Ratings based on 1,104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lincolnton

Within walking distance of Historic Savannah

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: Reasonably priced and close to town.
Cons: Some place to hang a few clothing items and curtains on the window.
The hotel was reasonably priced for the area. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff was pleasant and accommodating. This was not a fancy four-star hotel, but for the price was good. There are no dressers or closets in the room, so no place to unpack and you really are living out of a suitcase. There are also no curtains on the window and although there are blinds, it is still pretty bright in the room at night. I would have appreciated someplace to at least hang a few clothes. But overall the hotel is nice. We were able to park our car on Friday upon arrival and did not move it again until we left on Tuesday.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Great Value

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Within walking distance to everything and much cheaper than anywhere else downtown. Facilities are old but they play up the "retro" feel. The inside of the rooms are much nicer than the outside of the hotel. Newly renovated and no nasty carpet!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great for a Short Stay Close to Downtown Savannah

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: Excellent location, and friendly atmosphere.
Cons: For this price and great location? Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Walking distance to River Street (restaurants on the river, etc.), it's right across the street from the free buses that take you around the city,
My wife and I stayed for 2 nights, only using Thunderbird Hotel as a base for sleeping and refreshing. It was clean, comfortable, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful (except for the night clerk who acted like..well..a night clerk who would rather be at home.) There was fresh lemonade and popcorn available during the day, and a ton of Crispy Cream Donuts every morning to dip in your complementary coffee. I highly recommend Thunderbird for its location, price, staff and cleanliness. Do not stay here if you're looking for a luxury hotel. As I said, it's a great base of operations for your visit to Savannah. No more, no less. The great staff makes the positive difference.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Frankfurt

Buntes Motel

Posted May 16, 2016
Wahrscheinlich ein altes Motel, welches aber im 50/60ies Style neu renoviert wurde. Zentrale und fussläufige Lage zu Bars und Restaurants. Wer süßes zum Frühstück mag, ist gut aufgehoben, es gab zahlreiche bunte und schokoladige Donuts. Wir würden wiederkommen!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Super Location and Staff

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Location. Staff. Uniqueness of hotel
Cons: carpet
Location: Bus across street with express shuttle to airport, near City Market and lots of eateries
I was within walking distance of everything and in a safe and pleasant location. Loved the helpful staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cool motel in great location

Posted May 14, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Location: Downtown area for restaurants and shopping; historical district with squares and mansions; Forsythe Park
Greatl location ( most areas of town walkable from motel). Staff is friendly and helpful. Welcome email nice touch introducing lemonade and popcorn available to guests. Room recently renovated but still kept retro look. Super clean rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Misleading

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Location only.
Very few accommodations; no drawers, no closets, charged $10 for a rollaway bed, noisy as windows are very cheaply made. Website makes this seem cool and chic; VERY far from it. Is terribly dirty and had spiders in the bathroom... Would not walk in room and bathroom floor looked like the dirt had been piling for a year in corners; needs bleach cleaner. Price was not even better than the Hilton Suite I moved to after first night.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stay

Posted Apr 23, 2016 on Hotels
Good location and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by John from Indian Trail, NC

Perfect little hotel!

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary. We had an absolutely wonderful time in Savannah and at the hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating! The location was great. Was so nice to find something for a reasonable price so close to river street and city market (7 or 8 minute walk). We have no complaints at all. Hotel is a little older so certain aspects appear a little dingy and it is not a luxurious place but it is not advertised as such. Would definitely stay here again! Wifi was a little slow but I hardly feel like that is a reason to give a hotel a bad review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean, good price and convenient but with a flaw!

Posted Apr 18, 2016
Pros: Location, price and cleanliness!
Cons: SOUND PROOF THOSE WALLS!
Location: Not much to do, but near the historic district.
The staff were friendly and very helpful; the room was bright fresh and clean and within walking distance to the historic area; perfect pricing for just wanting a decent place to sleep at night! HOWEVER, the walls are paper thin and depending on who your neighbours are, you might not get much sleep! The first night, we slept at around 4:00 am so a good portion of the next day was wasted and we were very tired! The staff said that we should have reported it and they would have taken action but we were there for pleasure not problems; and they did, immediately, arrange for us to be in another room! Also, they refunded us the parking fee as compensation! Had we had tourists wanting to see the sights and not a multi couple retreat next door, we would have definitely recommended this hotel ... or perhaps if the walls were more insulated! Again, the staff were excellent!