Ratings based on 167 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Jared

Solid stay near everything

Posted Mar 5, 2017 on Hotels
Overall, I was pleased with my stay. They actually have some old Roman ruins right in the basement, which is pretty cool to see. The room was clean, the bathroom large, and everything was pretty much on par. One complaint is that the nightclub was operating very, very late and the music was thumping into our room. Other than that, the hotel is pretty central to everything in Sofia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 22, 2017 by Vesela, Hotel Management
Dear Jared, Thank you very much for your detailed and constructive feedback. I am really sorry about the noise from the club nearby. Regardless of that I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay very much and hope to see you again in the near future. Kind regards, Eli Stoilova
3 out of 5
by Rodrigo

Just Fair. Nothing Wonderful but Ok

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
Unfortunately, upon on arrival the toilet seat had yellow stains! After several minutes we requested someone come up and clean it and incredibly they did clean the toilet but not the toilet seat! So we have to ask a second time. Overall our experience was ok, but service missed several details about room cleaning and like replenish the complimentary water. The food at the restaurant was ok and not pricey. The breakfast buffet was ok as well. Front desk service nice. Very good location, walking distance to St Nevis Cathedral and Sofia historical circuit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Vesela, Hotel Management
Rodrigo, Thank you for your detailed feedback and nice words about the restaurant, front desk and location. I am sorry about the cleaning issue . We will take into consideration your remarks and hope to have you as our guest again. Eli Stoilova, Front Office manager
5 out of 5
by Naomi

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Munich

Nice hotel in the heart of Sofia.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: It has a very big bathroom with shower and bath with shampoo and soap from l'Occitane (for me it's great because cheap lotions caused allergy for me)
Cons: Nowadays all guests usually has a lot of portable device, but I could found only one well located outlet (but other hotel usally is worser)
Location: Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, Parlament house
This luxurious hotel built above old Roman Arena. Ruins could be seen in lobby in -2 floor. It locates in the center of Sofia, but inside of block, so no noise in room, but all sightseen is near.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by Eli Stoilova, Front Office manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your detailed feedback, Mike. Location is one of our advantages which we offer to guests that want to be close to the heart of the city. And the ancient ruins make the hotel one of a kind in the country. We will be glad to be your host again when you come back in Sofia.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Arena di Serdica: A new and classy hotel

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on CheapTickets
Arena di Serdica is an exceptionally good hotel. It is relatively new, modern in its amenities, clean, comfortable, ideally located, and has a kind and helpful staff. It is also located on the site of Serdica's ancient amphitheater. The breakfast is delicious and relatively inexpensive for the quality. The hotel is also reasonably priced. What more could you ask for? I will stay at this wonderful hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Eli Stoilova, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Mo What a pleasure it was to read your generous review, Mo. From our convenient location to our fantastic amenities, it sounds like you truly had a wonderful experience at Arena di Serdica Hotel. We hope to welcome you again soon. Eli Stoilova, Front Office Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

Gorgeous hotel, great location, good price.

Posted Sep 17, 2016
I love this hotel - location is perfect and it is lovely. The breakfast has been hit or miss depending on how busy it is, but there are so many breakfast options in the area so it is not an issue. I love the hotel - will be back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 9, 2016 by Eli Stoilova, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, We couldn’t be happier to read your excellent review. We are so pleased that you truly enjoyed your stay.We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future. Eli Stoilova, Front Office Manager.
4 out of 5
by David from suffolk

After 7 years - what a shame

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Having stayed at least twice a year for the past 7 years, this year there was no porterage, the staff not particularly helpful and the rooms I had booked were not those allocated.....I had booked junior suites (as usual) but got double rooms and was told that this was the grade booked by Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

Really nice 5 star hotel over historical building

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Arena di Serdica is a very nice hotel in the middle of downtown Sofia and set over a sizable portion of the amphitheater of ancient Sofia (Serdica). The room I stayed in was really nice, and it and the hotel had great amenities. The gym at the hotel was also up-to-date and was great to use. The only complaint I have is that some parts of the gym ceiling were unfinished. Otherwise, this was a great luxury hotel to stay at in Sofia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice hotel, I would recommend it. Very convenient location.
5 out of 5
by Kevin

Sofia central city break

Posted Jul 30, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect base for city break