Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Not bad for the price

Posted Apr 25, 2017
I guess I didn't realize this hostel was a hotel until I got to my room (I was glad about this because even though it's pretty cheap for a hotel, it's a little pricy for a hostel). There's nothing wrong with this place, it's just an older building and the rooms are very basic. I really appreciated how quiet it was at night and I slept very well.
4 out of 5
by neil

basic but good

Posted Apr 20, 2017 on Hotels
had a great time at hostal rom ,loved roses,dont go for a british type holliday,mostly spanish and french in resort,we were made welcome in all the bars and great restaurants we visited.
5 out of 5
by George from USA

Couldn't ask for more!

Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
Price was reasonable, reception was extremely helpful, room was comfortable and quiet, and location was one block from seaside and walking distance to streets of restaurants!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Woodstock, NY USA

Seemed about right for the price

Posted Sep 20, 2013 on Hotels
Hotel is older and dated yet clean. Approximately a 5 block walk from the (free) municipal parking. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was pastries, sliced meats, and cheese.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by Joaquin from Vancouver, BC, Canada

Good place with super helpful staff.

Posted Apr 8, 2012
Pros: Friendly owners
Cons: Not a big deal, but there was no shampoo in the bathroom. I had my own.
Location: Very central, close to all the restaurants, yet far enough to be quiet.
I have read other reviews of the hotel referring to the age of the building, etc. I couldn't disagree more. I have been on the road now for several months, cycling around Catalonia, and in my experience, I would much rather have a super friendly staff ready to help out any way they can than a super modern, cold and sterile place with indifferent staff. I can afford hotels of any price, I spent a week at the Hostel de Los Reyes Catolicos in Santiago last month after completing the via de la plata. In my experience, always go for a family run establishment over a large chain. The star system in Spain is meaningless. I have stayed in two star places that were amazing, and I have stayed in four star places that I felt like leaving in the middle of the night. Hostel Rom is the real deal, and I will definitely be back in the future. The owners and staff are absolutely first rate, professional, and really decent people, and the location is excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Allex, France

Posted May 7, 2018
Hôtel bien situé
4 out of 5
by Olivia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2018 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

pas mal mais peut mieux faire

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
nous avons eu le privilège de louer une chambre pour 5 (pratique pour les grandes familles avec des petits bouts). c'est rare et trés appréciable. le prix est correct et le déjeuner sympa. je trouve par contre l’hôtel moyen moins sur son niveau de vétusté. Les sols sont dégradés... reste correct pour le rapport qualité / prix.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bcn

Posted Jun 27, 2017
Algo viejas las habticiones, por lo demas todo correcto. Buena atencion, aire acondicionado en la habitacions, desayuno ok.