Ratings based on 1,407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic style hotel

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Enjoyed my stay. Staff was friendly and very useful/informative. Close to metro station and some key sites.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Nice hotel with easy access to the main shopping

Posted Sep 2, 2015
Pros: Cleanliness and the porters - they are so friendly and helpful! Good wifi
Cons: Door to shower recess.
Location: It is near the main shopping strip but a fair distance from everything else;as it was very hot,taxi had to be used to get to and from most attractions
Nice, rather comfortable hotel. The porters were excellent. The happy hour in the comfortable lounge had an excellent atmosphere to relax and wind down after a day visiting. It provided an opportunity for guests to socialise and share experiences. The weather forecast for the following day was a nice touch. My one complaint is about the bathroom. Ok, I've got some weight to lose but I am not overly obese. At a size 16, the entrance to the corner shower recess was so small that I had to enter and exit sideways. I did not complain as everything else was lovely.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saint mande

Hôtel romantique a deux pas du centre de Rome

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Excellent séjour Le personnel est aux petits soins pour vous. Le service est irréprochable et digne d un grand hôtel. Le seul point je dirai négatif mais qui ne l ai pas vraiment, les chambres sont un peu petite. Je le conseille vivement et j y retournerai certainement
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location. Walking distance to main sights

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Quality furnishings., Bed linen and towels. Robes and slippers provided. Good choices at breakfast. Well presented. 'Happy Hour' - 6.00 - 10 pm !
Location: Next to the Piazza del Popolo. Walking distance to the Vatican and Pantheon. 200m from the Metro
Excellent four day trip. Staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Virtually every world famous sight is in walking distance ( wear comfortable shoes) with plenty of shops, bars, cafes and restaurants in between. Be prepared to encounter street vendors selling flowers, selfie sticks and other gizmo's. The four hour long happy hour also included a terrific choice of bar food ( gratis). The front of the River Palace does not do this hotel justice. Step inside and it is superb. Would recommend you don't overdo the big trips in one day. It will exhaust you. Visit the Vatican and Colosseum on separate days. Pantheon and Piazza Novona are 'must sees'. Watch out for high service charges in some restaurants, especially those near main attractions. Enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a gem!

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Pros: The friendly and helpful staff
My Husband and I were in Rome at the end of our anniversary vacation. I took a chance and booked this hotel. What a find! The staff was unbelievably friendly, the rooms were clean and spacious, and the breakfast was the best. Sergio, at the front desk, is our hero! We asked him for dinner suggestions and he was eager to help. We asked him for suggestions for daily plans, and he plotted our day, and then, we asked him for a destination away from the city and...he helped plan our trip to the Isola D'Elba. What an experience. I have NEVER written a review before, but this place, the River Palace Hotel, was fantastic. When in Rome again, we will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Felt like home in Rome

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Our stay at River Palace was really nice and the receptionist Rebecca went above and beyond for us by helping us with our shuttle bus pick up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Das Hotel hat unsere Erwartungen vollkommen erfüllt. Das Zimmer war zwar etwas klein, aber da wir eh den ganzen Tag unterwegs waren, hat uns das nicht weiter gestört.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location for main sites

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and location for sites
Cons: Had a slight issue with noise from drain water from rooms above when flushing or draining the bath. No tea making facilities
Location: Every tourist site is within 30-40 mins walk, as well as main shops and the tube being 5 mins away. Did not need to use the hop on off bus
1st impression of the outside and adjacent buildings did not reflect the excellent standard interior. Every tourist site is within 30-40 mins walk, as well as main shops and the tube being 5 mins away. Staff extremely helpful, speak excellent English and attentive. Glad we upgraded the room size. Had a slight issue with noise from drain water from rooms above when flushing or draining the bath. Although well stocked fridge No tea making facilities. Breakfast was good standard and fresh fruit. Quite a few steps and need multiple lifts for some floors.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UL

River Palace Hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: 1. Location 2. Breakfast 3. Excellent Staff
Fantastic hotel, situated in central Rome. It's a 5 minute walk to Flaminio metro station and less than 10 minute ride to Termini train and metro station. From the hotel, its a 10 minute walk to the Spanish Steps, 30 minute walk to the Vatican and 45 minute walk to the Colosseum. The room itself was great, air conditioning, shower, mini bar, sky tv, etc. Brilliant reception staff who were extremely knowledgeable and couldn't do enough to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Sussex

Well located, elegant little gem.

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Breakfast is lovely with a range of food to cater to all tastes from full cooked breakfast to bucks fizz and pastries.The public areas are clean
Location: Welll situated for walking to all historic sites - about 20 minutes walk to the Vatican City and same in the other direction to the Pantheon.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the River Palace. A real oasis of cool and calm to walk back to after a busy day exploring Rome. Classic rooms are small but beautifully decorated and spotlessly clean. Lovely bathrooms and very efficient air-conditioning. All major sites walkable although the nearby metro station offers an easy alternative for getting to the central railway station with luggage.