Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Classy

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Room: Clean, elegant, and enough space for newly-wed couple. Building: Classic and huge. Delicious breakfast / ocean view
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel extraordinaire!!!

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel staff are excellent so are facilities. Will come back when we can.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun way to enjoy an old ruin

Posted Aug 18, 2016
paradores are always a safe bet in Spain. While the rooms were small they were charming and the overlooking Terrace onto the sea was simply beautiful. Breakfast buffet was nice in town was really lovely.
2 out of 5
by mark from Dublin

Has to be better hotels if this price range!

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Paid €275 for a superior room with a view. While the view was nice the room was far from superior! Having stayed in six other Paradors on this trip, this was the worst room and it was the only one that was "superior". The wifi didn't work and when I mentioned it on check out I got the by now standard Parador shoulder shrug....as if saying "nothing to do with me, I only work here!"
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

No air conditioning

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: Beautiful old castle
Cons: Air conditioning
Location: The location is in the centre of Hondarribia , old fisherman village with gorgeous views.
It's a beautiful old building, but with that comes a problem: no air conditioning . We would open windows , but it was too noisy from outside at night and unfortunately during the day the cleaner would close it even when we put a note not to enter to our room. That made us feel violated. We cancelled the room as soon as was possible and changed a hotel
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

すばらしい!

Posted Jun 7, 2016 on Hotels
街の眺望が良い立地ですが、小さな街なのですが徒歩圏内でどこでも行けます。 ただし、旧市街なので道路が石造りでスーツケースの移動には少し不便です。 歴史ある建物そのものが観光スポットにもなるほど素敵なのでそこに泊まれるだけで幸せでしたが、部屋はモダンでゆったりとして居心地がよく、言うことなしでした。
5 out of 5
by Ana from San Isidro

Posted May 14, 2016 on Hotels
excelente en todo aspecto
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stuttgart

Hotel im historischen Ambiente

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Lage, Ausstattung, Ambiente
Cons: Buchung hat prima geklappt
Location: Direkt im Zentrum der Altstadt, Bummeln an Fluß, Hafen und Innenstadt
Sehr schöner alter Palast, wie man es von einem Parador erwartet. Ideale Lage, leider recht kleines Zimmer zum Innenhof. Schöne Ausstattung. Leider unzureichende Leistungen des Personals: nach dem Einchecken begleited uns der Portier zur Tür Richtung Aufzug, öffnet sie - und geht hindurch. Wir können zusehen, wie wir mit unseren Koffern zurecht kommen. Keine Frage, ob man bei den Koffern helfen könne, und das trotz der Tatsache, dass man vom Aufzug aus noch 1/2 Etage nach unten dann wieder hinauf muß. Das ist bei einem 4☆ Hotel nicht akzeptabel! Ähnliche Unzulänglichkeiten beim Frühstück: Tee erst bei zweimaligem Nachfragen, Büffet wird nicht rechtzeitig nachgefüllt, Personal scheint überfordert, läuft planlos umher.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Paradise!

Posted Apr 24, 2016
Pros: We loved everything. It really felt like heaven on earth- the trip of a lifetime!
Cons: A rubber mat for the tub- it was slippery. And one load of laundry was SUPER expensive!
Location: The location is picture perfect. Eat at Hermandad de lots Pescadores- the best fish we've ever had!
We could not have asked for a better visit than we had at the Parador de Hondarribia! Don't let the (ugly) exterior of the building fool you- inside it is remarkable! They have done a beautiful job renovating to the highest quality while maintaining the historic character and value of the building. Every salón we saw was prettier than the one before. A whole room full of Peter Paul Rubens tapestries??? Madre mía!! The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful, from start to finish. The entire hotel was spotless, the breakfast delicious, the bedding luxurious- everything perfect, as living in a castle should be! And the surrounding town was picture perfect- like a post card!
4 out of 5
by Man Yee from Hong Kong

a great castle but not a luxury hotel

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
This Parador is beautiful in a magnificent setting, the receptionists are helpful, introducing good restaurants nearby which are to our satisfaction. However, one or 2 corners of our room # 2 was with certain smell, seemed from ducting or something soaked in water for long. And, in the morning you would wake up easily by the smell from Kitchen. My friend who stayed at Room# 4 said that her floor near the bathroom created noise when you walked on it. We checked in at noon, upon our return from dinner, our bed was not yet set properly in the first day, no linen covering the carpet, bed lining not yet removed. After 8pm, no restaurants/pintxos house next to the hotel were opened. Luckily the cafe in the same premises served sandwiches & drinks. Do request ground floor if you have bulky baggages even lift is available. Despite the above, I really like this castle. The terrace with gorgeous view. And, the design for access to it is easy & the lift brought you up from the street is really helpful. Glad that the castle is well maintained.