Ratings based on 1,378 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has Potential

Posted Oct 5, 2016
This hotel has a lot of potential, but is missing the details. There was paint chipping from the ceiling, the mirror looked like it was corroding, and the carpet was in need of replacement. Only one bath towel was provided and only one tissue. Although they brought more, should one really need to ask? The parking is expensive and it's very hard to move a vehicle in such a tight space. They also charge for a refrigerator. The location is in walkable distance to most things, but there are a lot of homeless around the neighborhood. On the upside, the beds were comfortable and the room was clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne Australia

Lovely hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Pros: Location
Location: Good
Lovely hotel it was very comfortable and clean. Nice views from top floors
5 out of 5
by jenni b

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Melissa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great Location and Nice Staff

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: 5mins Walk to Little Itally 10mins Walk to USS Midway Museum
Cons: The bathroom need to renovation.
The room was clean and comfortable, but renovation is needed at parts of the hotel. The wall papers in the bathroom were peeling down from the wall. They offer free warm cookies and water in the hotel lobby just like every other Double Tree Hotel and the cookies were delicious!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eugene, OR

Noise

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: Location was awesome, close to Little Italy, Gaslight District, Harbor, Balboa Park, and airport. The staff were very good.
Cons: Fix the noise problem cited above.
Location: See above.
I checked in and the staff was friendly and helpful. I was given two hot chocolate chip cookies (Yum!) After checking into my room 1903, and unpacking, I began to hear a thumping noise that came on every few minutes and lasting 30-45 seconds. Realizing that this would be a probblem in middle of the night, I called to report the problem. I was immediately given another room on the 22nd floor. Basic, well-maintained room but this time on the freeway side. The balcony doors seemed to be completely unable to block sound and it was only slightly quieter with the doors closed vs open. I was able to mitigate this by turning on the air conditioning fan/blower which created a white noise that allowed me to sleep well.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Room was great. Upgrade was fantastic, but a very loud wedding party was across the hall in a hospitality suite. The hotel security didn't respond to helping clear the party out by midnight. It was after 1 am when security came to clear the loud guests.
5 out of 5
by CHRISTINA from Goodyear, AZ

Loved it!

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was easy & the cookies were amazing! The only difficulty we experienced was the parking. The garage is very narrow & had very tight turns. We had a hard time fitting our minivan, so we parked across the street in the public parking area at $20 pet day. The hotel parking cost $25 per day.
4 out of 5
by Brian

Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Great, clean hotel but forgot our choco chip + walnut cookie =/
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona ca

Easy access from fwy, close to everything

Posted Jul 22, 2016 on CheapTickets
We only stayed one night to attend a concert at SDSU, but it was really nice, no complaints at all.