Ratings based on 293 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Traverse City

Budget Hotel

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Location: The hotel is near the Walmart and a strip mall, but a 5 min. drive will get you downtown and to the locks. We loved eating at Penny's Cafe and Zorba's
This is definitely a budget hotel. Our room was clean. The mattress was firm, but thin, felt like sleeping on 2 pieces of cardboard with some foam in the middle. My daughter thought the folding bed we brought in was more comfortable. Expedia gave us a price for 2 adults and 1 child, but when we got to the room it only had one queen size bed. We had to pay $4 per night extra for them to haul in a folding bed from the upstairs closet for our daughter to sleep on. Not a big deal, but when you book and pay something ahead of time you expect to get it for the price agreed on.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

95% upgraded - bathroom horrible

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Room was updated but not bathroom. Toliet was sinking into the floor. Soap was still in shower from last quest. Hair on the floor that was not ours. Paid extra for jacuzzi tub which was also noot cleaned. Room 219 not good. Bed also very hard and sagging.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Right off the highway. Clean remodeled room.

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet!
Cons: Breakfast choices, the bed could use replacing and the love seat blocks the dresser.
Nice quiet place. We opted for the king room with a jetted tub. Nice sized room for the price. The floors have just been replaced with a wood laminate in the room and hallways and it looks great. The bed could be more comfortable but what I expect. It's not the Crowne Plaza but, a great deal for the price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel was average, nothing stood out. You are next door to the state police, so I felt safer. Close to Wal-Mart and autozone. Right down the street from a nice strip mall . Close to I-75. I dont know what else to say about it. It's a good place to stay. Canada is right down the road on I-75. Thats it. I was there only one night
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pigeon, MI

Great place to stay for the night

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Pros: Easy to find and very affordable.
Cons: Subtle things could be improved, like knowing the exact room you have booked, when you've arrived. The first room we were given, was what we asked for
Location: In Michigan's U.P. near Sault Ste Marie, minutes from the International Bridge to Canada. Sites include the Soo Locks, Lake Superior, Tower of History
Needed a hotel, for my wife and I to stay at, just for the night. I was working over four hours from home and thought it would be great to have my wife come with me and stay the night. Located just minutes from the International Bridge, in Sault Ste. Marie, MI. After checkout, we went into Canada and had breakfast. It was great to have a clean, comfortable room, with a king-size bed, mini-fridge, microwave, WiFi and cable at a price that didn't break the bank!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Sep 13, 2016
Rooms and hallway did not have carpet so it sounds like people upstairs were stomping when their shoes were on and you could still here them when the shoes were off. Because they were remodeling, it smelled like flooring glue and carpet through. The staff are very friendly. The beds were ok. The bathroom was clean and the roomitself was ok but the floor was dirty. There was a lot of sand or dirt that I kept having to wipe off my feet before going to bed. Breakfast was slim. However, I was told that LSSU parents get a nice discount, not sure if we will use it.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

This is an average, very clean hotel

Posted Sep 11, 2016
Pros: I liked the clean smelling room and location. It has a free breakfast which is basic. They will take pets.
Cons: The molding in the one room, along the floors was missing. They had torn them out and apparently were planning to replace them. Furniture showing wear
Location: It's just outside Sault Ste. Marie, near shopping. It is comfortably away from the tourist attractions.
The motel staff is friendly and does a good job. The rooms are clean, but some need repair. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. It is a good, inexpensive place to stay away from the downtown tourist area and close to shopping.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient location - great for a 1 night stay

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the freeway.
Cons: A few more breakfast items and a better toaster.
Location: There is an small shopping mall and an Applebee's close by.
Hotel was clean and staff was friendly. Spent 1 night on the way back from Canada, a no frills hotel but served the purpose for an overnight stay. The edge of the parking lot was good for boat trailer parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Nice hotel driving distance from National parks.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: Its convenient location to attractions and restaurants. The free breakfast helps us save our spending $ for our vacation fun!
Cons: We had trouble working the TV. But we didn't have time to watch it much, since we were there to sight see, anyway.
Location: Soo Locks, Boat Tours, The Tower of History and great museums, White Fish Point Lighthouse Museum, U.P. State Parks, Mackinaw Island an hour away.
We enjoyed being so close to Taquamenon Falls, National Parks, and Michigan's beautiful State Parks. There are some wonderful tourist attractions for families within 10 miles of the hotel, some as close as 5 minutes. We enjoyed the great restaurants and convenient shopping close to the hotel. Since this is a pet friendly hotel, our dog enjoyed the trip as well! This is the second year in a row we have used this hotel for our family vacation. My husband and I are considering it for a weekend get-a-way for ourselves this fall. The staff is friendly and could not be more helpful. I absolutely recommend staying here!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Very noisy. We could hear people's conversations in rooms on both sides. The room was tiny with just enough room for the bed and small nightstand. The furnishings were old and in bad condition. There were no baseboards on any of the walls leaving a dirty looking gap between the walls and the floor. The room was not clean and the towels were also worn with some being also stained. Not recommended.