach, which had the softest white sand, plenty of comfortable furniture options to lounge on, and never felt overly crowded. The room itself was quite nice, but definitely "rustic," and it wasn't as comfortable an it could have been. For one, the room would have been extremely hot if it weren't for the strong ocean breeze we had most nights, but we had to leave all the windows and the sliding glass door open, which made the curtains blow around like crazy all night. Being an eco hotel without AC, this could probably not be helped, but I can't imagine getting a good night's sleep if we stayed in the hotter months and didn't have a breeze. Some things that COULD be helped would be having more than one towel hook, a garbage can outside of the one in the bathroom (where the used toilet paper goes), a bit more storage and an extra key (the door has to be locked to close, so if only one person wants to leave the room, the other has to be locked in or has to lock the other out). The staff were friendly but didn't go out of their way to make sure we were happy and comfortable. The free breakfast also left something to be desired, but hey, it's free. Overall we had a wonderful stay and would recommend the hotel, but we'd love to see them go the extra mile to make it a 5 star experience.
5 out of 5
by Miguel

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Magical place, very overprice but it worth it!
1 out of 5
by Giselle

Bad experience

Posted Jan 7, 2017 on Hotels
I decided not to stay at Posada Punta Piedras. The room was small and right next ti the kitchen. Noisy and Smelly. The beds werw not the size advertised. Hotels.com provide us an excellent service though re-locating is in a better hotel even paying for the extra money requiered. I highly recommend the servjce if hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Discount option near beach

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Beach location
Cons: Quality and size of rooms
Overall, a decent stay but would advise spending a bit more for a more upscale hotel. Nice spot on the beach but rooms are small and at a busy section of Tulum
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming rustic intimate beachfront boutique hotel

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
We had a fantastic stay at Punta Piedra! The hotel is rustic and charming, lots of bright white and worn wood. Absolutely loved the atmosphere of this hotel. The little pool is perfect after playing in the ocean and the beach beds make all the difference. Room was extremely clean and fresh feeling. Only thing missing is towel hooks haha. Not much to complain about! Xavier at front desk was SO helpful, genuine and kind. Can't wait to go back one day.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

At the beach in Tulum

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
The room was very simple for the price but it did have a wonderful beach location. There was a strong smell of chemical in the room and it took me awhile to figure out it was the stuff they use for cockroaches which i put outside once I found it. Great food at the restaurant adjoining the hotel. No coffee in the am as I had to leave at 7:30 am. The staff were all very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ashland, OR

Beautiful Beach Front!

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, interesting and thoughtful decor and design, beautiful private beach, great cappuccinos and mimosas!!
Cons: Breakfast wasn't that great. We almost didn't try the restaurant for other meals but we were really glad we did! The tapas menu is fabulous!!
We had a wonderful stay. The beach front location was exactly what we wanted. The staff was extremely friendly. This was our first time in Tulum and we felt like we were really lucky with the location. It is a very mellow and private feeling beach. After exploring other areas in Tulum we realized how unique and peaceful our spot really was!