Ratings based on 453 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.7 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

A Good Motel for the Price

Posted Oct 27, 2017
I stayed at the Sand Motel three night, October 23, 24 and 25 - 2017. I have always liked my stay there and have stayed at the Sands many times before. The value and convenience for me has always been appreciated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC UT

Old, bargain motel no excuse for filth everywhere.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: Absolutely nothing.
Cons: They need to thoroughly clean every inch of the room and all the contents.
I chose a room at a bargain motel, but it was fall break so I still had to pay double the usual weekly rate. I was ready for an old motel with not a lot of frills, but I was not prepared for filth. I can understand not making a lot of money to spend on improvements with the revenue from the usual weekly rate, but they are apparently not even spending $ on cleaning supplies or cleaning staff. The walls were dirty. The lamp shades stained. The upholstery on the chairs filthy. With the condition of everything else in the room, I did not trust the condition of the bedspread. But when I pulled it off I uncovered a horribly stained box spring. I could tell the sheets and pillow cases were at least clean. But the pillows were feather and very smelly. All I could think to do was wrap them in the bath towels, which did block the smell. Then I just slept with a sheet because there was not even a blanket on the bed or in the closet. The tattered drapes where missing several hooks and just dangling. Motel signage claims kitchenettes. Only a fridge. No microwave. Not even a coffee maker. Even the lobby is filthy. In the interest of full disclosure, I was offered a refund when I asked if they might have a room in better condition. But I knew that the likelihood of finding another room at the last minute was slim because when I made the reservation a few weeks earlier availability was already very limited. Hard lesson learned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Solid Budget Hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Pros: Central location. It looks like some update were done on the bathroom/shower.
Cons: There were no nightstands in our room, which was odd, and the layout was weird, but it's an updated older building, so not a big deal.
Location: There are a few restaurants within walking distance, which was great.
This hotel was one of the less expensive ones listed, but that is why I chose it. We were on our way through and weren't looking to pay much. If you are looking for a fancy hotel with lots of amenities, then this is not the hotel for you. It has the basics and not much more. It had a good location on a main road, so it was easy to find food and to get around without needing to drive. They also had a pool and a breakfast in the morning, although we left before it began, so I don't know if it was good or not. Overall, I would recommend for a one night stay. I wouldn't book it for a longer stay though.
3 out of 5
by wendy

Posted Aug 15, 2017 on Hotels
The price was good, but I don't know if I'd stay here again. Room looked nice on the surface but when you've been there a little bit you notice things that weren't clean. And the maid never did clean the shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Aug 8, 2017
I enjoyed staying at this motel. The rooms were always neat and clean. I will be going back.
2 out of 5
by Marvin

Posted Jul 28, 2017 on Hotels
last time ever stay there old and needs to be remolded smells like the city dump
1 out of 5
by Esperanza

Very upset

Posted Jul 27, 2017 on Hotels
They do not know how to check ID right.. My son was home-less
3 out of 5
by Sandra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Don't stay here

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything.
Location: It was near my mom's home.
This was not a nice motel. The shower was bad. The phone had no cord connecting it to the wall outlet. There was not enough electrical outlets. There was no ice machine. Don't stay here.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Did the job, but not ideal.

Posted Jul 2, 2017
We read reviews before we booked so we didn't have high hopes, but we were just needing a place to sleep for one night. The room was run down, the bathroom seemed updated (sort of), the staff was okay, the breakfast was alright. Basically you are getting what you pay for... wouldn't book again though.