Ratings based on 1,839 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay in downtown St. Louis

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Everything was great from the warm and rich atmosphere to the clean room and very comfortable beds. Will stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel downtown St Louis

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Nice hotel downtown St Louis Union station is a great historic site on the outskirts of the city, very convenient
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arnold mo

1 year Anniversary

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: The grand room with the 3d show was breath taking.
Cons: The service in the dining room in the evening was slow, but only because there seemed to only be one waiter.
Location: We visited Hard Rock Cafe, which I wasn't too impressed with, loved the Craft Brewery tour of St.Louis we did.
My husband and I stayed the evening here for our first Anniversary and it was lovely. The staff were all very friendly and willing to assist and our room was amazing and so comfortable. I will definitely be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Iowa

great IF YOU LIKE PAYING TWICE!!!

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Great location and beautiful. Would return over and over if not for this. Staff was friendly but not overly professional. Room was comfortable/clean
Cons: Costumer service, and apparently their billing system!
Location: Walking distance from Bush Stadium, lots of sights to see, great places too ear near by.
Initial experience was nice. Now nearly 5 months later they have charged my account for the room, valet, etc. for the second time, and are not helpful in trying to get this resolved. Someone "should contact you in the next 72 hrs" was the answer I got as why this was occurring, and was told that there was nothing else that could be done. Nearly $600!!!! I initially gave rave reviews to everyone who has asked about a good place to stay, I will MAKE IT KNOWN to anyone and everyone who will listen, that this is now the experience I have. What was supposed to be a romantic get away for mine and my boyfriends birthdays, is now haunting me by making it impossible to pay my bills. Absolutely ridiculous. Terrible costumer service.One of the 3 people I talked to had "well that's weird" as his only real input to the conversation. I thought Hilton was a good trust worthy company that really took care of their costumers, sadly I was mistaken, and am now paying for it...for the second time. We travel to St Louis often and had planned to make this our go to, but never again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Loved it.

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Loved the hotel. Very nice. They are upgrading it over the next year or two so it should be even better.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Very nice hotel, but parking is inconvenient

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Room, Staff, comfortable bed
Cons: Parking, Parking, Parking
The room was great and very clean. The check-in process was nice. However, the parking was 25/night/car. It was also a decent walk to the lobby. It was also outside uncovered.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Urbana, Illinois

Very nice and great value and location

Posted Aug 21, 2016
Pros: Excellent bed, quiet, nice staff, free coffee, large, comfortable room, convenient location
Cons: A larger sign out front is needed. It's not clear where to go.
Very nice hotel in a good location for a great value. It was very quiet, the bed is very comfortable and the room was large and very nice. The staff were very polite and accommodating. The hotel lobby is beautiful. Complimentary coffee in the morning was appreciated and the self-parking was easy in and out. There is no large sign outside of the hotel so I passed it a few times before I realized the Doubletree and Union Hotel are the same thing. That's slightly confusing. But the great experience and breathtakingly beautiful lobby was well worth the confusion.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice place for a wedding reception.

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking, Check inn, check out, room amenities, as in more TP, towels and caffinated coffy.
Arrived fresh from Six Flags theme park to find the valet overwhelmed and park at the end of the block. The magnificent main hall was set up for a wedding reception that was starting and we felt that we were barging in. The check in line was several people deep on a walled off area and took over 20 minutes wait to check in. What a mess. I heard that Dolly Parton checked in later and took pictures with the reception. I doubt that they wanted to take pictures with any one waiting in line with us. The room as OK but only had a half a roll of TP, towels for 2 and only decaf coffee, we were a family of 4 so you can see we needed to call the desk for obvious necessities. The self park was also an open parking lot not near the room so not quite what I would expect from a Hilton brand. The breakfast was not included. I ordered the waffle and received 4 mini waffles. Though it was a kids meal compared to the Belgan waffles I had included at waffles at Marroitts and Holiday Inns. Will not be back. If I return we return to this area we will stay at the Drury Inn next to the self parking lot with a real restaurant and parking deck at a much lower expense.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from OMaha

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: location, service
Location: Close to parks and the Arch and lots of fun restaurants and bar.
Love this hotel. All staff is wonderful and rooms are clean and nice and bar is wonderful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really disappointed with this hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The architecture and ceiling in main entrance hall is really beautiful.
Cons: So many things...but mainly housekeeping.
Location: Reasonable distance to downtown, but we chose to drive.
We were really excited to stay in this historic hotel, but from the moment we arrived it was all downhill. There was a huge, slow line at check-in that was being awkwardly routed around a wedding reception. We couldn't explore the hotel due to this event. The elevators are unreasonably slow and in poor condition. I had read complaints about lack of vacuuming at this hotel, but was truly surprised at how bad it really was. The hallways and main areas were littered with dirt, crumbs, etc...this did not change at all during our stay. Our room carpet was filthy with large chip pieces and broken plastic all over, There was hair in our bathtub and around the vanity. The nightstand was filthy. We chose not to bathe while we were there - it was really gross. Had we been staying for more than one night, I would have complained, but fortunately we were outside of the hotel for most of our days. This could be a beautiful hotel, it is just not well run, and in terrible need of repairs/updates.