Ratings based on 577 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.5 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.5 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Rooms

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Pros: nothing, have stayed before though
Cons: cleanliness
Location: close to Victoria airport
Had to change rooms as 1 bed had hairs on the bed sheets and was un made, changed rooms but no coffee carafe in the morning, advised by staff there was some in the lobby?
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Very Disappointed!

Posted Nov 30, 2017
Pros: The two gentlemen that were working each night were wonderfully helpful.
Cons: Everything could be improved upon as the condition of the hotel was filthy.
Location: Close to the airport. We didn't look for things to do as it was a work related stay.
In our first room the bathtub taps continuously ran and couldn't be turned off so we had to be moved. In our second room there was no fridge as requested and the toilet and tub were both very dirty and stained. The beds were clean and that is the only reason we didn't change hotels. The carpets looked like they hadn't been vacuumed in quite awhile along with the hallways as well. The continental breakfast was stale and so ridiculous that all I had for the two days was there coffee.The two staff we met were wonderful but it didn't make up for the dirty and disappointing condition of the hotel. I usually never leave reviews but this hotel needs to be pointed out so people don't book it until they change the condition of their facility!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Terrible not worth the money. Hotel was dirty old stained carpets. This hotels needs a major makeover.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nanaimo BC

Paid for a different hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Don't go. Used towels, hairy... and I mean LOTS of hair in the sheets and pillows. Floors not vacuumed for probably months... it was like a sandy beach in the floor. We checked out immediately and ended up paying at a hotel across the street. Never got a refund. This should not be a super 8. It is nothing like the super 8's we've stayed at. The back door didn't even have a lock. Shady and disgusting. Don't go. You've been warned!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Never any Super 8 again

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Dirty sheets and filthy blankets. Food on carpet. Horrible experience with any motel ever. Should have seen reviews before going. My fault.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from salt spring island, bc

Filthy

Posted Oct 18, 2017
If cleanliness is important for you in a hotel, then definitely avoid this one. Carpets were filthy, lots of hair in the shower, and on the pillow, sock fluff on the sheets under the blanket etc. Missed the last ferry of the night and our usual places in Sidney were sold out so we took a chance here. Next time if the same happens we'd rather sleep in the car than revisit this Super 8. The only thing "Super" was in how super dirty it was. The receptionist at check in was fine and friendly for the 1 minute we interacted with him, so no complaints there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kingston, ON

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location. It's near the Patricia Bay Highway, close to the airport and ferry terminal. There is also a McDonalds across the street.
Cons: Lots...start with honesty in fees. Don't surcharge the customer. Daily garbage removal would be nice. So would replacing towels.
Location: Eat at McDonalds...then leave to go somewhere nice.
The price Expedia quoted wasn't the price they charged. This hotel wanted a premium price because it was Thanksgiving weekend in Canada. I don't mind paying a premium, but think that it's fair if I know that in advance. So, Expedia's at fault here too. The hotel offers value but don't expect much. Room garbage is cleaned every other day...used towels are treated the same way. There is one light in the room but fortunately it is on a long cord so it can be used as a desk light and bedside table light.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay there again.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness.
Location: Location is close to airport. Pub & restaurants nearby.
The place is filthy. Room and stairwell carpets have apparently not been cleaned in years. Bedspread was dirty, pillow smelly. Debris from previous occupants left under bed shows vacuuming not done thoroughly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
The room was dirty we stayed for 3 nights and we had to ask for more towels ect also the bathroom very got cleaned. The staff was good and changed our room due to the one we had smelt like smoke and we asked for a non smoking room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from victoria bc

It felt outdated

Posted Oct 7, 2017
I needed a hotel to stay for 1 night, as I was attending a wedding and found this place. The hotel felt outdated. The carpeting, bed sheets, the curtains and the tv look like they have not been replaced since they have opened. I don’t think I’ll be staying there again anytime soon.