Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
54% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Mostafa

Very dirty place very rude staff

Posted Mar 4, 2016 on Hotels
Did not even stay in this dirty place and rude staff, very rude staff and they thing they doing you a favourite, so don't bother even thinking of booking it, the place is very very dirty the staff very very rude, I have called hotel.com on the same night got my refund and asked them to romove this place from the website.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from richmond virginia

Worst hotel ever

Posted Jun 10, 2015
So dirty, bad customer service, non professional employee, dirty facility, hair in the sink, flees in the mattress
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Was I just unlucky or...?

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels
The room was as you would expect from a 3 star hotel. I think they had done some renovations before but not sure if they were starting to wear out or whether they did not finish the job properly. You had a large balcony though the view was of nothing special. The problem really came when we took the shower. The shower head was like a starfish and that means you had 5 or 6 water jets coming out from all sorts of direction away from you so at the end of the shower your whole floor was wet. As we were only there for one night and was leaving early in the morning for the sahara trip so we could not be bothered to change room. The next visit we were given room 3021, again facing the same direction on the same floor. Similar look and feel . After we settled in and turned up the aircon, the air con started to drip (actually they all dripped but this one was raining) This was intolerable as the floor was flooding in a few minutes time so we changed room to Room 3024 This time the aircon had the sound but it was not cold even after a long time. As this was not bearable so we asked again. We finally got a room in 3009 that was ok except a giant cockroach, which we settled in as it was like midnight already If they have fixed the problems or not assign customers to these rooms then I could see it is a reasonable 3 star hotel for such a price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Amazing Pool, but Dated Rooms & Smokey Lobby

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Pros: The pools are great.
Cons: Chain-smoking with little escape is a huge problem in Tunisia in general. Real non-smoking areas are needed. I feel bad for those with asthma.
Location: The hotel is NOT in the city center of Sousse, as Expedia's map indicates. It's actually in the tourist area far to the north.
I stayed at this hotel as a solo traveler in June, in Sousse for research purposes. The hotel was very popular with families from Russia and Eastern Europe as an all-inclusive family vacation destination because of its location on the beach and it had two great (but freezing cold) swimming pools- one indoor and one outdoor, and a few water slides. The pools and the beach both close early- pools with disappointing hours of 10 AM- 5 PM and the beach's gates closing at 6 PM, making taking a walk in the evening impossible. The room I had was incredibly dated, needing renovation, and the bed was hard as a rock, which I found extremely uncomfortable. Cleaning staff were friendly and said "bonjour" when you passed them. Even though it was a non-smoking room, it had a lingering odor of smoke. In fact, the hotel's lobby stunk so bad of smoke (made worse with the air conditioning) that I often felt sick. Wifi, though, is only available in the stinky lobby or out on the patio. However, the patio is used for shows with blasting DJ music for the kids around 8/9 PM, when you might want to wind down and take photos off your camera or just get in touch with folks back home. The breakfast was included, but it's not quite what you would expect, or at least, I didn't expect to see CAULIFLOWER for breakfast. I stuck to the croissants and pastries, and the fresh-squeezed orange juice. I didn't eat any other meals, but did have a drink one night and it was watered down.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J.E. from Nova Scotia

Affordable short stay vacation hotel

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff works diligently to keep the hotel clean. This doesn't mean it's spotless, but they have a sizeable cleaning staff who work hard.
Cons: There is no information in the hotel room about hotel services or local events or shopping. More info should have made readily available and a FRIDGE
Location: There's plenty of lounge chairs and a very large outdoor area with many activities. The beach is great, and outdoor pools beautiful.
If you want good wi-fi, a soft mattress or a tv larger than 12", you'll have to go elsewhere. If you want a fridge in your room, it's not here. The attraction here at the Marabout is the large pools and entertainment, and beach, as well as the affordable pricing. Marabout is a very large, family style complex and young children will enjoy their time in the indoor pool and at various play areas. In late May there were still nobody swimming in any of the outdoor pools and multi-colored slides were not open for use. I presume people found the temperature was still too low for outdoor swimming. The kids flocked to the indoor pool and their parents sat nearby. The buffet is average, it serves the purpose and everyone in the large dining room carried several plates to their table, so it seems to be meet the needs of almost everyone. Water is not available ... unless you pay. Even with the 'all inclusive' buffet, you must request and pay for bottled water. At dinner, you must pay for ANY beverages. At breakfast, you can help yourself to fountain juice, tea or coffee, as much as you like, but you pay for water if you request it. The "double bed" is made of two single beds on moveable wooden platforms, placed next to each other. Each is fully independent with single size mattresses and single size coverings on each. There is no double bed. We had to request soap and additional t.p. Best to bring: soap, facecloth, shampoo, beach towels.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 21, 2013 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant, self-contained hotel with pools

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Great for families, with plenty of water slides and pools. Pleasant for business with clean rooms and good breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor...

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Location: good restaurants nearby
Breakfast was poor...hotel staff was un friendly...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 7, 2012 on Hotels