Ratings based on 1,212 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel close to the sites of Rome

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: We liked all aspects from the hotel.
Recently returned from a amazing stay in Rome staying at the Mercure Roma Centro Colosseo. Reception staff polite, keen to make your stay as enjoyable as possible, we paid for breakfast in Advance , lots of choice, hot or cold options , replenished constantly. Our room was very comforatable, separate shower/toilet. The hotel 10 minutes from colosseum, metro, bus stops, plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We would certainly return to Rome and the Mercure Roma Centro Colosseo.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal location for historical sites in Rome.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Fantastic hotel, fantastic location. Close to Roman historical sites. Ideal for a short break.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from suffolk

Close to underground station and collesum

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Lock broke to door to room they sorted this quickly and changed our room quickly. Both rooms very clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mansfield

Ideal hotel to explore Rome

Posted Feb 20, 2017
This hotel is in the perfect place to explore Rome and its amazing sights. On the door step of public transport and easy walking distance to most eye catching places. The room was a very good size clean and modern. Buffet breakfast had variety and always well stocked. The staff were very help full and i would recommend this place to any one visiting Rome. The view from the roof is amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bristol

Perfect hotel for all tourist attractions

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great hotel and location. Very helpful staff, even placed a surprise bottle of prosecco in our room when they found out it was our anniversary. Only 100 yards from colloseum & palatine hill sites. Close to main station & plenty of restaurants, cafes, bakers & bars.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We've just come back from 3 days in Rome! The hotel was great for us, 2 minutes from the colosseum, restaurants and bus stops. The room was modern and the bathroom was lovely! Our room was a little small but there were only 2 of us so we can't complain! We had breakfast once there - standard continental. We had dinner at the bistro too which was nice and not too expensive plus they gave you a 30% discount. Overall a great stay and I'd definitely return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Fantastic location for exploring the ancient city.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Primarily the location. We were mostly interested in exploring the Colosseum and the Forum, and the hotel was perfectly located to allow for this.
Cons: The restaurant seemed a little overpriced, and as a result we did not eat there. There are myriad options nearby, however, so this was not a problem.
Location: The Colosseum, Forum and Palatine Hill are within walking distance, as is the metro for access to the rest of the city.
The location is terrific, literally a two-minute stroll from the Colosseum. The road noise was a little disturbing from around 8am, but not at all during the night. The staff were very helpful and polite at all times, and dealt with an issue that we had (the batteries in the door lock had run out) very quickly and efficiently.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton, UK

A good hotel in an ideal location

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The Mercure Central Colosseum hotel is an ideal place to stay when you're looking for somewhere near the sites and transport links. It sits right along a major tram and bus route, as well as slap bang between a metro station for both the A and B lines making it easy to get about. The reception is covered in marble and looks eminently high class. The reception staff are all welcoming, all speak English and a put up with my functional but broken Italian! Check in took about 10 minutes after being offered extras like breakfast and being reminded of the city tax that must be paid when you leave (12€ per night!). Our room was on the fourth floor. The room itself was excellent given it was a basic double. It was reasonably large and tastefully decorated. The room came with the mod cons you would expect like aircon, a tea set with a few tasteful options, a minibar, a safe and TV. The bathroom had an enormous wet room style shower and I was surprised to see a bidet! The room came with a small, glasses over balcony that overlooked the main road. During the day it essentially became a greenhouse to it was rarely used but having that door open really helped with air flow. The bed was a little uncomfortable as I prefer soft beds but this is personal preference. We didn't have a chance to try the restaurant. All in all the hotel is an ideal place to base your Rome adventures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Modern Hotel very close to the Coliseum

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: Very nice, modern hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Food in the restaurant was lovely. Good selection for breakfast. Great view of Coliseum from room.
Cons: Room was on roadside of the hotel -the road noise is quite loud (not the hotel's fault - but something to consider) Paper/plastic cups in room - awful
Location: Coliseum & Forum - 5 min walk. Trevi Fountain, Pantheon & Spanish steps about 25 mins walk & relatively close to each other. Hop on/off Buses useful
Very nice, modern hotel with friendly, helpful staff. Food in the restaurant was lovely and there was a good selection for breakfast - it set us up for the day (a bit pricey, so if you book it - don't miss it!) Our room was small but comfortable with ensuite and mini bar. We had a wonderful view of the Coliseum, even from 2nd floor. 7th-floor rooms have a small balcony and there is a rooftop terrace with pool (the terrace/bar is unmanned out of season sadly). Any minuses - Our room was on the road side of the hotel -the road noise was quite loud and there are sirens frequently (not the hotel's fault - but something to think about when booking which room). Also, I would have preferred better cups to use. The cups for coffee/tea facility were disposable paper cups and in the bathroom very weak disposable plastic type.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very close to Colosseum.

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Good location. Walking distance to metro and all ancient sights. Comfortable room and good facilities
Cons: Quite noisy but to be expected with location I suppose.
Location: Walking distance to all attractions, Trevi fountain, spanish steps, piaza veneto. We walked everywhere, but also very close to metro station.
Had a lovely 5 days in Rome with the wife. Hotel is located up the road from the Colosseum. Some rooms have views of it from window. We went in February but had decent weather. Hotel wasn't full and was able to upgrade. There is a pool and rooftop bar open in the summer. We found staff to be very helpful with any enquiries we had. Very close to metro station, but we found that we walked everywhere, covered about 10 miles a day! Traffic noise can be heard and walls very thin but this is pretty standard for most hotels in a busy city. It's good for people on a budget that just want somewhere to stay for a few nights.