Ratings based on 301 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Nice location

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros: Fast Internet!!!
Cons: Parking, enter/exit a little tight.
Location: Hearst Castle.
Nice location - Work In Progress - They were still working on improvements - should be great! Parking, enter/exit a little tight.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chino Hills, CA

Avoid this hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Stayed overnight at this hotel in early July. The hotel was undergoing renovation. A main driveway was blocked. There were construction workers remodeling the part of the hotel near the main office. There were no personnel manning the office after 10 pm which I have never seen in a hotel before--usually someone is available around the clock. While the hotel was advertised has having free breakfast on Expedia, we were informed by the person manning the office that it was not available due to the renovation and that other guests had complained about this issue. They offered a small refund due to the inconvenience, but I feel that these facts should have been communicated to Expedia and posted there so that potential guests were at least aware of the situation. Learning about problems of this nature at the last possible minute is unacceptable. This hotel is not being managed in a forthright and professional manner. You should avoid this hotel and choose from many of the others that are available along Moonstone Beach.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice when it's done renovating

Posted Jul 17, 2016
Don't let the price fool you, this is just a motel. I got a call around 8pm asking when I was arriving which I thought was a courtesy call. Nope, they were closing the office early so we were on our own to check in. She said they would leave the door unlocked and an envelope in the room for us. Ummm, ok? Good thing we found it ok and there was parking in front of our door like she said. The parking lot was so small there's no way our full size car could turn around to get out if the lot was full in the morning. They were renovating so the parking lot was full of construction tools and extra furniture. The strangest part was that we didn't have a door knob. There was a deadbolt to lock the door but there was just a block of wood in the hole where the door knob should have been. There was no phone to call the office which I guess wasn't that big of a deal when you consider there wouldn't have been anyone in the office to answer it anyway. There also were no light bulbs in the brand new bed lamps. Fortunately there was a new funky light hanging from the ceiling. The new furnishings in the room were nice and comfortable. The remodeled bathroom was nice too. I guess if they got behind on schedule and thought they were going to finish our room but didn't, it was close enough. I'm glad we at least had a place to stay and weren't turned away because of missing door knob.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Visalia, Ca

Don't waste your money.

Posted Jul 11, 2016
Pros: Location, across from Moonstone Beach
Cons: Almost everything
Location: Near beach, Hearst Castle, Morro Bay
I had stayed at this hotel in the past and enjoyed myself so it was sad to see that it has gone down hill. It started bad when I received a phone call from the hotel while I was on my way there and was told I had to arrive by 9:30 pm or they would be closed. When I arrived I was met by a rude young lady that was on her cell phone. Rather then hang up the phone, this young lady put her phone on speaker and laid it on the counter. Whoever was on the other end of the phone could hear my conversation with the young lady at the hotel and she kept yelling "are you done yet" . The over priced room that was supposedly just remodeled was a bed and a TV, nothing more. No headboard, no night stands, no lamps, no clock,no phone, no coffee maker, no cups for water, and no pictures on the wall. I was awakened the next morning( Sunday) to the sound of hammering, power saws, and Mexican music. On a Sunday, really??They use to serve a continental breakfast of which they no longer do. They have coffee in the lobby starting at 7:30 am. When I showed up at 7:45 the door to the lobby was locked. The same young lady from the day before came to the door half asleep and said that the coffee would be ready in 5 minutes. This hotel use to have a smoking area on the top deck. I was told that if I wanted to smoke I would have to leave the premises and walk across the street. It is a good thing I enjoy a cigar only every now and then. All in all not a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Posted Jun 23, 2016
It was under construction, it looks like a bomb had hit with all the workers in the driveway and their equipment, it was extremely noisy from tile cutting and it smelled of paint .No one told us the hotel was being remodeled. We had to check out!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Terrible hotel but excellent near beach location

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Construction all day early morning loud banging and small rooms. Hotel is going thru major construction but located next to incredible beach. Rooms have no closets small but were upgraded and have clean and new look.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Surprise - 1/2 hotel being renovated.

Posted May 28, 2016
Pros: Location - very low cost
Cons: Correct listing as to status and amenities.
Construction from morning until 6pm. Crew living in rooms being renovated. No bkfst, as advertised and no coffee maker in room. Rooms was minimal, but adequate, bright and clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Jolies nouvelles chambres, extérieur quelconque

Posted May 25, 2016
Ce motel ne paie pas de mine, mais les nouvelles chambres sont très jolies, très à la mode. C'était très propre et le personnel était sympathique. Il n'y a pas de téléphone dans la chambre par contre. L'hôtel est face à la mer et on peut se promener sur le petit chemin de bois à pied. Quand j'y étais, il n'y avait pas de petit déjeuner, car la cuisine était en rénovation, mais j'ai eu 40% de réduction sur la chambre à cause de ça, ce qui est quand même pas mal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, CA

Right next to the beach

Posted Apr 20, 2016
Pros: Great view of the beach and a little observation deck, perfect for watching the sunset
Cons: There were still some renovations happening. Nothing too loud but don't expect to sleep in past 9 AM.
Location: Right next to Cambria. Good restaurants and 927 Beer Company is a great place for craft beer. Lots of wine tasting rooms and antique shops
Had a very nice time at this hotel. Staff was accommodating. Our room was recently renovated, it looked rather chic. No phone in the room but that was never an issue.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Right on the beach!

Posted Apr 19, 2016
Great value for the money. The room was clean and the hotel had great bathroom amenities and bath towels. The continental breakfast was fine.