Ratings based on 516 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Crystal Palace, London

Perfect location.

Posted Nov 22, 2017
The hotel is in a perfect location. We did not spend almost money in public transport, as most of the monuments are quite near of. I would recommend this hotel to everybody. HOWEVER, I think they have to change the mattress. We could not rest because of that. It was really uncomfortable, as you can feel all those mattress springs... So please change them!!! A part from that... all good!!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Great staff & location; dated decor

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location, staff.
Cons: Cleanliness, décor, ensure everything in room is working before assigning it to guests.
The staff was great, but the room décor was dated and very dark and several of the wall sconces were not working in our room. We discussed it with the staff member who checked us in, and she said she would call a tech to check on them or change the bulb, but we checked in around 7 PM and were checking out the next morning before 9 AM, so we weren't hopeful we'd get help (and we did not). The rooms need a little updating -- the walls are scuffed and the furnishings dinged up. The bedspreads are gold damask. The room was not as clean as we would have liked (the floor in particular), but it certainly wasn't filthy. Unfortunately, with so many hotels to stay at in Rome, I can't recommend it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Water Problem

Posted Sep 28, 2017
We booked and prepaid for two nights and our room had water issues prior to our arrival. We were downgraded to a hotel on another floor until the next day when we were leaving early next morning. Already filed a complaint with the manager and credit card company!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Very mixed experience.

Posted Sep 21, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: The one room.
Location: It is located close to the Trevi Fountain. Lots of eating and shopping options very close by.
Four of us stayed at Hotel Montecitorio for three days after a cruise. We had two rooms. One was really nice, well furnished and appointed. The other was, unfortunately, similar to a basement room (albeit on the fourth floor). It was large with two large beds and a fine bathroom. The main problem was a completely inadequate air conditioner resulting in a very hot room. Staff attempted to fix it and did offer to change rooms but we were hopeful for a fix. The fix didn't happen and, by then, the trouble of packing up again to change rooms was more than we wanted to do. There was also a pounding heavy rain the last day which resulted in water coming down the wall and pooling on the floor. On the plus side, the hotel was very well located and the staff most pleasant and helpful. I would stay there again, but not in that room. It should be noted that there is a lift to the hotel but a fairly short flight of stairs once getting off the lift.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Cracking Location

Posted Aug 29, 2017
The hotel is in an ideal location for a few attractions. It is approx. 10 minute walk to either the Spanish Steps or the Trevi Fountain. Could walk to the Colosseum in approx. 30 minutes. The hotel is also very handy for shopping. The room came complete with a mini fridge which came in handy as it was rather hot when we stayed. There was also a digital safe which was good to have. The only negative thing I have to say about our stay was the bed in the hotel room. We had two single beds pushed together, the mattresses were quite hard and pillows were also thin so it wasn't a comfortable sleep
3 out of 5
by Teresa

Posted Aug 28, 2017 on Hotels
Great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from red deer canada

Great location

Posted Jul 30, 2017
Great location Within 15 minutes walk of most attractions very close to Trevi fountain and Spanish steps great homebase to see Rome
5 out of 5
by Syeda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Barbara J

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
We enjoyed our stay at Residenza Montecitorio. Large clean triple room. Elevator. Good standard breakfast. Nice rooftop terrace but no furniture to sit on?? Excellent walkable central location, near Piazza Venezia. although finding it the very first time wasn't easy. Very helpful front desk.
4 out of 5
by Lynn

Easy check-in/check out

Posted Jul 14, 2017 on Hotels
Met our needs. Easy check in/check out. Able to communicate in English. Allowed us to store luggage after check out. No hidden charges. Walking distance of Pantheon and other sites. Would stay here again.