Featured Image

Reviews of Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town

2.5 out of 5
Vagabond Inn Executive Old Town
909 3rd St, Sacramento, CA

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

3.9

Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 299 out of 1004 reviews
5 - Excellent 30%
Rating 4 - Good. 440 out of 1004 reviews
4 - Good 44%
Rating 3 - Okay. 162 out of 1004 reviews
3 - Okay 16%
Rating 2 - Poor. 65 out of 1004 reviews
2 - Poor 6%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 38 out of 1004 reviews
1 - Terrible 4%

4.0/5

Cleanliness

4.2/5

Staff & service

3.8/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 14, 2020
Thank you so much for the positive review!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 3 nights in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 7, 2020
Thank you for such a positive review!!

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness
Great location but average room
The highlight of this place for us was the location - a very easy 5 minute walk to old town, and also Macy’s in the other direction. The room size is fine and as expected. There was a fridge and microwave which was a bonus we were not expecting. The air con worked well. Shower temperature and pressure were good. On the down side, the bathroom had a strong urine smell but since you couldn’t smell it in the main room, we didn’t bother reporting it as we had already made ourselves comfortable. The bedspread does not have a cover, they simply put one sheet underneath it and one sheet on top of it, so once you start moving around in bed you start to see all the stains on the bedspread which is very off putting. And lastly, our room did not get any maid service during our 2 night stay.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for you detailed review! We're so glad you enjoyed our central location and hotel amenities! Since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, we have posted a sign to our guests stating there will not be maid service for guests staying multiple nights in order to ensure the safety of our employees. The front desk is always available to make sure guests get any requested towels or linens they might need.

4/5 Good

Traveled with partner, Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location - just across Old Town Sacramento. We came around 4 and they just were finishing cleaning, which was no done very thorough (there was somebody's ice cream left in the fridge and one of the shampoo bottles was in some brown stuff, I would not specify here my wife's guess of how it was used by people before us). There was lot of noise in the late evening. but I think it was part of being near Old Town Saturday evening
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your review! I'm very sorry that the room was not up to our usual cleanliness standards. Our front desk is always happy to switch rooms when available or find another solution to any problem guests might have. We hope to see you again next time!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
guess service not good unorganized
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your honest review. I'm so sorry you had a less than stellar experience with our staff. Unfortunately, some changes have had to be made to keep everyone safe during the global pandemic. We hope to do better during your next visit.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Disliked: Staff & service
the check in was a mess due to covad 9 issue
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately COVID-19 has really overwhelmed most 3rd party agencies and therefore it can occasionally take some time for changes or mistakes to be fixed. Our staff has been doing their best to support these 3rd parties and to make check in and check out as smooth as possible in these challenging times, all while maintaining everyone's safety. We appreciate your patience and hope everything will be easier the next time you visit us during less trying times. Stay safe!

4/5 Good

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness
It was clean and the locaton. Easy access to all that you need e d
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for such a positive review! I'm so glad to hear that our property was up to your cleanliness standards and that you enjoyed our central location. As the approved soccer arena and improvements to the waterfront area get built, it should become an even better location. Hope you'll think of us on your next vist!

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
It was an excellent Stay can’t wait to do it again
Stayed 2 nights in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review and we hope to see you next time you're in the area!

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 6, 2020
Thank you for your review.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Homeless Haven
Might be a better experience some other time.
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry your stay with us wasn't perfect. It is true that Sacramento and all of California in general has a homeless problem that needs to be addressed. In the mean time, as a hotel we have taken steps to ensure that our guests are safe by having someone at the front desk at all times, employing private security, and having only one entrance to the property right by the front desk. The shelter in place has definitely had an effect on downtown. I hope you can better enjoy your next stay with us. Thank you!

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Close to old sac but a little rundown.
We have stayed here before and I was disappointed with how run down it was. Lots of traffic in and out. The room felt dirty to me. Stained carpet and they just provided 1 toilet paper roll. Because it was full we had no choice but to stay in the room but ended up leaving early in the morning.
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm so sorry your room was not up to our usual standards of cleanliness. We are always happy for feedback on where we can improve. Unfortunately, due to COVID-19 there has been a toilet paper shortage but we are very proud to say that we always had at least one extra roll to give out for each room that requested it. We hope you'll continue to think of us whenever you're in Sacramento!

