Ratings based on 455 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Cool hotel hidden behind a wall

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: The room is spacious and hotel staff is awesome.
Location: Many good restaurants within blocks of hotel and close to city center.
Our last 2 nights spent in San Francisco driving the PCH. Very excited to see SF for the first time. Our check in with Mike was super pleasant we arrived a little early and was able to check in with no extra charge. Our room was spacious, modern and very comfortable. Our teenage girls had fun in the heated pool. Hotel offers coffee and muffins enough to get started. We had free wifi and parking. The staff at The Phoenix are so nice! The only unfortunate sight is the homeless so sad to see.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great value, clean and a little quirky.

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Great hotel. Big room with a king bed and perfectly clean. Small pool which is great for cooling off rather than a long swim. Staff were friendly and went out of their way to be helpful with an early check in and great recommendations for lunch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a good place to bring children!

Posted Aug 10, 2015
i wish it had been disclosed via the web that this was a "party" hotel attached to a very famous nightclub that shares the pool and courtyard with the hotel. this place "rocks" until 10pm on week-days and midnight on saturday. but the worst part is that most of the people who stay there on friday/saturday night are there to "party" and there is no respect for quiet from any of the other patrons. spent 2 miserable nights there with my 5 year old grandson. if i was 40 years younger, this may have been fun. but not at my age!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Awesome Hotel

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: The STAFF....and location
Cons: The cleaning staff....just needs to be a little quieter when making up the rooms.
Location: Union Square is walking distance. There is a cool restaurant Brenda's around the block, highly recommend for breakfast and lunch.
The hotel staff was super friendly and very helpful. A really nice group of people. It was close for us to walk to AT and T park and other attractions. The hotel's decor is very retro and comfortable. The bar was open late as well as the restaurant. There is a market across the street that is open till 2am for those late night munchies. Yes, there are homeless people but they do not bother anyone and let's face it folks they are everywhere. The hotel had a DJ/BBQ on Sunday, which was a nice surprise and brought out alot of the guests.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Diamond in the rough

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Pros: The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. The rooms were excellent. The complex was vibrant and lively and the restaurant and bar excellent.
Location: Centre of a failry direputable area. Air smelled of weed and urine and streets filled with homeless, drug dealers, hookers and pimps.
Easy to find and a beautiful hotel; It has had a lot of money spent on it and was a popular hotspot for young trendies. The food in the adjoined restaurant was superb and the drinks on offer were top. The rooms themselves are bright, clean and well presented. The communal pool area is colourful and vibrant with activity. The weekend I was there an organised party was occurring in the pool area with barbecue and entertainment and the atmosphere was buzzing. A breakfast is provide and consists of coffee and a small selection pastries which were of ok standard. The key downside of the hotel is its location which is in a slightly disreputable area of the city. If you are driving in and out of the complex this is not an issue but if you are planning to walk anywhere, especially at night, then it is not particularly pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nettes Hotel im Motel Design.

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Wenn man das Hotel betritt wirkt es wie eine Oase im Großstadtdschungel. Die Anlage ist sauber und gepflegt. Freundliches Personal am Empfang. Kostenfreie Parkplätze stehen zur Verfügung. Einziger Kritikpunkt: Das kontinentale Frühstück ist selbst für amerikanische Verhältnisse dürftig. Filterkaffee, Tee und Gebäck (Muffin). Toast, Marmelade, Butter, Besteck oder Teller sucht man vergebens.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by robert r from New Orleans, LA

Virgin to SF and LOVED this place!

Posted May 27, 2015 on Hotels
WHAT A GEM! Never been to SF before and booked this for one night on a whim. SUCH a cool and unique cali hotel. Heated pool is designed in an artistic way I've never seen. Toiletries are AMAZING. Staff was super welcoming and friendly. FREE PARKING for guests, big plus!! Only issue we had was trying to figure out how to turn on A.C. when we got hot early in the morning. (We couldn't figure it out, but slept really well anyway.) The whole place is super retro-chic and I would absolutely stay there again when in SF.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lesley

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 19, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Anthony from dc

Good quirky place, bad location

Posted May 15, 2015 on Hotels
Good choice for young hipsters. Clean and very nice staff. Not a good neighborhood.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stefanie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2015 on Hotels