Ratings based on 222 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bury St Edmunds

one week in July 2016

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, and old style.
Cons: More sunbeds and umbrellas around the pool. Riper fresh fruit at breakfast.
Location: Easy to pop in to town - or walk to the marina. You can get to the station for a train to Pompeii or book longer trips.
Our annual holiday here - lovely location - overlooking sea and near to town centre and marina. Staff on reception and in the restaurant very good - they would happily speak English or listen to my poor Italian. I especially commend the guy operating the beach lift - (name?) - so friendly and kind. Breakfast not super, but certainly fine for a week - and the nicest of staff - always with a little banter - plenty of waiters to bring and clear. Room was fine - I hadn't booked a room with balcony, so would recommend you do - on sea side best - but most expensive - however, pool or garden side good, as well.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Beautiful location and amazing friendly service

Posted Jul 17, 2016
We had a wonderful experience at Hotel Tramontano. The view from our 4th floor balcony was incredible - you feel on top of the world looking out over the sea towards Versuvius. The staff couldn't have been more accommodating. Service with a smile. We loved Leonelli's beach club underneath the hotel - a lovely place to catch the Rays and swim in the calm clear seas. Beautiful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Great stay

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Location: Go to Capri. It is a beautiful place.
We had no idea what to expect from this hotel and vacation. Once we arrived, we were surprised how beautiful the hotel was from the outside. They have a garden that is amazing and peaceful. We were greeted from their lovely staff and taken to our room. The rooms are older but clean. The only complaint about the room is that the shower is not very big and it is difficult to take one comfortably since the tub is not wide enough to stand in. It was a bit awkward but we still managed to take showers. The dinner was spectacular and the view was amazing. We really enjoyed the elevator to the beach and the old bar as well. If we ever go back to Italy, we will definitely go back to this hotel. It is a romantic and lovey place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buenis aires argentina

Vistas espectaculares

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Palacio espectacular. Vistas increíbles. Jardines impactantes. Solo falta piscina climatizada
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scarborough UK

Torna Surriento

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Great hotel with stunning views, centrally situated and accessible. Staff are welcoming, professional and capable. Room, although a little small, had terrace for two and was kept immaculate by house staff. Sky TV, Minibar, bath and shower. Idyllic terrace bar - complete package certainly lends itself to the title. If you can drag yourself away from the hotel there are innumerable things to do. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Excellent hotel overlooking Bay of Naples

Posted May 30, 2016
Pros: see comments above
Cons: I wouldn't change a thing
Location: see comments above
Spectacular water view rooms. Hotel on 100 foot cliff overlooking Bay of Naples. Mount Versuvius view across Bay of Naples. Beach access either by elevator or tunnels dug into 100 foot cliff. Breakfast with views of Bay of Naples. Friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to ristorantes and harbor (ferries to Capri). Highly recommended!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand Old Hotel that has become a doggy hotel

Posted May 25, 2016
Well located just off the main piazza. Sits on a cliff edge overlooking the sea - you can have front row seats at breakfast. Elevator from port to town right next door, only €1. My suite with a terrace overlooking inner courtyard which is pretty. Spacious suite, bathroom a bit tight and short of shelf space. Foyer large and spacious as you would expect. Marble floors with runners down the stairs...class all of the way. Personnel dress upscale, again, as would be expected. Only downside is they let in people with dogs. I was awoken at 7 AM by this big black dog barking in the courtyard and it went on for 30 minutes, non-stop. This was not the only dog there. Another down the hallway from my room...mercifully it only yapped a few times during the day but loudly. Will not return until they have either a dog muzzle policy at night or stop owners from bringing their pets to such a lovely hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentral gelegenes Hotel, direkt an der Küste

Posted May 22, 2016
Sehr ansprechendes Hotel direkt an der Steilküste von Sorrent. Die Altstadt mit vielen kleinen Einkaufsgassen und guten Restaurants liegt direkt vor der Tür. Aufgrund der arg begrenzten Parkmöglichkeiten in der Altstadt, kann man auf dem Hotelgelände parken. Dies kostet allerdings 15€ pro Tag. Dafür wird ihnen der Wagen aber durch das Hotelpersonal eingeparkt und wenn man es wieder braucht, aus sämtlichen kleinen Parklücken beulenfrei ausgeparkt. Den Service muss man nutzen. Auf einen Mietwagen kann man auch verzichten. Im Hafen gehen im 10min Takt die Fähren nach Neapel, Capri, Amalfi usw. Dafür muss man sich den Straßenverkehr nicht antuen, denn der hat es tagsüber in sich! Auf eine Tour nach Positano über die Küstenstraße würde ich verzichten, das ist Stress pur! Lieber mit dem Schiff. Der Anteil an Vespa Rollern auf der Straße ist unglaublich. Als Autofahrer wird man links wie rechts davon überholt. Nach der Anreise sofort Getränke einkaufen. Aus der Zimmerbar lieber nichts nehmen! Eine Flasche Wasser (Natural) 0,5l kostet unglaubliche 6€. Im Supermarkt 39ct! Ein frischgepresster Orangensaft kostet zum Frühstück übrigens 8€ extra :-) Ein guter Tipp zum Schluss, man muss gut zu Fuß sein!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

People make the difference.

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Excellent and attentive staff.
Cons: Rooms are outdated. Tiles need repair and bathroom amenities improved.
Location: Great location.
Vito Mecca, Pepe and all Hotel concierge/desk service personnel were the difference -- top notch all the way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great style, elegance, central position and views.

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Romantic, close to everything, great views.
This is the grand old hotel of Sorrento, right in the centre of the Old Town. Ravishing views of The Bay of Naples and Vesuvius. Nothing too much trouble. Luxurious rooms and suites. Actaully couldn't be better.