Ratings based on 1,274 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
48% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 23, 2018
Old, dirt, bar attached had nothing but local drunks vomitting near pool bathroom. The whole place smells of urine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am so sorry about the tiki-bar having someone getting sick from over drinking. The tiki-bar is separately owned and operated and I will be sure to mention something to the management as this is completely unacceptable. Looking forward though, that restaurant tenant will be moving to a new location and we will be having a new tenant named Tarpon Bay taking over the location who will be doing a full renovation to the restaurant and tiki-bar. Hopefully you will could back and visit us once the tiki-bar ownership has changed and the tiki-bar has been renovated. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sarasota fl

Filthy hotel. Smells bad.

Posted Apr 11, 2018
Very dirty hotel. Smells really bad. It is in the middle of a very busy road. Not good for kids.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Erkan, Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us. As you probably can tell we are in the process of going through a full relandscape which has left the hotel dirtier than usual. We hope to complete the landscaping by the end of this week. I will also be sure to mentioned something to the executive housekeeper about the odor in your room. Thank you for letting us know about this situation and I will be sure to have it addressed immediately. Sorry for any inconvenience these issues may have caused. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SC

Dirty, not as pictured, rude staff, roaches.

Posted Apr 8, 2018
The pictures do not match the experiene, roaches in the room, not a good section of town. This hotel is more like a $50 dollar room. Nasty, dirty hotel...Do not waste your money. Didn't feel safe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear MG, Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us and I am so sorry you had such a negative experience. I have already notified our pest control company "Truly Knowland" about the issue and they will be here shortly to address it. I will also be walking through your room with my executive housekeeper to look into the cleanliness issues you mentioned. Thank you again for your business. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok

Posted Apr 7, 2018
The room had a smell when you walked in it there was trash behind the refrigerator you could tell that certain corners of the room had not been cleaned it wasn't what I had expected from the pictures on the website
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am so sorry to hear about any odor issue and cleanliness issue you had during your stay. Since I do not have your name I am unable to determine which room you were in to check and resolve the problem. Regardless thank you for your business! Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 31, 2018
Not very clean.....needs some tic...other guests complaining
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A 1-2 star hotel, that’s actually not in Sarasota.

Posted Mar 31, 2018
It was very dirty, stinky and loud. Although the front desk staff attempted to be helpful, moving us to a different room, it didn’t make a difference in the quality of our accommodations. I’ve never been disappointed by a hotel rated 2.5 stars or above, and this was almost unbearable. To have it labeled 3 stars, seems dishonest, and to say it’s in Sarasota is not accurate at all. The closest city limit is definitely Bradenton.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 3 star hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2018
This hotel is one of the dirtiest and sketchiest hotels I’ve ever stayed in. It’s worse than any two star hotel I’ve stayed in....so to label it a 3 star seems criminal! Very disappointed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 22, 2018
The staff were very helpful and friendly. It is an older building and being right on the main road you can hear the traffic all the time. Maybe some thicker windows and doors? I played white noise on my phone to cover up the sounds. They have a nice pool and tiki bar. The bed was comfortable. It's a great price as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am glad to hear our staff was very helpful and that you enjoyed our waterfront pool and tiki-bar. I apologize about any road noise. I always recommend booking a waterside room if the road noise keeps you up. Thanks again for your business. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2018
Stayed there at least 5 times. They have issues with Restaurant. Let me just say this. It was absolutely Filthy. I would never take off my shoes. Was moved because of Roaches. No toilet paper. Had to use lobby bathroom which was gross. The front desk guy in the morning was a snot. ( he hates his job). Evening staff Paul and other guy not sure exactly his name but were absolutely wonderful. Issues with Restaurant is one thing but the place is pretty nasty. It has gone down for sure. I wish I could say nice things but it’s pretty awful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. As you probably saw we are in the middle of renovating the exterior landscaping which during the renovations has left the property a little dirtier than usually. We appreciate your understanding while we finish this renovation. We are also planning to renovate all the guestrooms in a few months as well. Hopefully you will come back and visit us after our renovations have been completed. We appreciate your continued business. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They din’t Want me

Posted Mar 16, 2018
Because I talked in Spanish in a call in front of the receptionist.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 18, 2018 by Navid, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, I am sorry to hear about any discrimination that may have occurred. I can tell you that myself (the owner) and my management, half which are of Latin dissent do not discriminate whatsoever. My entire staff is made up of 70% of individuals of Latin dissent. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at the hotel so we can discuss further. Sincerely, Navid Kichi Owner