Ratings based on 949 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Visiting Riverwalk area and The Alamo

Posted Mar 26, 2017
Hotel was beautiful and hotel staff were great, but I would have preferred a hotel a bit closer to Riverwalk and The Alamo and shops, bars, restaurants in downtown area. We were supposed to have a "city view" room, but our room was ground floor with basically no view.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Average Hotel But Pricy

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Location: To offset the high cost of their restaurant, suggest that you go to the Market Plaza which is close by to have great breakfast tacos.
The hotel which was relatively close to the River Walk provided your expected level of amenities and comfort consistent with their competition in the area. However, we were surprised by the cost of the items in the restaurant. Example - the buffet breakfast was nice, very pricey and yet, for a family of four - there was a 15% gratuity added on to the total bill. My grandson ordered off of the menu and although 30 minutes later, his breakfast croissant sandwich was delivered at cost of $24.00.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Until I Got Home

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location, Food, Balcony
Cons: Customer relations could be improved
Location: Riverwalk, La Villita, Shopping
My hubdand and I stayed here this past Saturday for our anniversary. I had planned on reviewing this with 5 stars, however, my car got damaged being parked by valet parking and no one seems to care. I've been calling relentlessly for the past three days and it's always "leave a message and someone will call you back ". My phone hasn't rang. Anyone that may be reading this who also stayed this past Saturday and who may have white paint on your vehicle, it was when your car hit mine. My white paint is stripped down to the metal. I hope the parking lot has cameras. Hotel is close to Riverwalk and La Villita. Room was nice. The food we ordered from room service at 10:30 pm was great. Some of the staff seemed less than helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice and quiet

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Quite
Cons: Ice machine on each floor
Location: relatively close to convention center
Most enjoyable, room clean, access to things we wanted to do was easy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Michael, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Beautiful hotel with incredible staff

Posted Jan 31, 2017
I stayed here on a combo of business/pleasure for PAX South 2017. Never before have I felt so welcome so far away from home. From the time I arrived and was greeted by concierge and checked in quickly and politely, to the amazing housekeeping staff who went above and beyond to make me comfortable, to the security guard with the amazing restaurant recommendations. The Marriot Plaza is simply THE best option if you're looking to have a relaxing and fun time in San Antonio. I definitely recommend booking here to anyone and everyone reading this. Enjoy your travel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Love how close to river walk and la villita

Posted Jan 31, 2017
This hotel is amazing! I was not expecting such a beautiful experience, however the staff were amazing, polite, knew my name by my second night, and very helpful. The room was spacious and comfortable. Bathroom was on the small side, but the counter vanity outside made up for the minimal counter space in the bathroom. View was city centered and balcony was comfortable and easily accessed. Room service was astonishingly curtious and helpful plus the food was on point.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic gem tucked into downtown SA

Posted Jan 30, 2017
- Staff: These guys are fantastic. They go out of their way to assist any time day or night. They always have a smile and a friendly greeting. They are knowledgeable about the city and the hotel itself. These people rock. - Facility. It has a quaint, old Spanish feel to it. This isn't a sprawling urban hotel where you have a room, a ballroom, and that's it. You walk in and immediately feel relaxed and laid back. - Rooms: The A/C is a bit on the warm side. We had it cranked down to 68, but still needed to open the sliding balcony door to get the room to cool down.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from k

Nothing like I expected from seeing the pictures l

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The hotel was old and not worth the money. Many other hotels in the area were cheaper and much newer. It will be a long time before I choose a Marriott hotel again. Their marketing is very misleading. It is closer to a low 3 in my book.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Maria M., Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take all feedback very seriously and review with our team daily. We appreciate you feedback so that we may try to improve upon whatever we can to make the guests experience exceptional. We apologize for any issues during your stay. Again, thank you for your feedback. Always At Your Service,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth

It was close to all things on the river walk

Posted Dec 31, 2016
The hotel is quite pleasant and charming. The staff was always friendly and helpful. The hotel was within reasonable walking distance of the river walk and the Alamodome. The area was quiet and didn't have the loud hustle and bustle of the other hotels further in the city. This is our 8th consecutive New Years visit for the Alamobowl.Great stay and thinking of staying here next year. Great job!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Maria M., Hotel Management
Dear David, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review and the awesome photos. We are delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed your time in the city. We are thrilled you would love to return. We look forward to being of service in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. Always At Your Service,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very old hotel

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Hotel lobby is ok, but the room facility is horrible! Very old school hotel. Could not sleep since the noise from heater!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 25, 2016 by Nik, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback concerning the Marriott Plaza. Our hotel is an older historic hotel. The hotel sits on 6.5 acres of land with a great deal of history. The next time you are in the area we would love to give you a tour. I apologize for the noise from the heater in your room. Our engineering department has been made aware of your issue. Thank you.