Ratings based on 1,318 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Marino, CA

Malet staff was not accommodating.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Carpet looks dirty, bathroom has no exhast blower. Was given 1st floor room with window blocked by a ship cargo container.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The room was not ready at check-in. There is no elevator, but the stairs are just a short walk up. It seemed like there was stuff everywhere. Construction materials and garbage in the parking lot, always laundry in the halls, full garbage cans..etc. The free breakfast is nothing to write home about(toast, more toast, and oatmeal). As my kids and I left our room for the day, a man tried to catch our room door before it closed(to go in). Turns out he works there and was going to install a new headboard. But he did not ask or identify himself. It was alarming. The positive was the room was comfortable and had all the amenities we needed. "Ocean view" was stretching it, but it was nice to open the windows or sit on the balcony and see and smell the ocean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 14, 2016
very bad experience, room is dirty and smell, wifi is very very slow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

nice hotel close to Hearst Castle

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Conviently located near Hearst Castle. Good for a couple nights stay. Wifi is very spotty. Breakfast is bare minimum, better to eat at the nextdoor restaurant. Quite clean, comfortable beds, no bugs.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to Hearst Castle

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: The proximity to Hearst Castle
Location: Hearst Castle, Coastal Drive
Stayed one night on our coastal drive as a stopover to see Hearst Castle. Room was clean and comfortable , staff was friendly. Short drive to Hearst Castle. Across the highway from the coast, there is a pedestrian walkway to cross.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lynnwood, WA

Bad experience

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: The hot tub "spa" was very nice and extra large. It was close to Hearst Castle.
Cons: Follow through on bringing towels when you say you will. Don't give me a line about no rooms ready when there are no cars in the parking lot.
Location: Hearst Castle, Elephant Seal beach, Cambria.
Showed up at 2:40 pm to a hotel with only 1 car in the parking lot and were told our room wasn't ready. Told us to come back after 3:00 - really - you have like 50 or 60 rooms and with no one in the parking lot, not one of them is ready? We decided to use their "Spa". Actually a very nice large hot tub. It is not in the same building as the rooms, but attached to the lobby/breakfast room across the parking lot from the building with the rooms. The info in the room said to get towels in the office. Went to the office, they said they were out in the office, but to go ahead and use the spa and they will bring some to us right away. So we went in the hot tub and they never came with towels. Had to run through the parking lot dripping wet and get to our room to use one of those towels. The breakfast was typical for a Days Inn with cereal, toast, juice (although the juice came out heated?) etc. But they did have hot oatmeal which I hadn't seen before. We received a 6:30 am wake up call that we had not asked for. But it didn't really matter because within a few minutes of the 6:30 wake up call, a septic tank pump truck started pumping the tank at the restaurant in our parking lot and woke the entire building up I am sure. Very loud! At 6:35 am?? And it went on until just after 7:00. Also I did not feel very safe as there were a number of shady people staying there, plus lots of noise. I would not stay here again. I would recommend driving a few miles to Cambria.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close beach walking in 3 minutes.

Posted Jun 15, 2016
Pros: The price is very good and the room is big.
Location: The location is good to near Hearst Castle only 3 munites.
The room is big and comfortable with view. And the cost included breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Good place for a night.

Posted Jun 7, 2016
Pros: Easy check in. Electric vehicle charger for Tesla.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Hearst Castle. Elephant seals.
Close to Hearst Castle. Has Tesla Charger. Breakfast is just ok with cereal, toast, yogurt and coffee. Room with strong smell of disinfectant by clean
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hearst Castle

Posted May 30, 2016
If you are planning to visit Hearst Castle this is the place to stay, 5 minutes drive from the HC visitor center.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Québec

Bel hotel pour aller visiter Heast Castle

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: Le personnel et le gros SPA
Cons: Charger moin chère, exp.dia se prend une cote vraiment trop gourmande
Location: Heast Castle
Le seul probl'eme est que nous avons payer 2fois le prix en passant par expedia que si on aurait payer directement à l'hotel