Ratings based on 353 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Over priced and outdated!

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Everything seemed run down and outdated. We had to unclog our sink. Air conditioning unit was very loud. Compatible to a nice motel...definitely not worth the resort prices they are charging. Nice bar and fire pits...but room views are weak. I would not stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stowe, Vermont

Looks great but falls short on room quality

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Restaurant and view are definitely the good points.
Cons: Soundproofing in rooms, coffee, pool area, housekeeping
Location: Location is good , close to downtown Estes park, but outside main business district so not too loud. Boat rentals next door.
My wife and I stayed at this hotel for one night at the end of a trip to Rocky Mountain NP looking for a night of luxury before heading out to the airport next day. It falls short of expectations. I had read many reviews already and seen it has some issues, but I thought it would still suit our needs as we are not fussy and don't require a lot of service. It had enough issues for me to say I won't be staying there again. First, the view is very nice of the Lake and the hotel appears well maintained in general. The restaurant is very good. Very nice deck for outdoor seating and great views from inside as well. We really enjoyed our dinner. The design of the hotel is a bit odd. The first level is actually a basement that you can see a little out of. Lobby and restaurant are on second level. There is a public jogging path between the hotel and lake front so there are a lot of people passing in front of the rooms view. On the second level our room's deck was only just high enough to not be too exposed. The room looked very nice but strange layout with the sink out in the bedroom. The ancient wall unit AC is jet engine loud. We used the nice natural ventilation from the lake, but no screen door and the glass sliding door doesn't seal so the wind whistles through even when closed. Poor soundproofing between rooms. Lots of lake flies in the light fixtures. Terrible coffee in lobby and room, bring your own , in room brewer. Pool and hot tub are in basement and poorly maintained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort on Lake Estes

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Estes Park Resort is a wonderful small resort right on Lake Estes. Great amenities, bar & restaurant on site. Located on the 3 mile walking path around Estes Lake. Boat, bike rentals next door, and horseback riding across the street. Close to downtown for food & shopping. Wish we would have stayed 2 nights.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Aurora CO

We were impressed

Posted Sep 13, 2016
We really enjoyed our time. We made sure to get a there a little early to get a third floor room with the lake view and it was worth it. We didn't want a lake view on the first floor. Impressed with restaurant, easy access to downtown, pool was nice and they gave us smores supplies for that night. We will be back for a longer stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sugar Bush Knolls, OH

Terrible end to a great vacation!!

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: The view.
Cons: The internet didn't work. The heat/air could barely be adjusted, and the front desk was hopelessly incompetent.
Location: Nice path to walk around the lake.
I booked the hotel on Expedia and the reservation required prepayment, which was fine. I brought the confirmation email when I checked in and made sure that everything was already paid. The front desk clerk said that he would only swipe my credit card for "incidentals". Imagine my surprise when I looked at me credit card account in the morning and found that $478.00 taken for the "incidentals". When I checked with the front desk, they said that they would speak with the front desk manager. When I checked out, the front desk manager was there and said that she knew nothing about my problem, but said that she would "call my bank". That was totally unacceptable, and she added insult to the injury by stating that she would not process the credit until I had checked out!!! It is now three days since I checked out and nothing has been done. Fortunately, this was at the end of our vacation, but still a very poor way to end it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: View of the lake
Cons: Facility needs to be upgraded. Room was very dirty.
Disappointing, room was dirty and we did not get any housekeeping during our stay. Facility needs to be upgraded. Rooms are small and the bathroom sink is in the bedroom thus making the bedroom even more crowded. Staff lost our reservation thus leading to no housekeeping services.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Excellent location on Lake Estes.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Room was clean and hotel was right at edge of Lake Estes.
Cons: Restaurant. Wanted a side of toast-this was 1 very dry piece for $2. A small glass of OJ was $4. Needless to say we did not go back for any meals.
Location: Near Estes Park Visitors Center from which there are several shuttles to general area & a hiker shuttle which goes to Park&Ride. River walk is pretty
First day we walked the 3.87 miles around Lake Estes. We took hiker shuttle to Park&Ride. From there another shuttle to Bear Lake. We hiked to several lakes. Another day we went to Moraine and did more hiking. One day we took 2 shuttles around the town. We stopped at the Stanley Hotel and walked through it. The shuttle system in Estes Park is awesome. I would recommend Hunter's Chop House for dinner. It is excellent. Estes Park is a beautiful place. The River walk is very pleasant.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Orleans

You pay for the view

Posted Jul 31, 2016
The hotel did not meet my expectations for the rate I was charged. Based on their website photos, I was expecting a luxury lodge, but got a typically nice hotel instead. On the plus side, the hotel staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful, especially the wait staff in the restaurant. My room was clean and the bed very comfortable. The view of the mountains surrounding the lodge is spectacular. On the disappointing side, the bathroom needed painting and the shower/bathtub was made of fiberglass instead of tile. The balcony was small and not private. The air conditioner was a wall-mounted unit (although in such an older, historic building, I imagine central air is impossible to install). Overall, I had a nice stay, but I was expecting more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Resort implies excellent service, this is no resor

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: located in Estes Park
Cons: Service
inattentive front desk staff, overpriced restaurant with inexperienced staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Beautiful hotel sitting right in the lake but the room from our view sucked. We were hoping for a lakefront or even a mountain view from out window but instead we had a retaining wall and parking lot view.