Ratings based on 4,245 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Hotel in Union Square near to all upmarket shops

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: The tower rooms are spacious and have fantastic views around the city, as do the open, outside lifts to the tower rooms.
Cons: The tower rooms are tired, the mini bar not stocked, confusing lift operations, cramped standard rooms.
Location: Right in Union Square, with all good named shops and restaurants, easy for public transport and tour buses.
If you stay here don't book standard rooms, go for tower rooms. Rooms in the old hotel are dated and very cramped and definitely not 4*, we would rate them 2* at best for the prices charged. The newer rooms in the tower are more spacious and warrent the 4*. Sign up for the SPG loyalty card (free) and you get free room internet access (usually charged per day). The staff are reasonably helpful but don't explain the workings of the hotel and its amenities (we had to ask how to use the lift for the first time - as did several other guests during our stay).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from overseas

Landmark hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Location, location,location...and staff.
Landmark hotel with great location. Wonderful staff. Rooms a bit dated for the price. Where are you supposed to plug in the coffee pot?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy Baddddddddddd and expensive
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York City

Nice hotel on Union Square

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Cons: warmer lobby
We enjoyed the hotel, the staff was friendly, the room was nice and my son enjoyed riding up and down the glass elevators. Two complaints - the lobby was way too cold - it was as cold as San Francisco. Also - and not the hotel's fault, but we had a rom in the back of the hotel and across the street loud street music played every night from around 8 PM to a little after 10 PM.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach CA

Great location clean and wonderful staff.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Just about everything....service makes a huge difference with us. Don't have to just wait on us but being considerate respectful helpful cringes nice.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the heart of Union Square.
Staff made it just that much better....location perfect but Ryan at the front desk checking us in was so helpful and respectful. James who was curbside valet was awesome....also our bellman (which I forgot his name) very friendly and easy to work with. All three of them had great personalities and you would like to say hey when you get off work come join us.....the only bad experience was the concierge (woman) kind of rude when asking a simple question BUT she could not take away from all the other staff especially the three mentioned at the top. Room was clean and very comfortable....a great bed for sure. They also made sure that champagne and strawberries were waiting in the room when we arrived (thanks to Ryan)....they were paid for so no one gets the wrong idea (but very tasty and decent champagne. We would stay in a heart beat again......
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room

Posted Aug 28, 2016
Why the room is so so so small ? The elevator is old and a bit noisy even we r inside the room
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Downtown SF

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Great location in downtown SF, near shopping and Resturants
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from 東京都

最高のロケーション、老舗高級ホテル

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Pros: ロケーション、景色、部屋の清潔さ。
Cons: 電子レンジに対応できる陶器製のカップがなかったので、お湯を沸かすのが不便でした。
Location: ブランドショップ、デパート、コンビニ、レストラン、すべての中心地。
サービスはさすが一流ホテルといった感じで、とても満足できました。フロントのスタッフはフレンドリーで、外出時にはミネラルウオーターの提供や、部屋で使う電子レンジのリクエストなど素早く対応していただきました。タワービルディングの高層階だったので、景色も良く、また食事、買い物、ケーブルカー乗り場など、絶好のロケーションで、滞在を楽しむことができました。是非また利用したいです。
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Amsterdam

Prachtig hotel, prima locatie.

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Locatie en lobby.
Cons: Bedden zijn te klein
Location: .Prima.
Bedden zijn erg klein, voor de rest prima. Check-in gaat snel, alles is schoon. Verbeterpunt is dat het hotel geen gezellige bar heeft - alleen een gedeelte van de lobby en een nachtclub achtige bar. Er ontbreekt dus een typische hotelbar.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from G

a superb experience

Posted Aug 16, 2016
A superb experience. Exceptional customer service from all staff. I enjoyed every minute of my stay. Excellent setting and people.