Ratings based on 604 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

bored from the same big name hotels?, try this one

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Pros: the unique design
Cons: the bar was a little bit small
The design was cool modern and functional, has free internet; The room was so cool, a mix of japanese and minimalist please the the bottled water that is inside of the room has special minerals; alkaline
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

“The Pearl: Adorable & A Pleasant Surprise”

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The modern Décor and the Goldfish for a roommate. =o)
Cons: Noise level of rooms by the bar area.
Location: Only stayed one night so I do not have any recommendations.
I travelled to the San Diego area to run my very 1st Diva's Half Marathon in Temecula. Since I had a Turo Car & an EARLY Flight the morning I had to leave I decided at the last minute to book a one night stay at a hotel close to the San Diego Airport - so I could drop my car off the night before my flight and then Uber to the airport. I found the Pearl through Expedia & it was an adorable little place! I truly loved the unique vibe of the Pearl. My check-in was a breeze even though due to traffic I arrived late and the clerk was nice. Since I was late checking in thanks to traffic there were only 2 rooms available one upstairs and one downstairs I requested the downstairs room but unfortunately it was right near the bar/lounge which was very loud. However, once I turned on the TV I could drown the Lounge Noise out. Although it was dark around the hotel at night I was able to find street parking with no problem. The room was very clean and furnished with cute decor! I loved having the goldfish as a roommate! Great accent Pearl!! I would highly recommend staying at this cute little boutique hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Small but Nice

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Pros: We liked the area that the hotel is located in. It's a short drive to several attractions.
Cons: It would have been nice if breakfast was served during the week and included with stay. I wasn't happy about having to pay $10.00 a night for parking.
Location: We went to the Zoo, USS Midway Museum, Balboa Park, Natural History Museum, Air & Space Museum, Belmont Park/Mission Beach, and the Gaslamp district.
When we arrived at the hotel I was immediately concerned with the limited number of parking spaces (about 10). However, for the week that we were there, I was never unable to find a spot. I wasn't thrilled about having to pay the $10.00 per night for parking though. The room was smaller than I expected, but comfortable enough for my wife and I. We didn't mind the 'retro' feel. Also, we didn't spend a lot of time there. An elevator would have been nice when getting in and out with our luggage. They have a bar/restaurant with good food. They don't serve breakfast during the week, only a brunch on the weekends. We mostly ended up getting breakfast at the Denny's down the block. Also, one night there was a private party at the restaurant so we wouldn't have been able to eat there even if we had wanted to. The staff were very friendly the few times that we did eat at the hotel. There are plenty of other places to eat in the area. The hotel is only a short drive to the Harbor, Balboa Park, Belmont Park/Mission Beach, and the Gaslamp district. All have a variety of good restaurants. They have a very small in-ground pool, but we preferred to go to Mission Beach instead. All-in-all a nice small hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fargo, ND

Different place to stay...in a good way

Posted Jun 16, 2016
The Pearl is definitely not your average, everyday ho-hum hotel. I really enjoyed the great retro vibe. The air conditioner was pretty loud in our room and we had to park in the street one night due to an event at the restaurant but the parking charge was refunded so no worries. We had dessert one night at the restaurant and it was amazing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

easy access to/from airport

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Clean, friendly staff, conveniently located. Only negative is the road/traffic noise.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

The beds and staff were wonderful

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: the beds and the staff
Cons: the private patio was a little cold just hard benches there should be pillows
Location: It is located on Rosecrans that is a very busy street and you can enjoy the beach, zoo or go sports fishing within 10 minute drive.
My parents are in there mid seventies and I got them a downstairs room that was so comfortable my mom slept for eleven hours for the first time in her life! They loved sitting outside by the pool near the heater. They thought the atmosphere was just eclectic enough to keep things fun. They had carnita taco and mahi taco on taco Tuesday they were delicious. They wished they would have stayed one more night! Highly recommended the staff treated them beautifully. oh yeah no coffee makers in the rooms, but they make the yummiest coffee for the guests at the bar in the morning.
5 out of 5
by Vinicius from São Paulo

Hotel cool

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel muito bacana, diferenciado. Equipe hospitaleira, tem um bar/restaurante bem legal, piscina com telão exibindo clipes
4 out of 5
by Chris

Fun atmosphere, nice vibe

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was on business and wish I could have enjoyed the scene more. There is a pool at the center of the hotel that is also the focal point for the seating area for the restaurant. So don't plan on swimming during dinner hours...you can, but that may feel awkward. The dinners are fantastic and comparable to The Vessel at Kona Kai, only at the pearl, the service is much better. There was a beta fish in my room, so you're never lonely, even on businesses. The hotel had a fun old school vibe that is relaxed, but maintains a sense of class. Some drawbacks for me were the tub seemed to be in a bit of disrepair and there was no fridge so I had to get ice in a tiny bucket to keep drinks cold. Overall I enjoyed my stay and if vacationing in the Point Loma area again I might stay there, definitely will return for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool factor doesn't outweigh the noise

Posted Apr 16, 2016 on Hotels
OMG. Arrived during the Wednesday night Drive-In Movie Fest which lasted until 10:30 or 11pm. There's a restaurant and patrons with lots of drinks around the pool. My room was directly adjacent to the pool equipment room and the noisy equipment ran until 1 a.m. Traffic on the main drag in front of the hotel started about 4 a.m. and got progressively worse, because there's no room soundproofing. Not nearly enough sleep, not nearly enough comfort, as the bed sits on a platform made out of pallets, which makes it firm but just a foot off the ground. If you're looking for a sound comfortable sleep, this is NOT the place for you. If you want a great night scene, with a lot of noise and activity, then this IS the place for you. There's very little on site parking, you can buy a space if you arrive early enough. Otherwise you park on the street and you take your chances. I won't be coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2016
Great location funky rooms friendly staff food was great we would stay there again