Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dog Friendly, Very Good Hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Only stayed the one night so did not really use any of the facilities available, including meals, so could not comment on those. However, the room was of a good size with a large bed. The room we stayed in on the fourth floor was clean and quiet. Reception staff polite, friendly and helpful. The hotel is dog friendly. Finally, a later than usual check-out (12pm) was also very handy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Easy to find

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: Proximity to bars and cafes and easy location if coming from airport
Cons: Happy with it as it is
Location: Near to port, day-trip ferries and City hop-on / hop-off bus tour. Near to main station and shops.
Location is great for a few nights if coming from the airport and taking bus into the centre of Santander....the Abba Hotel is very close to the bus station and you pass it on the bus just before the bus stop. Nearby (turn left from the hotel) there are a number of bars and cafes and a short walk further and to the left there are a lot more. Handy if you come in late in the evening as we did. There is also a supermarket more or less opposite the hotel. Hotel reception lady was really helpful and gave us a map and directions to nearby places. Room itself was fine and having tea and coffee making facilities was an added bonus (haven't come across this much in other hotels in Spain). Our room had a small balcony that you could stand on but not sit but sufficient for our purposes. We didn't have breakfast as there were a lot of bars to choose from that did basic breakfasts at a good price. There was some building work going on next door to the hotel when we arrived and not sure how long this will go on for. It stopped about 4.30pm and didn't really worry us too much as we were out most of the day. The traffic noise was acceptable but to be considered if you want a quiet beachside holiday which this is not really the area for, more city location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Excellent location, decent, friendly hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Pros: Staff on reception, location is very convenient for train, airport bus, town centre, walks to docks or beaches.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Location is very convenient for train, airport bus, town centre, walks to docks or beaches.
Very friendly and informative chap on reception (with very good English). He and the location were excellent, otherwise the hotel does a decent job as one would hope.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by santander@abbahoteles.com, Hotel Management
Dear Mark thanks for your review. we tried everyday to do our best for our guest all the best Nacho
3 out of 5
by Martin from Uk

By the ferry

Posted Aug 28, 2016 on Hotels
Motorbikes were left in street outside parking was available for cars but at extra cost. Thought the hotel was overpriced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Martin thanks for your review, the places outside of the hotel door, are our parking thats we we charged an extra. due to the Price its normal Price due to Santander peak season. all the best Nacho
4 out of 5
by Donald from McMinnville, Oregon USA

One night in Santander.

Posted May 10, 2016 on Hotels
Took ferry from GB; walked to hotel. In the morning walked across street and took a bus to Bilbao.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Donald thanks for your review all the best Nacho
4 out of 5
by Shawn from Australia

Great location and comfortable stay

Posted Dec 18, 2015 on Hotels
Visited here for a two night stay. Overall had a reasonably good stay - room was comfortable and large. Location was good - walking distance to everything. WiFi was reasonably okay - stable with an average speed. Staff were also very friendly and accommodating. There was quite a bit of hair from the cleaner though in the bathroom and the floor. Overall a good place nonetheless, one I would recommend for a short stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shawn thanks for your review, We are sorry for the inconveniences you have in our hotel, after all we hope you enjoyed the stay with us. all the best Nacho
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dumbaton

City centre hotel

Posted Oct 20, 2015
Pros: The staff were very friendly,rooms cleaned every day,very comfortable beds.good room size excellent hotel for the price.
Cons: Would have been nice if there was a bar in the hotel.
Location: Centrally situated next to the bus station and 5 minutes walk to the train station, Just a short walk if you want to shop or go the waterfront.
Stayed in hotel for 7 nights had a great time would have no problem recommending hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Nacho, Hotel Management
Dear Jim thanks for your review, unfortunately the bar was closed few years ago, you have plenty of them in the same Street. Hope you enjoyed the stay with us. all the best
5 out of 5
by Sally from U.K.

Good choice

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
The Abba is well situated near both the bus and train stations. The room was a good size, bed very comfortable, quiet efficient airconditioning, and no audible traffic noise, which meant I had a truly restful night.The tea and coffee making facilities and fridge were an added bonus. Staff friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Sally thanks for your great Review, waiting to see you again with us. all the best. Nacho
4 out of 5
by william from Belfast

Abba

Posted Aug 16, 2015 on Hotels
one way system hard to negotiate...breakfast expensive but good hotel and staff, close to all amenities
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear William thanks for your review of our hotel and staff waiting to see you again. all the best. Nacho
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel close to the bus station and port

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Lovely hotel with friendly staff. Across from the bus station which is ideal if getting a bus from the airport (10 minute journey). Close to the port and restaurants and cafes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Nacho, Hotel Management
Dear Louise thanks for the review of the hotel and the staff, hope you enjoyed the stay in the hotel. waiting to see you again with . Nacho