Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jennifer from Lakewood Colorado

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Very charming and quaint hotel, very well kept up on the outside, the rooms were OK but did not have king size beds, and only 2 small pillows. We had to ask for 4 more, and there was no coffee pot in room. There was coffee in the office, but who wants to have to get dressed in the morning to go get coffee? The mini fridges and microwave were nice. Not many toiletries- 2 small soaps and a shampoo/conditioner combo that was so small it was only enough barely for one person. The lady at the front desk was very nice and friendly, the hot tub and enclosure were very nice, and it's located almost in the heart of Grand Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Lodge, in Charming Town

Posted Oct 18, 2015
Pros: Location in town and room
Cons: none
Location: close to lakes, in downtown, and only a few miles to Rocky Mountain National Park west enterance
The Spirt Lake Lodge, a clean, updated and cozy place to stay in Grand lake. The lodge was not busy at the time we visited and they gave us an upgrade, so very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from co

Posted Oct 11, 2015
Pros: Nice outside and landscaping
Cons: Coffee pots in rooms.
Location: Walking distance to lake,shops and restaurants
Took a while to get someone to the front desk for check in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great location, value

Posted Oct 4, 2015
Pros: room configuration
Cons: beds, pillows and bedding
Location: Great coffee and ice cream, Hub, shop right across the street
Considering the price paid and the 2-star rating, I think Spirit Lake is a great spot for a quick trip to the mountains. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 young kids and a dog) was comfortable for a night. The location is fantastic- easy walking distance to all of the shops and restaurants on main street (Grand Ave). The beds and pillows were terrible and space was limited. The room was clean, but dated. The room configuration was quite a nice surprise with one bed in a separate room... great for putting young kids to bed at a reasonable time while mom and dad can stay up without disturbing them.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora

Basic hotel close to town

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Pros: It was dry, warm, close to town (walkable.) The exterior was pleasant to look at and it was more comfortable than camping.
Cons: Better quality soap/shampoo would be nice.
Location: Lots of restaurants, coffee shops, etc within walking distance. Proximity to Rocky Mountain National Park is why we went.
Room was advertised as 1 queen plus 2 twins; but it was a double bed plus 2 twins. The room smelled like urine. There was a fair amount of noise from the surrounding bars late at night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephen from Denver, CO

Small room with a big price

Posted Sep 16, 2015 on Hotels
After traveling through RMNP that day my wife and I had planned the stay in Grand Lake. Grand Lake is a neat little town and the hotel is right by a lot of good shops. The room was nice, a lot of real wood furniture. The biggest pain point for me was the price of the room for what you got. The room was very small, the queen size bed barely fit into the room it was in. The bathroom was tiny, only 1 person at a time for sure. We were also advised that we couldn't leave the dogs in the room by themselves. Most of the shops were okay with having dogs in there, but that is a bit of an inconvenience when you want to get a bite to eat. I would rate the stay more favorable if the rooms were bigger. We stayed in a motel in Estes Park the night before and it was much nicer and cheaper. I would say if you don't have dogs and don't plan on spending much time in your room it would be an okay place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael from Denver

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
We chose this hotel because it is across the street from the Rocky Mountain Repertory Theatre. The Theatre is the reason we travelled to Grand Lake.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judiann from Tucson, Az

Great overnight get away.

Posted Sep 13, 2015 on Hotels
Very clean rooms, many different configurations for rooms. Right on the main strip of Grand Lake. Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, Texas

Very Average Hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Pros: Adequate room.
Cons: Coffee in room, and lotion etc in room as well as less basic looking furnishing.
Location: It is near Grand Lake which is lake area at entrance of Rocky Mountain National Park.
We reserved this room a week before we stayed which might account for the high price for a minimal hotel. Also there was an old car gathering in Grand Lake which also might have made prices high. Nevertheless it wasn't as nice as a La Quinta, but cost a great deal more in Grand lake. Wouldn't stay there again unless it was lower price. Our lovely room at Hotel Aspen next week will be less expensive.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bare minimums...

Posted Sep 12, 2015
The bed was comfortable, and the room was clean, but beyond that, not much to write home about. Not much at all as far as amenities... One TINY bar of soap, one tiny bottle of body wash that barely worked up a lather. No shampoo. Be sure to bring your own. The 'bath towels' were basically overgrown hand towels. All in all it was 'OK', but I won't be returning. I expect a little more when I'm forking out my money for an overnight stay.