Ratings based on 1,708 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I love the old feel of this hotel, it's a favorite of mine when going through Spokane and perfect access to the knitting factory for shows. Staff keeps the hotel quite in the evenings which keeps the lovely atmosphere.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MT

Gorgeous hotel but Noisy

Posted Mar 15, 2017
We thought the hotel was beautiful and the staff friendly. Our issue was that it was extremely noisy in our room...we were located above a lounge that's downstairs. The noise stopped by about 11, but we were woken up again at 2AM by people returning to their room and barking at their dog to make the dog bark (hotel allows dogs). I would not recommend if you're looking for a good night's sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from western wa.

Downtown Spokane, beautifully renovated

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pleasant and helpful staff. Beautiful decor and comfortable bed. Nice coffee/tea bar. Parking is not great - limited spaces in back of building. Continental breakfast at sister motel was poor. We arrived about 25 minutes before the ending of breakfast and there was no coffee, no waffle batter, and other than cereal, english muffins, and a few hard boiled eggs, there was nothing to eat. We left and ate else where. Good location within walking distance of a lot of things.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kimberley, BC

Brought back to Life

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Location: It's a great location within walking distance of dining, theatre, sports arena, etc. We think Spokane is nice place to walk around.
Thank you Jerry! We have stayed here many times, starting 10 or 12 years ago. Unfortunately, with each stay it was looking more and more run down each time. It is looking great again thanks to the Ruby people and we hope to return soon. Nicely done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montana

Great down town access

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: Not your cookie cutter hotel.
Cons: Simple breakfast, free parking.
Location: There were tons of shops, restaurants and theaters with in walking distance
We went to Spokane for our 30th wedding anniversary. It was so nice to stay in a beautiful hotel that was anything but generic. The room was large and clean and the staff was attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Beautifully restored hotel. Great staff. Enjoyed our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The historic feel!
Cons: It was too warm. The thermostat could not be turned down.
Historic hotel with a cozy feel. We were very happy with the room and the location. The Gilded Unicorn was amazing! I had only wished that we could have adjusted the room temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bothell, WA

More than expected

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: The room was great!
Cons: The breakfast that is offered is located in another hotel, and they don't offer much in the way of healthy breakfast items such as fruit.
Location: It is within in less than a mile of the Spokane Area, so it makes for easy walking.
Upon checking in we were greeted very kindly and promptly helped. We entered our room and it definitely was more than expected, the bed was great and my sister said the pull out was perfect for her.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old Charm

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lovely spacious rooms with a bright atrium to enjoy on each floor. Continental breakfast a disappointment-located in the bar of a motel down the street.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Wonderful hotel downtown

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Great location, great charm, terrific staff
Cons: Mostly wouldn't change anything.
Location: Walking distance shopping, restaurants, bars, theater, Riverfront park
I try always to stay at the Montvale when visiting Spokane. It's a terrific historic hotel and near everything! Beautiful decor and art, great bath products, terrific coffee and a wonderful staff. Have had great luck with this place! And a great value