Ratings based on 1,476 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Liked the resort, just kind of expected more.

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Location and views.
Cons: The rooms, quality, maintenance. The housekeeping were great, staff I enjoyed as well.
Location: Did not like the main town.
I thought the landscape was excellent and resort top notch. The room was OK, not for the price. I have stayed in 4 star resorts in Hawaii, the rooms were not well maintained. Can't beat the view, I got engaged on the main veranda last month and that was amazing, but doubt I will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great views & amenities, clean & comfortable room

Posted Jul 24, 2017
This room was clean, comfortable and very quiet, the staff was friendly, this hotel also had great amenities and wonderful views! The only thing that could use improvement was perhaps a rehab of some of the minor facility details- rust spots in the room on the air intake vent, crack in the bathroom counter, etc. (very minor and probably not noticeable to most). The faucet in the bathroom also leaked quite a bit, but we called the front desk and they had it fixed the same day. Otherwise, it was a great stay for my brother's wedding!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Beautiful scenic views.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
We enjoyed our stay. Our harbor views from the hotel were beautiful: the lights of Charlotte Amalie at night, the boats passing thru, great sunsets, and the cove next door. The pools are great, with views extending out to the ocean, too! The staff was always friendly and helpful. The food was quite good. The breakfast buffet, can carry you thru a good part of the day. Water is always available. (They also give you 2 bottles per person each day.) There are numerous activities to take advantage of - some coupons are available so you can save a bit. If you're in the Reef, you can either walk the path to the cove & swim/snorkel or go to the Morning Star beach - either a 30 second shuttle or walk down a path (that usually has iguanas...not for anyone who's not a fan!) You have to be careful & enter the water where indicated since there are rocky areas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting but slow to respond to requests.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Beautiful views! Nice accommodations.
Cons: Response time to guest requests.
Location: Rent a car. Go downtown. You do not want to miss out on local cuisine! Take the ferry to St. John and explore.
This is an absolutely beautiful resort with several on-site restaurants for those that don't mind paying more and don't want to go into town. I'm fairly easy-going when it comes to lodging and found the rooms nice. I was traveling with my son and daughter and requested a room with two double beds. Upon arrival, I discovered we had a room with a King. No problem, as the couch folded out to accommodate another sleeper. The problem was I had to request the sheets for the foldout three times before I finally received them at 10 pm. I don't know if they are understaffed or there isn't an emphasis on customer service, but they could use improvement in this area. I will say that most of the staff were extremely friendly and a wonderful resource for suggesting sights we shouldn't miss. Overall, a great resort with beautiful views. I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte NC

Not bad but not too good

Posted Jul 12, 2017
It needs some remodeling. Some of the staff members need to smile more often . Personally not my type of resort . Again not too bad but not too good either. Also getting to the beach is not convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very relaxing place to stay.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: It's open and beautiful. Access to the beach and a variety of pools. The views are great. Easy access to everything the island offers.
Cons:
Location: You can catch a taxi or shuttle at the enterance or a ferry to go by water. It's pretty cool.
Outgoing staff, you could just stay here and enjoy this place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay!

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: My family loved the location and scenery.
Cons: Advanced notice to guests when certain areas of the resort will be closed for events. Also, find a way to remove iguanas from restaurant seating.
Location: We felt the location was perfect. Anything we wanted to do off the resort was a mere cab ride away.
We had a little issue our first night staying at the Morningstar Resort, which in my opinion was somewhat frustrating, but it was rectified that night and we were upgraded to a room at the Frenchman's Reef and had the most pleasant vacation for the rest of the week.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indiana

could not check in at 400 as room was not ready

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: we left did not stay we were treated so badly
was told no check in was guaranteed at 400, after a long flight we entered a busy lobby with hotlel staff that seemed not to care about our situation, finally was given room with only a king bed and no where else to sleep, we had 4 people with us 2 adults and two children, hotel seemed to only care about numbers, not service, we left we were treated so badly, am working with expedia about refund
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ill

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: the view
Cons: new beds
Location: st johns
nice and nice views and pools and food was great but very expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami/ NY

Beautiful resort with stunning views!

Posted Jul 6, 2017
This was one of the best Caribbean resorts I've ever been to. It's beach front with amazing ocean front rooms with gorgeous views. You can hear the waves crashing at night in bed as well as at some of the restaurants such as Havana Blue. Aqua Terra a really nice restaurant. The food was delicious on the entire resort , from room service , to pool side , the bars and beach food as well. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The resort was 15 mins from the airport which is great. The only draw backs is the resort doesn't offer an all inclusive option and no airport shuttle and no cash accepted on the resort for food drinks or purchases, only cards and room charges. You can only use cash at the front desk. So prepare for a lot of holds and charges on your credit card charged at random times. There's $100 hold required per night upfront to be able to even charge to the room as well. Overall beautiful resort , I would go again. Also the ferry to the neighboring island St. John is 20 mins away, check it out. In the beginning of July they have carnival. The carnival on St John is the end of April. It's a huge festival and party week.