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
The room was dirty and smelly, neighbors blasted music all night, staff did nothing.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your review. It always helps us improve our service. I'm very sorry your neighbors were loud. While we can not control other people's actions, we do have strict quiet hours starting at 10 pm. When we get a call alerting us to a disturbance we immediately issue anonymous noise complaints to the offending party.

2/5 Poor

Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Housing homeless???
I think this hotel is housing some of the homeless, stayed one night May 2020
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
We have never knowingly invited the homeless to stay here with our other guests. Due to the global pandemic, we temporarily lowered our rates. If someone makes a reservation through hotels.com for example, pays for the room, has a valid government issued photo ID, and can put down a deposit, then they can stay here. These are the same requirements we have for all our guests. We do not discriminate based on appearance. We have someone at the front desk 24/7 and do employ private security as the safety of our guests is our top priority. If you ever felt unsafe or uncomfortable during your stay due to another guest or for any reason, our front desk staff is always available to help. We have a zero tolerance policy and would immediately remove any person threatening the comfort or safety of our staff or guests. Thank you.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you very much for your positive review!

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 3 nights in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review.

2/5 Poor

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
I never leave a review but I think I have to tell my account here. The previous occupants removed the smoke alarm. I reported it to the lobby and said they were going to send someone over to fix it. I went out for lunch to Old Sac which is an immediate walk over. When I got back, the front door was open. I expected to see maintenance fixing the smoke alarm but no one was there. I though perhaps they had stepped out to retrieve a tool but no one ever came back. I was appalled that my door had been left open with so many people around. Thankfully nothing was stolen. To top it off, I was woken up to an argument outside at 2:00 AM. No security ever showed up to break up the argument. The lobby staff person was friendly but that's about the only positive. I guess we got what we paid for. Did enjoy the location to downtown Sac and how it's right next to the freeway.
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 6, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm so sorry that you had a bad experience with us. I am horrified to hear your door was open. If we had been notified we would have loved the opportunity to find a solution for you like moving you to another room, having maintenance look at your door lock, or anything else we could have done to make you feel safe and comfortable. I would love for you to reach out to us and let us know which room number you were in so we can further investigate. Regarding the argument outside, did you notify the front desk? Though we can not control the actions of all our guests, we do have someone on staff 24/7 and have strict quiet hours. Had we known we would have issued the offending party an anonymous noise complaint, and if needed, sent security over to help. I'm sorry we didn't enjoy your stay with us, but I hope you'll give us a chance in the future to get things right.

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with partner
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
Room 324 appeared reasonably clean on first site but after closer inspection we found filth under the tables, including a condom wrapper plus the room stunk like a mix of old smoke and sweat socks. It was obvious that they made no special effort to keep clients safe during the current Coronavirus pandemic, which left us very concerned. In addition, there was no cold water from the bathroom tap, the front room table legs were broken, the padded chairs were covered in stains and lamps were bent and broken. Noise from neighbors smoking and arguing outside or watching TV till 4 am and cars with loud music cruising the parking lot kept us awake for much of the night. It soon became obvious that some of the clientele included hookers and Johns after hearing a woman yell at someone demanding more money at 2-3 am. We've stayed here before several times with little issue but will NEVER stay here again.
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 7, 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm very sorry that the room was not up to our usual cleanliness standards. Our front desk is always happy to switch rooms when available or find another solution to any problem guests might have. I'm very sorry your neighbors were loud. While we can not control other people's actions, we do have strict quiet hours starting at 10 pm. When we get a call alerting us to a disturbance we immediately issue anonymous noise complaints to the offending party and if necessary send security. We take the health and safety of our guests and staff very seriously and have taken a number of steps to increase cleanliness during the global pandemic. This includes extra deep cleaning every room after every guest and wiping down the front desk and ipad used at check in between every guest. We are also disinfecting high touch areas like door handles multiple times a day. All staff members have been given the appropriate PPE and wash hands regularly. We have also installed hand sanitizer stations. These are just a few of the changes we have made in response to COVID-19.

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very good value for the Coronavirus price. Close to downtown if that's important for anyone. Parking is included in hotel room price. A good experience for me.
Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your positive review! We are always working hard to keep our rates affordable while maintaining a clean and comfortable stay for our guests. We're so glad you had a good experience!

