Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from manchester

Holiday stay for 2 nights

Posted Sep 1, 2015
Pros: The location and panoramic views from the back of the hotel on the cliff top was the highlight for us. It also had a lovely swimming pool area.
Cons: The decor could be a little more updated in the rooms.
Location: The location was absolutely perfect. Close to all the little alleyways which were bustling with people browing the lovely shops.
My husband and I came to Sorrento for a 2 night stay and it was amazing. The hotel was in a fabulous location with breathtaking views from the bar terrace and dining room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blagnac

Hôtel très agréable, au centre de Sorrente.

Posted Aug 31, 2015
Super séjour. La chambre est spacieuse et très confortable. La salle de restaurant surplomb la baie de Naples avec vue sur le Visuve, idem pour la terrasse du bar. Le personnel est très serviable. La piscine, bien qu'un peu petite, se trouve dans un beau Park. L'hôtel est dans le centre de Sorrente, on peut aller se balader dans les rue de Sorrente à pieds: pas besoin de voiture. Hôtel à recommander; j'y retournerais avec plaisir.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a wonderful place and fantastic location

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Pros: The building is quite beautiful, very spacious light and airy. A classic Italian style with a lot of character.
We booked a last minute short break here and would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff were great, very friendly and welcoming. The food was also lovely, very fresh and tasty !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester, UK

Very nice hotel, close to everything you need

Posted Aug 11, 2015
First time in Sorrento, accompanied by our 12 year old son. Hotel was great, staff amassing. Would not hesitate to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Historic Unique Hotel

Posted Aug 6, 2015
Pros: Well preserved historical hotel, spectacular views, convenient location to beach, port, town center, shops, dining, bank, travel agent, amalfi coast
Cons: Our room was spectacular but the bed was extremely hard, felt like we slept on a box spring. Others in our party had no complaints.
Location: Vesuvius, Naples, quick boat to Capri, 40 min car ride to Positano and Amalfi coast destinations. Perfect locale for more than beach and tourist sites
Tramontano is a unique and interesting place to stay if you want history, luxury, and a spectacular view. The history of the hotel separates it from many of the other more recently built hotels. As part of a group we had a number of rooms and all had spectacular views of the coastline, Vesuvius, or colorful gardens, with a sunset that was just stunning, and very clean. We met the owner's wife and she was quite lovely, telling us more about the art work in each room and the history of the hotel that was once a summer palace, a hospital during wartime, and now a summer resort. Perfectly located, just a short walk to center of town. Staff are very friendly and helpful, hotel is peaceful retreat from the crowds. We only had breakfast at the hotel and it was quite lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from connecticut

Great views, excelent lication

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Nice hotel, excelent breakfast, great location, walking distance every where, nice pool but they close it very early, 6 pm....you really don't have time to enjoy the pool after a day of visiting the town or places around town. The sun set was 8:15 pm so really a bummer since we wanted to chill a bit before going to dinner. The pool was always packed at closing time And people were really upset to leave that early. The bathrooms need an upgrade, the pillows were not comfortable. Over all a nice hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Beautiful views, great staff!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
We enjoyed our stay very much, almost every part of the hotel has wonderful views, the food is great, the staff are lovely and very helpful and the location couldn't be better. Thumbs up!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Excellent location. Very friendly & helpful staff. Lovely old hotel. Not for those wanting 5 star or highly modern amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from windsor

Sorrento hotel Excellent blend of history & style

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Location, style, facilities and staff
Cons: I could live there.
Location: Sorrento, the Amalfi Coast, Pompeii etc etc etc
Great location, super blend of Italian style in a historical building. Great amenities and wonderful staff. Cannot recommend this hotel too highly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Guernsey

Traditional Hotel with falling standards

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: The gardens, the history. the size of the room.
Cons: Put a Kettle or coffee maker in the room. Better toiletries - they are cheap and unbranded, Better and more towels at the pool
Location: Sorrento is great and the hotel is very central. Some excellent places to eat nearby. Lovely views from the sea view rooms.
This hotel does not live up to the expectations given by its website. It is a hotel built on its traditional reputation from former times but has not kept up to date. Our room was lovely a duplex room with an 8 ft double bed on the mezzanine level. It was clean and tidy but showing the signs of use and could do with a spruce up! We were there on holiday but my husband had to work primarily on the internet. Despite prior confirmation from the hotel that the internet worked fine in our room, it was very hit and miss. It would work at 4am in the morning when everyone else was asleep, however it could not cope with any capacity at all. He ended up having to work in the lobby and caused untold stress and annoyance. The hotel staff tried to help but the system was not up to scratch. We were very disappointed with the breakfast - tinned fruit, inedible cold rubbery eggs! Loads of cakes and pastries so was in effect an overpriced continental breakfast. We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening as other guests had told us of their disappointing meals in there. We felt that the waiting staff were generally rude and unfriendly. The gardens are lovely. At the pool staff are under orders not to let guests have more than one towel each - an old shabby over washed towel at that which didn't even cover the sunbed. If you wanted to swim in the cold pool then you would have to use the same towel. It is an expensive hotel living on its former reputation but failing dismally