Ratings based on 2,102 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portage,IN

Staff could be friendlier

Posted Nov 20, 2017
When calling the hotel to notify them of a late arrival, as the female answered the phone, she quickly placed me on hold without asking or waiting to see if I was okay with her doing so. The sofa bed was stained. We did not receive the receipt we requested for our stay due to the staff having printer issues and the receipt was not emailed to me like we were told.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2017
The taxi ride to downtown was very expensive - $80+ The hotel didn't have an in-house restaurant, which I've come to expect from a Hyatt. Also, there was a water shut-off planned that wasn't communicated to me until I arrived.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Not the Hyatt Place I thought I'd reserved

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Pros: I pretty much liked everything except those items enlarged upon above.
Cons: .. Shower liner needs stronger magnets. With shower head on "rain" setting, high water pressure makes liner stick to you.
Location: Didn't pay attention .
I arrived at this Hyatt using my GPS and wondered why it routed me the way it did when I approached the Woodfield area of NW suburban Chicago. I'd stayed at what I came to realize was the Hoffman Estates Hyatt Place in March but mistakenly searched the Schaumburg area in error for this trip. At any rate, this location worked out just as well except that I wasn't as familiar with the area. I was disappointed however that there were no more than 2 luggage carts at any time in the lobby and when I checked in, both were being used elsewhere and I had to made multiple trips up to my room with my luggage. Fortunately, both were there when I left. I became aware a couple of days later that redecoration or whatever was going on, on the 6th floor directly above my room (507). Most of the sounds were restricted to "business hours" so there were no sleep interruptions, but thoughts of taking an afternoon nap went out the window! Otherwise, my room itself was very acceptable, but the carpeting was worn in spots and had several stains on it. Also both panes of my window were badly in need of replacement. The seals were broken in each causing fogging of the glass. A few other things that bear mentioning. With an aging and heavier population, the toilet is too low. Taller and water saver models or grab bars might help. The 7AM to 10AM free breakfast is too short. 6AM to 11AM might be better with more retirees and for the early risers as well. Thanks for listening.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Unprepared and somewhat unsympathetic

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Pros: Which one? The one we booked or the one we had to spend a night? The one we booked had big rooms. The one we had to spend a night had a nice lobby.
Cons: Customer Service, for starters. Or not selling rooms that do not work.
Location: Chicago is approx. 35 minutes away.
Short 30 hour trip to the area, we arrived at nearly 1AM on Saturday morning after a late flight from NYC. The systems were down so check in took 15 minutes. Once we had our key cards, they would not open the door. Turns out that door is broken, and the hotel was previously aware. That was the last room in the hotel, supposedly. At 1:20am, they sent us to another Hyatt down the road. A 'better' Hyatt. While we were being checked in, now 1:30AM - the fire alarms went off. I could understand if it was an emergency, but the front desk admitted he thought it might happen as they were having some issues. After 20 minutes of fielding calls and calming angry pajama-clad patrons, we were finally able to check in. The elevators were still not working, so that was another 10 minutes. The rooms were tiny compared to the suites at the other Hyatt - so 'better' was not accurate. The next morning we had to get up, pack all our stuff up, and go back to the other Hyatt. Real convenient. Complained to the manager while checking back into the hotel - and he tried to put us back in the broken room - and no concessions were given. A bit disappointing as we typically enjoy our stays at Hyatt and I look for them as a primary place to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sds

Posted Oct 18, 2017
no comments at this moment.......................................................................................................................................................................................................
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Nice Location

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Overall experience was good but the rooms look a little bit old.. blow dryer didn’t work well
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Odessa. Fl

Posted Oct 8, 2017
this hotel is due for badly needed remodeling, but the staff mangers Robert and Amanda where wonderful, made our stay very fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plover, wi

Nice hotel, but don't go to the sister hotel

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel was nice and we were looking forward to taking our kids to the pool. Unfortunately the pool was under maintenance and we had to go to the other hotel which was very close to go swim. I had no issue with going to the other hotel, except the person who came to clean the pool when we were getting ready to leave was quite rude. When we got to the pool there were no towels so we took towels from the fitness room. When the cleaning lady saw the fitness towels she scolded us saying it is not for pool use. We explained to her the situation but she continued to berate us about the fitness towels. We left the pool area unhappy. I'm glad that hotel was not the one we were actually staying in. Overall the hotel we booked was quite nice and the staff during breakfast was friendly and cleared our plates for us. They had a hot breakfast which is always nice!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Davenport IA

Well priced but lack in some areas

Posted Sep 15, 2017
Pros: Beds were good and price
Cons: Cleaning and adding kids programimg
Location: Medieval Times and brookfield zoo
Well priced but the room smelled like had smoked in it before had gotten there. The cleaning could have been better. The bath room door was all scratched up. Also, no kids TV shows were free. Like Disney Jr., Nickelodeon or any other type of kid friendly shows for kids under 6.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Appleton wi

Nice and clean

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Nice hotel, just not easy to find ... we driving around to get to the hotel.. we enjoy staying there, the pool and room also the service is friendly.