Ratings based on 1,290 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: It has character
The hotel was fine, stayed there a few nights for a business meeting. Was awaken in the middle of the night by a fire alarm and we had to evacuate and stand outside for a few minutes. The walls were also pretty thin - I could hear another guest pretty clearly
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice classy hotel. Great service!

Posted Jul 19, 2016
We thought the room was clean and comfortable. We especially liked the quiet!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CSU Sacramento

No napping Friday afternoons!

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Pros: The historical character and the size if the bathroom. The food trucks.
Cons: Less boarded up buildings and more people living in the area.
Location: The area has some fun nice restaurants. The area has potential.
The hotel is a remodeled, 1930 newspaper office building and has a lot of historical character. Downtown Sacramento is in "transition" and there are seems to be a diehard group of skid row alcoholics that hang around the hotel, mostly harmless but some have mental health issues. On Friday evenings during the summer the park across the street hosts live bands and food trucks. The bands are extremely loud and play from 4 to 9 PM. The level of music means you cannot hear the TV in the room. If napping in the afternoon is something you look forward to, don't stay here. 24-hour parking is $28 a day, there really is no other option. Very nice on-site restaurant for dinner...or a late martini with your local politician.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice hotel, near many places of interest;

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Pros: Location, Clean Rooms, Helpful Staff.
Cons: Rooms and Elevators are a bit small, but that's to be expected with an older classic hotel.
Location: With comfortable walking shoes; Capitol, Calif Railroad Museum, Cathedral of Blessed Sacrament, Old Sacramento.
Helpful staff, clean rooms. We had a higher floor with a nice view.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern Virginia

Lovely boutique-style hotel near state Capitol

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: I loved the quippy quotes about politics in the elevators and the chess table and CA Code volumes in the lobby. It feels steeped in history.
Cons: I did see one set of used dishes from room service outside a room a while in one hall. They may not have let anyone know it was being put out.
Location: It is blocks away from some of Sac's best restaurants, several super coffee shops, the Capitol rose garden, the convention center and the Capitol.
From the Valet service to the check-in assistant, the staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. The valet made sure we didn't leave anything valuable in the car, there was someone to hold the door for us, and the person who checked us in also offered us water and a house-made snack from the Grange (the fabulous in-house restaurant). At one point I lost my key. The staff was helpful and jovial, even teasing me a bit (in a fun way). I love the feel of this hotel. The decor is an updated take on classic style with haberdashery patterns and fabrics sumptuously applied to high ceilinged windows, headboards, etc. I love the art - almost all original drafts of political cartoons - which are a perfect play on the location so close to the Capitol and government agencies. The Grange has an upscaled industrial look and feel and is home to one of the nicest breakfast options in the area. I loved both the personalized take on eggs-benedict (I could choose smoked salmon or proscuitto and spinach) and the rich addition of marscapone with the strawberries on the belgian waffles. The desserts were also pretty snazzy. I actually had edible gold on mine! While I didn't use the gym facilities, I appreciated that they offered both an intimate area in the building or an agreement with a larger gym. I highly recommend this beautifully-tailored, hip hotel and restaurant/bar, especially if you have business at the Capitol or with state agencies located close by.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water for shower and no room for exchange.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Cold shower for a 4 star hotel?! Worst experience ever!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Ramon

We're not happy with our small room

Posted May 27, 2016
I called before my arrival to add a friend to my room who would be arriving prior to me. When I arrived my friend was waiting and the front desk had no record of my call. Extremely strange. We were given a very small room. I loved this hotel last time but was disappointed this time.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog friendly!

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Vibe was great
Cons: Not sure
Location: Right by the Capital building and a great park.
Great staff, beautiful cool hotel. Great pet friendly hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016
This was a beautiful hotel with great service and an amazing restaurant.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Very nice hotel in a busy street! Easy to find, they do offer valet parking but they will also give you information on where to self park if you opt for it. The Valet are very nice as well as the concierge, I really appreciate the help with our luggages. I love the room decor too!