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for your review.

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in May 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for your positive review!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Wow thank you so much for such a positive review!

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for giving us a positive review!

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stay here. You'll love it!
It was perfect. Which is better considering what hospitality people are dealing with on top of all their other responsibilities they have. Congrats. This place has still got it.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Wow thank you so much for such a glowing review! It means so much to us that you had a great experience here, even during these challenging times. We hope you'll continue to think of us on your future trips to Sacramento!

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Always love my stay easy off exit and close to store and food
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you for the positive review! We're so glad you enjoyed our central location. Sacramento is the farm to fork capitol and we have a lot of really great restaurants in the downtown and old town areas. We'll see you again next time!

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Good location
This hotel is in a very convenient please. It is right next-door to old Sacramento. It is across the street from the train station. It is one block away from the basketball arena and shopping center.This hotel is in a perfect location
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 3, 2020
Thank you so much for such a positive review! We're so glad you enjoyed our central location and hope to see you again soon!

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
I had to pay for parking and I thought is was free.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2020

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with group, Traveled with partner
Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I was not greeted when I walked in the door and sat there waiting for the woman to get off the phone. She didn’t even acknowledge me. Oce she did the only words she said were “driver’s license or I’d please,” “yes you can use a different card for incidentals” and “you’re in room 126 on the ground floor.” We later found out there was no breakfast or restaurant availability which is the every reason we chose this place over the other two we considered. We found out when we actually went to go eat in the morning. Not internet options, no amenities, no kindness, no professionalism and no class.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 6, 2020
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that our staff member didn't show you the friendliness that we pride ourselves on. We will be sure to go over our policies with our front desk staff to make sure this never happens again. Due to the global pandemic, it is no longer safe to offer food options for our guests. The restaurant next door closed down abruptly also due to COVID-19. We do still offer many amenities including free WiFi in both private and public spaces, our pool is still open, and all the rooms have a mini fridge and microwave. We have a sign posted at the front desk stating the changes we have made to keep both our staff and guests safe during this difficult time.

3/5 Okay

Stayed 3 nights in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities
I thought the location was great. Parking was paid but plentiful. I had to wipe down the room with antibacterial wipes because I didn’t feel that they did anything about this. I wouldn’t stay here again and I wouldn’t stay here while COVID is around. They just don’t do enough cleaning of high touch surfaces, or there is no evidence of it. The front desk was grimy and I had to keep my child away from it and it continued from there. I didn’t end up staying the whole night and left.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from Hiro on Jun 6, 2020
Thank you for your review. We take the health and safety of our guests and staff very seriously and have taken a number of steps to increase cleanliness during the global pandemic. This includes extra deep cleaning every room after every guest and wiping down the front desk and ipad used at check in between every guest. We are also disinfecting high touch areas like door handles multiple times a day. All staff members have been given the appropriate PPE and wash hands regularly. We have also installed hand sanitizer stations. These are just a few of the changes we have made in response to COVID-19.

2/5 Poor

Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
Just a run down piece of property for the price. Still a great location however!
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Everything was good, clean, and comfortable.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I felt comfortable and was able to relax. It was nice to be in walking distance to downtown. Breakfast was good and only a 2 minute walk to the restaurant.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with partner
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Front Desk was courteous and fast. Security officer was on site.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness
Vagabond - 2020
The entrance to the hotel is a little confusing in a high traffic area. The advertised restaurant next door was closed. The heating and air was noisy. This would not be on my return list.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020
Response from AGMOLDTOWN on Mar 11, 2020
Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The restaurant is in a period of transition,however, we hope that all of our future guests will be satisfied to hear that the neighboring restaurant is now open for breakfast, and later on will open for lunch and dinner sometime in mid-March. They can provide full service breakfast or to go options! Thank you again for your feedback.

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location in the downtown area. It had a very affordable rate even though most of the hotels in the area were running $80 more and up. Get a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor as the rooms on the street level get a lot of people and traffic noise. The bed and pillows were clean and very comfortable.
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2020

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Property conditions & facilities
Sufficient
It no longer serves continental breakfast at the hotel lobby. You now get a $5 coupon to use at restaurant next door. Hotel rooms are in need of a remodel. Staff was nice.
Stayed 1 night in Feb 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, room comfort
Stayed 4 nights in Feb 2020