Ratings based on 187 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

An expensive slice of paradise

Posted Oct 8, 2017
Location simply stunning. Upgraded from Sugar Mill Room to a villa. Initially resisted as we’d booked Sugar Mill to avoid using the mini bus and tuk tuk shuttles to get from the main hotel building to the room. However, the upgraded room was much nicer and the ground floor Sugar Mill had the AC unit chiller right by the window so suspected it would be noisy. Shuttles are mildly annoying but not enough to impact the holiday! Stunning location means you’re cut off though. Taxi to Soufriere (15mins each way) is 50USD for the round trip, which make going out for dinner an expensive outing, even if the restaurants outside the hotel are cheaper. In the hotel, everything is expensive. Drinking anything other the local Piton beer is gut wrenchingly expensive. Food is OK, but certainly not worth the price tag. Three courses will always cost 100USD p.p or more for dinner. Lunch not much shy! During our time popular with honeymooners and US couples having weekend breaks on all inclusive packages.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great Villas, Okay Service

Posted Sep 27, 2017
Pros: Secluded area with great views of the Pitons and Caribbean.
Cons: The "Butler"
Location: Easy access to watersports and hiking (both of the Pitons).
The villa we stayed in was outstanding (on par with the overwater bungalow we stayed in at the Intercontinental Resort and Thalasso Spa in Bora Bora). While we did not have more than a peak-a-boo view of the Caribbean, we had an amazing view of Petit Piton. The plunge pool is large enough that you do not necessarily need to go down to the resort pool. The resort itself and the food were excellent (except for one night when Lobster was offered on the menu but the resort was out of it). The biggest disappointment however was that the "Butler" assigned to our villa was nonexistent. The only interaction we had with our "Butler" was when he thought that we had not paid our bill upon trying to leave the resort. Everything we ended up scheduling to do went through the front office of the resort (the front office staff were great). For the money, we will do Jade Mountain next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Beautiful and Relaxing 5-Star Resort

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Pros: I liked the willingness of staff to go the extra mile. When our trip had to be extended for 6 days because of Irma, the hotel was very accommodating.
Cons: The menu seems to cater to a European palate. We would have preferred more local dishes. Also, we never ever saw the General Manager. GM Reception?
Location: Sugar Beach is very private and remote. Taxis are quite expensive, but 1 or 2 excursions into Soufriere or Castries are a must. Grocery shopping!!!!
I was very excited to take my girlfriend to Sugar Beach for her birthday. Neither of us had been to St Lucia, but my previous experiences with Viceroy Hotels led me to expect only the best. As our travel date neared, I became somewhat worried when Hurricane Irma began threatening the Caribbean islands. Fortunately, St Lucia was spared from Irma's wrath (though so many islands and people were not as fortunate), and we were able to proceed with our travel as planned. Our stay at Sugar Beach began with a complimentary upgrade to a Grand Villa. Covering more than 1,000 square feet, our villa (No. 811) included a large bedroom with king-size bed, living room, 2 bathrooms, wet bar, wraparound porch, closet and dressing room, private plunge pool, and an outdoor shower with breathtaking views of Petit Piton and the ocean. As if this were not enough, our villa also came with 24/7 butler service. After checking us into our villa, our butler gave us our own cell phone preprogrammed with her number so that we could communicate from anywhere on the island. There was no task too big or too small for our butlers to address with smiles. After a few days, they began to learn our routines and anticipate our needs. And every night brought a different treat, from a complimentary bottle of champagne for my girlfriend's birthday to extra ice and limes for our rum and cokes, service was always provided with aplomb. Let me just say that the Sugar Beach staff rose to every occasion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas

Incredible

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We have been everywhere in the world and this is hands down on every of the nicest resorts! Not only is the hotel beautiful but it is perfectly located! The beach is beautiful and there is a lot to do. The staff and the people in st Lucia are some Of the nicest people we have ever come in contact with.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Food

Posted Sep 6, 2017
The prices of the food are out of control expensive. Coming from NYC it takes a lot to shock me as far as prices go for food. However $18 for egg whites with no sides that were sub par and basic is down right offensive. They also do not elinform you of all the pri fixe prices. The resort is beautiful but they need to highly reevaluate the cost of food or increase the quality and uniqueness substantially.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Miss it already!

