Ratings based on 458 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Escondido CA

Cheap, but not worth it

Posted Nov 28, 2017
We needed a place to crash for a few hours before getting on the road again. We ended up staying at the Comfort SUITES just around the corner because they wouldn't let us check in when we arrived at 3am (check in time is 2pm for them) which is about the same thing for Comfort SUITES. We were fine paying for a full night's stay for only a few HOURS, we just needed to sleep. With my entire family of 4 kids ages 6 and under we just needed to find somewhere. Here I thought I was being proactive in booking somewhere before we arrived but this place wouldn't work with us. Even when the vacant sign was lit. We caught a glimpse of the rooms when we went back the next morning on our way out to see if there was any way they could refund us, and we were glad to have spent $20 more for a HUGE difference in quality. But a bummer that we ended up paying for a room that we couldn't use.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old Motel

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Old motel, I was scare to step on the floor, the bathroom was dirty...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

A Good Motel for the Price

Posted Oct 27, 2017
I stayed at the Sand Motel three night, October 23, 24 and 25 - 2017. I have always liked my stay there and have stayed at the Sands many times before. The value and convenience for me has always been appreciated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC UT

Old, bargain motel no excuse for filth everywhere.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: They need to thoroughly clean every inch of the room and all the contents.
I chose a room at a bargain motel, but it was fall break so I still had to pay double the usual weekly rate. I was ready for an old motel with not a lot of frills, but I was not prepared for filth. I can understand not making a lot of money to spend on improvements with the revenue from the usual weekly rate, but they are apparently not even spending $ on cleaning supplies or cleaning staff. The walls were dirty. The lamp shades stained. The upholstery on the chairs filthy. With the condition of everything else in the room, I did not trust the condition of the bedspread. But when I pulled it off I uncovered a horribly stained box spring. I could tell the sheets and pillow cases were at least clean. But the pillows were feather and very smelly. All I could think to do was wrap them in the bath towels, which did block the smell. Then I just slept with a sheet because there was not even a blanket on the bed or in the closet. The tattered drapes where missing several hooks and just dangling. Motel signage claims kitchenettes. Only a fridge. No microwave. Not even a coffee maker. Even the lobby is filthy. In the interest of full disclosure, I was offered a refund when I asked if they might have a room in better condition. But I knew that the likelihood of finding another room at the last minute was slim because when I made the reservation a few weeks earlier availability was already very limited. Hard lesson learned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Solid Budget Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Central location. It looks like some update were done on the bathroom/shower.
Cons: There were no nightstands in our room, which was odd, and the layout was weird, but it's an updated older building, so not a big deal.
Location: There are a few restaurants within walking distance, which was great.
This hotel was one of the less expensive ones listed, but that is why I chose it. We were on our way through and weren't looking to pay much. If you are looking for a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, then this is not the hotel for you. It has the basics and not much more. It had a good location on a main road, so it was easy to find food and to get around without needing to drive. They also had a pool and a breakfast in the morning, although we left before it began, so I don't know if it was good or not. Overall, I would recommend for a one night stay. I wouldn't book it for a longer stay though.
5 out of 5
by Mary

A good night's sleep.

Posted Aug 26, 2017 on Hotels
The room was like a studio apartment. It had a full size kitchen and eating area and sitting area. It was clean and very quiet. The hotel is close driving distance to shops, downtown and the freeway.
4 out of 5
by Dan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Michael

Bait & Switch? or Marketing Ploy?

Posted Aug 23, 2017 on Hotels
I booked online from a Starbucks down the street. When I got there 5 min later, they seemed pretty confused but I gave them my confirmation number and everything was ok. They did run my credit card and then quickly realized I had already paid so they ran a credit. It was very difficult to communicate with both the woman and the man, their english was poor and their accent was too strong for me to understand them most of the time. Then they proceed to tell me that my room is NOT at the Sands but next door at the property right behind them (I forget the name). I was leery at first but it was actually ok. A huge room with a living room, pull-out sofa, kitchenette, fridge, microwave, etc. and then a separate bedroom with a king bed and a bathroom. Way more room than I needed but the price was right. I really just needed a room for the night. The free breakfast in the morning was very underwhelming with not much to offer..., at least the coffee was fair.
3 out of 5
by wendy

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The price was good, but I don't know if I'd stay here again. Room looked nice on the surface but when you've been there a little bit you notice things that weren't clean. And the maid never did clean the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I enjoyed staying at this motel. The rooms were always neat and clean. I will be going back.