Ratings based on 6,693 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
61% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and right near Bill Graham for shows

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Great time and loved the proximity to BG Civic Center, cool new bars and the Twitter building
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Juan, PR

Historic hotel, poorly maintained!

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Pros: The old architecture
Cons: Size of rooms and bathrooms, shower water temp, noise reduction windows, elevators, more towels, new carpets and drapes.
Location: The Market in the Twitter building, Basil Thai Restaurant nearby.
Location is not great except for the nearby new Twitter building where you have a convenient market. Overall, the building needs serious remodeling. It was depressing at times. The size of the rooms and especially the bathroom was ridiculously small. The shower was horrible. The water temperature kept shifting from either burning hot to ice cold. At night, it was very noisy. Out of four elevators, only two were working, and they were always full. Only two bath sized towels per room. Cleanliness was also an issue. Although, the sheets and towels were clean, the carpets and drapes looked very dusty.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Older Hotel w/out the frills.

Posted Jul 22, 2016
Cons: Elevator fixed
Convenient location off of the BART line. Comfortable bed but construction going on next door so the noise started about 5 am. Only 2 of the 4 elevator cars working so the waits were up to ten minutes. No coffee pot in the room so you are forced to go to Starbucks in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It could be a great hotel if it upgraded

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Pros: Closeness to the Moscone, closeness to cool resturaunts, in and out privs for parking. Parking price - awesome.
Cons: The Hotel facilities. Invest in some energy efficient air conditioners, water saving toilets, outlets in the rooms for recharging devices.
No Load and unload in front of the hotel (or for that fact anywhere) Information about valet parking not clear. Valet parking hidden, not present at the front of the hotel. First night was horrible, Air Conditioner horrifically noisy(extremely loud, we had a neighbor complain to us about it) loose outside stairs creating constant metal against building banging. No power outlets other than bathroom to charge devices, toilet not even water saver. I was shocked at that - especially in a drought condition space. No ramp from valet parking to hotel back entrance. No hotel staff to help carry luggage up from valet parking service. Even after moving us to another room, bathroom window did not close, door couldn't close all the way. Check-in staff was awesome. When we went to request our air conditioner to be looked out or new room, hotel desk clerk was very rude, instead of helpful.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Cool hotel.....not super fancy, but clean and very worth the price. Good location with easy access to transit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2016 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you, thank you, thank you for expressing your views of your experience and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Kevin V/Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Need new beds. Outlets broken. Needs to a makeover

Posted Jul 16, 2016
Staff very nice.beds bad, office chair and desk do not fit
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mountain View, CA

It was from disappointing to horrifying experience

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The location in downtown San Francisco.
Cons: Everything practically could be and needs to be improved if they want to stay in hotel business.
Location: Nice location in downtown San Francisco and convenient distance to transportation and attractions. However, watch out for the homeless people.
Hotel is old and outdated. It is definately not worth the money to stay in this dump. The reasons are: 1. Old, smelly, and dark rooms, hallways, and bathrooms. 2. There are many homeless people hang out in front and around the hotel who can be aggressive and intrusive toward guests of the hotel. 3. The Burger King across the street in front of the hotel is more like a "danger zone" - enter Burger King at you own risk to be harassed by some homeless people doing obscene gestures and filthy language. 4. The doormen/guards may ask you for tips when just assisting you with small things - as they are supposed to do. 5. Over all, this was one of the worst hotel experience that I ever had; next to the experience that I was rubbed in Guanacaste, Costa Rica once.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
This was a nice old hotel in a reasonably good spot. the only negative really was that the shower was terrible.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Good Location -Victorian Ambiance

Posted Jul 12, 2016
If you like Victorian style hotels the Whitcomb fits the bill. Very convenient to BART and the downtown trolley line. Rooms are large. We had a great view of city hall lit up at night. The pillows were not good but the rest of the bedding was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OKC

Nice hotel but not without issues

Posted Jul 12, 2016
Pros: The location (Market Street), the price, and the friendly staff. I had 3 great breakfasts at the hotel restaurant.
Cons: Shower water pressure was substandard. Also needs MUCH better wifi, better electrical plugs, lower noise level, and faster elevators.
Location: Market Street is a great place to be as a tourist since it's right in the middle of things. Watch for a LOT of homeless people in the area though.
The best things about this hotel are the location (Market Street), the price, and the friendly staff. The hotel restaurant is also quite good. The BIGGEST downer was the shower which literally trickled. I had a better wash using the bathroom sink. The toilet paper dispenser was falling off of the wall, and the noisy bathroom vent smelled bad. It was VERY noisy when I was there because of very loud, early-morning construction next door. There were also not many electrical outlets in the room, and the ones that were there were inconveniently located. The wifi is weak, and their 4 elevators are VERY slow. While Market Street is a great "jumping-off" location for tourists, there are a LOT of homeless people in the area, many of whom seem to have severe mental health issues as they go up and down the street. I am VERY sympathetic to their plight, but at times at night the area felt a little dangerous. All things considered, the hotel is popular, and there were a lot of guests staying there during my visit. I would think carefully before staying there again (but I'm not saying "no").