Ratings based on 793 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Waco, Texas

Very disappointing

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Front desk person was nice.
Cons: The customer service besides the front desk was awful. I could not reach the accounting department nor the managers.
Location: Multiple blocks away from the River Walk. Not even close to see the lights like we were told when we booked the room.
We stayed in this hotel the weekend of Christmas. We stayed two nights. Parking for those two nights cost 54 dollars and that was self parking. After we checked out for some reason the hotel decided to charge my card $120.64. I tried calling the hotel to speak to a manager and was told I needed to speak to someone in accounting. I then was transfered to their voicemail. I never received a call back. This happened at the very first part of the year. After two days of not hearing from anyone I tried to call again. I then asked to speak to the manager. I was forwarded to the managers phone where I left a message for her. After waiting a day for a phone call I decided to call back. I was once again transfered to the managers phone line where I left another message. After no return call I called again and asked for the manager and not her voicemail. I finally got in contact with the manager who told me that she could not find the charge. After waiting on hold for 15 minutes finally she said she found it and would make the correction for my refund, but it would take 5 to 10 business days. Mind you this is over a week after we had stayed there by this point. I waited two weeks and still no return to my account. I called the hotel again and asked for the manager once again and left a voicemail. I called back and asked for the GM, and I got voicemail. I left two voicemails and never got a return. I finally got my refund over a month later! I will never stay at this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but not centrally located. Great stay!

Posted Jan 19, 2016
Pros: Everything except for the fact that the faux drawers hid the coffee/tea service which we discovered only when we were leaving.
Cons: The carpet is a bit worn out. Needs replacing.
We went to San Antonio to watch a Broadway musical. The hotel was not walking distance to the venue and is a 10 min. walk to the Riverwalk but it is great for a relaxing getaway. The Mexican patio style atmosphere is a refreshing change from the businesslike hotels. Service was excellent. We went in the middle of the week on a lean month. I hope the service is just as great during the busy months. We did not eat at the hotel and we discovered a restaurant that's 5 min. away from the hotel called Azuca. It has excellent Latin American atmosphere and food. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay at our garden view room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

New Years Eve Stay

Posted Jan 3, 2016
The Marriot Plaza hotel is in the perfect location. Right across the street from Hemisphere park and only a short walk to the Alamo. We stayed for New Years and the party started right outside the front door to the hotel. Beautiful property with a heated pool and fire pit to gather around on a cold evening.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, IL

Hotel rooms nice mostly clean...but need updated.

Posted Dec 16, 2015
Pros: Great location, Great STAFF
Cons: Rooms need remodeled badly.
Location: ALL GOOD VERY CONVIENT TO ALL ACTIVITIES
Same room furniture as 30 years ago. Light in room terrible! UPDATE UPDATE UPDATE.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2015 by Maria Martinez, General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that overall you had a great experience. We have passed your feedback along to the proper contacts. It is always our pleasure to be of service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fort Worth, TX

Room construction while sleeping

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Pros: Room was comfortable. Staff was friendly and apologetic for the bad decisions of management. Location is good, though not on the Riverwalk.
Cons: Out customers FIRST. Do not put customers in the middle of major planned maintenance work.
Location: 2 blocks from San Antonio Riverwalk. short walk to hemisphere park and the Tower of Americas. One block from La Villita. A short walk to the Alamo.
Hotel is replacing their air conditioning system. They decided to start working on the room on either side of mine at 6 am on a Saturday morning. They spent hours tearing out the A/C blowers, pounded, drilled and vacuumed for hours. I can't believe a hotel would put customers own a room in the middle of construction. The hotel did refund my room fee for the night, but the point was still made that the hotel needs to put the customer FIRST, not their A/C repair. Hotel had very good breakfast buffet on Saturday morning. Sunday morning breakfast buffet consisted of a big bowl of oatmeal, precooked breakfast burritos, some pastries, some left over fruit, and that is about it. Staff told us that management decided to put out a Continental breakfast for the marathon runners, completely ignoring the other guests. I had prepaid for breakfast both days and was extremely disappointed in that poor decision by management. The hotel actually needs to purchase mattress pads that fit the mattress. The pad came off both nights because it was too small to fit the mattress. I can not recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 17, 2015 by Maria M., Hotel Management
We are so sorry that you did not have a wonderful experience and do hope that you can forgive us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and letting us know so that we can address with the appropriate departments. You review has been discussed with our team. Again, our sincerest apologies.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BATON ROUGE, LA

VERY NICE CLOSE TO RIVERWALK & ALAMO

Posted Nov 24, 2015
Cons: FREE BREAKFAST WOULD BE NICE.
HOTEL WAS NICE, FRIENDLY STAFF. NICE COMFORTABLE ROOMS.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near the River Walk

Posted Nov 23, 2015
Pros: location, balcony, pretty pool area, peacocks
Location: good location near river walk and downtown
enjoyed the balcony and pool and close to River Walk
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Dissapointing rooms

Posted Nov 12, 2015 on Hotels
When I checked in, the lobby looked fabulous. But when I walked down the hallway, the smell of old and musty building is overwhelming. The condition of the bedrooms are even worse. The tube pealing, wall paper seems like its been there for decades. The shower is moldy, and the entire bathroom felt like I was in Motel 6. The rating given on this hotel is way too high. This hotel deserves a rating of 3.0 at best!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2015 by Mike, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. While I am pleased you enjoyed our lobby I do apologize for any issues with your room. Our goal is to provide the best accommodations in San Antonio and I do apologize we fell short of that. I have discussed your comments with our maintenance team as we are always looking for opportunities to improve. Thank you again for staying with us and we do hope you will allow us to make it up to you in the future. Sincerely, Mike - Guest Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to River walk

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price and location in downtown, balcony and fridge in the room.
Cons: Wish there was a better hairdryer; trash should be taken and a bed should be made every day at a 4 star hotel (based on other 4-star hotel experience)
Location: It's pretty close to Riverwalk, and next to Hemisfair park with Americas Tower. So sightseeing can be done within walking distance.
Overall my stay was fine, I liked the fact my room had a balcony, the view was nice as well (Tower of Americas and Hemisfair park). The lobby of the hotel is very pretty, staff is helpful. Even though I didn't use the pool, but i saw it, it's very nice in the back there. However, my room was not cleaned every day, one day I even had to ask. Also, there was some kind of construction or remodel going on in the hotel. Some drilling noises in the morning, and they have also painted room doors while I was staying there. I encourage improvements, but maybe painting should be done on the floors without guests staying there. Lastly, after couple days of staying there I noticed that not a single person on several floors came out on a balcony, hotel looked pretty empty to me, same with elevators, not too many people i bumped into in elevators. So once I asked for an upgrade, I was told the hotel is pretty much booked and couldn't upgrade me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michelle from spring

Happy honeymoon stay

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
Me and my husband came here to celebrate our honeymoon. Hotel staff was amazing, hotel is located in walking distance to the city attractions. We will diffenitly be back for our future stays in San Antonio.