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: The cottages are amazing. Very cozy and comfortable. Views are breathtaking no matter what cottage you are in. The service is exceptional as well.
Cons: The only thing that could use improvement is the time it takes to get your breakfast in the morning. There was always a bit of a wait..
Location: The location is perfect as it is right on the beach. You can do water sports right at the hotel. Zip lining is nearby along with the falls & springs
This has to be one of my favorite hotels. I can't say enough about the resort and the staff. They go above and beyond pretty much anywhere I've stayed. The resort is breathtaking and the views are incredible. The staff is one of the nicest around and aim to please you no matter what. I could go back every year and have for the last two years. It is truly paradise!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Theresa, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. It is very much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. Your feedback will be passed on to the restaurant team and we will do our utmost to improve on the service provided at breakfast. We thank you once again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Luxurious Getaway

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: The hospitality of the staff, the exclusive beach, and views!
Location: Tucked between the Pitons. Great beach views. Short ride to the active volcano and local waterfall.
If you are traveling to Saint Lucia looking for a luxurious escape, this is the place! My wife and I went here for our ten year wedding anniversary and couldn't have been more impressed with Sugar Beach. We were welcomed by our butler with a cool refreshing drink as we arrived. And upon entering our villa, we noticed a complimentary bottle of champagne and local rum. We actually received another bottle of champagne several days later, as well. So as you can see, you are pampered by the staff. The villa is luxurious with updated amenities and breathtaking views of the Pitons and sea. Not to mention you have your own private plunge pool. The butler staff is on top of their game as they are always making sure you need for nothing. The hospitality the staff and locals show is extremely comforting. I could talk forever about the views but I will simply state that pictures don't even do the real thing justice. Also Sugar Beach Resort is perfect because they have their own beach and not all the other resorts have this luxury. The beach is tucked between the Pitons, again, creating magical views.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Theresa , Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy that we made your anniversary a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Thank
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Best Caribbean resort I've ever stayed at

Posted Aug 10, 2017
Pros: The rooms are very comfortable and include your own private plunge pools. The grounds & scenery are spectacular and well cared-for.
Cons: Pretty perfect as is
Location: Location is like paradise, nestled in a cove & surrounded by mountains and rain forest. Town of Soufriere & restaurants close by
The location, facilities, service & staff are top-notch. Nestled between the two Piton "domes", the lush rain forest scenery, soft-sand beach & breathtaking views cannot be found anywhere else on St. Lucia and in very few other places across the Caribbean. There are several other nice resorts on the island including 3 Sandals and Jade Mountain, but none have a perfect location like Viceroy's Sugar Beach resort. As a matter of fact, other resorts truck their guests to Sugar Beach for swimming & snorkeling (All the beaches on St. Lucia are public). I have read some of the negative reviews and these appear to be placed by people who stayed at other resorts and were not happy to discover that when visiting, our resort required payment for them to use the beach lounges & pool. They are rightfully reserved for Sugar Beach guests who are paying for them in their room rate.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 26, 2017 by Theresa, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach A Viceroy Resort. We appreciate your feedback We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back. Thank you
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Perfect honeymoon

Posted Jul 29, 2017
We just got back from spending ten days here and we have nothing to complain about. The staff was amazing they were some of the nicest people we met. Whenever we needed something they were there to help. It is a quiet place to stay but still had options for excitement! The food was amazing and we were never bored! The room was beyond amazing-with the plunge pool sometimes we never left our room! We did several off-site excursions set up by the hotel and had a ton of fun. Everything was prepares for you so you never had to lift a finger for anything! We originally didn't opt for the AI plan but after day 1 we decided that we wouldn't be able to leave the hotel as often as we liked(no rental car) so we decided to do AI and it needed up being worth it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2017 by Aline, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy you had a wonderful honeymoon. We do look forward to welcoming you once more.
5 out of 5
by Brad

Exceptional Resort

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Private Butler is the way forward... amazing service and resort. Well done! Pricey though!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2017
Dear Brad, Thank you for staying at Sugar Beach and for this great review! We are happy to have met your expectations and more. We cannot wait to welcome you again to our island paradise. Sunny Regards, The Reservations Team