Ratings based on 1,068 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Great hotel in the middle of the City

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Location, Room size, fridge and microwave.
Cons: The parking garage was a little cozy and difficult to get out of some of the parking spots especially when people have big pick-up trucks.
Location: Excellent location, Walgreens close by along with coffee shops and restaurants.
I was expecting a budget hotel but was very pleasantly surprised at the hotel. The biggest downside is the parking garage which is a bit of a Tetris game to park in and get out of. We went and bought breakfast foods thinking the breakfast wasn't going to be that great but again we were really pleasantly surprised. The rooms are very well appointed and reasonably large with both a refrigerator and microwave. Breakfast consists of granola bars, oranges, oatmeal, Danish pastries, yogurts, OJ, coffee, and hot water for the oatmeal. You have to go down to the main office to get the breakfast and take it back to your room to eat but in the room there is a large counter top just made for eating. It is about a 0 minute walk to Ghiradelli Square (about $10 UBER/Lyft ride), and about a 30 minute walk (a little steeper hills) from Fisher Man's Wharf. Considering parking is very expensive there we loved being able to park and walk the car and walk most places. The neighborhood is so-so with a Walgreens right across the street and plenty of coffee shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk. Other all we would totally recommend this hotel. It was nice to be close enough to walk to Fisherman's Wharf but far-enough away to be out of the hustle and bustle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new zealand

nice enough hotel in central san francisco

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: the closeness to the cable cars,restaurants and shopping centres and within walking distance to lombard street and fishermans wharf.
Cons: just finish the upgrades,maybe more healthy choices for breakfast.
Location: as above
this hotel is being refurbished,it needed to be, as the older rooms are very retro.We were lucky to see both versions of this hotel,and the upgrades are nicely done.The rooms are very large and fully equipped even having microwaves.The 2 staff that run the hotel are very obliging(Damon and Emily)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Katy, Texas

Decent hotel in Downtown San Francisco

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: Convenient, own bathroom, clean, friendly
Cons: It was aged - but really, sometimes that's an appeal.
Location: It is about a 15 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf...china town in there as well - very well located.
Although the hotel is aged and smack dab in the middle of busy (loud) downtown San Francisco, it was pleasant, clean, and well staffed. We were greeted with friendly informative staff that helped us get started right away. It is about a 15 min walk to Fisherman's Wharf...and at the end of the day Uber came to the rescue and delivered us to the easy access front door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

駐車場が狭い

Posted Jul 20, 2016
部屋は普通のモーテルですが、駐車場の入り口が非常に狭い。危うくこするところでした。 運転になれていない方や大型車で行く予定の方にはおすすめしません。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona

Great location

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Clean
Easy walk to wharf and many restaurants. Bus stops close also.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to tourist sights

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Excellent location. Easy to walk to major sights.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Location!

Posted Jul 16, 2016
You get what you pay. Is a nice hotel. Very clean. Close in a walkable distance to almost every iconic San Francisco attraction. The parking is busy, but we didn't have any issues during our stay. You might want to leave the car at night and take uber/taxi to make sure you have your spot saved. A lot of nice restaurants within 3-10 min walk. Again LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! If you want to stay in a fancy hotel this is definitely the right option.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

great location

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The Castle Inn is by no means new; however, they have taken great care to do some remodeling including what appears to be a very new bathroom remodel, which was extremely nice. (We stayed at 5 different hotels on our recent trip to California, and the bathroom in our Castle Inn room was probably the best -- super small but really nice.) The location was WONDERFUL. We were able to walk to a few different attractions (Lombard Street & the Cable Car Museum) from our room without a problem. (We were only about 4 blocks away from a wonderful - if you like donuts! --- breakfast at Bob's, home of the BIG donut challenge.) The free parking was great & very easy. The only drawback I can find overall was the elevator. There is only one, and it's fairly slow -- way too slow for my impatient husband. It's a bit small as well. When we didn't have our suitcases, we chose to just walk up the stairs instead. Overall, I do not regret for one second staying at the Castle Inn. It suited our needs just fine.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel within walking distance

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Cleanest hotel on the inside that I've been in a long time. The room was great. The upkeep, cleanliness, and upgrades were spot on. It is on the nice part of town and close to many landmarks, stores, and restaurants.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location
Very helpful man on checkin. Room was comfortable with free parking. Basic breakfast included. Walkable to Fisherman's wharf and Lombard Street. Would recommend this hotel.