Ratings based on 687 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel close to beach

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Hotel is close to beach but the rooms seem to be outdated. Small hotel grounds compared to some of the others I've stayed at here. Staff makes up for it with an amazing welcome though and excellent service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 06460

Feels like Family

Posted Aug 13, 2017
Aside from having all of the amenities of being on the beach, what I loved the most about Bolongo is that the staff really go above and beyond to make you feel like family. Then rooms are perfect for a beach vacation and between Iggies and Lobster Grille the food selection has something for everyone. A visit to Bolongo Bay is highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Great food, great location

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: It had everything we needed including excursions and nightlife. We never left the hotel. Most of the employees were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Bathrooms are dated with no bath tub and an extremely small shower.
Location: Offers great activities and has both a pool and beach area with two restaurants and nightly entertainment.
You can expect a convenient location with modest and relaxed accommodations along with a.reasonably priced, all inclusive package that includes cocktails, lobster and crab legs. But if you're looking for an upscale, more refined spa-like experience, you should probably stay somewhere else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Potomac, Maryland

Naturally beautiful but needs updating

Posted Jul 28, 2017
Pros: I loved waking up to the sunshine and our ocean view. Also, the restaurant staff and bartenders were excellent hosts every day.
Cons: The property needs to be updated, especially the bathrooms. Also, some of the front desk staff need more training in customer service.
Location: Downtown Charlotte Amalie offers shopping, dining, and sightseeing. St. John island is a short ferry ride.
My friend and I enjoyed the natural beauty and privacy of Bolongo Bay. It was not far from town, but far enough to feel detached in a good way. We had a beachfront room and enjoyed waking up to the soft sunshine and calming water. There are two restaurants on the property. Both served good food, but we especially enjoyed The Lobster Grille for breakfast and dinner. The servers and bartenders were welcoming and responsive. While our bedroom was okay, the bathroom was very disappointing. It was old and in serious need of repair and updating--the shower stall, floors, counter, everything. That was the most disappointing part of the accommodations. I would return to Bolongo Bay only if I was assured the property had been updated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from y

The beach is rocky not that great...

Posted Jul 4, 2017
The room had a cleaner daily but the room would be half way clean the sink had toothpaste from when I left it the day before there was dirt and grime on the faucet when I came in and the glass table was never clean multiple stains and things. I had to request towels... watch out for the cabbies they boost the price when they think you are not from there. rent a car... hotel pool could have been kept cleaner
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

This is where I will stay ONLY for SCUBA

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: Location to Diving Club
Perfect Location if you are planning to SCUBA with St. Thomas Diving Club. That Is ALL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Bolongo bay

Posted Jun 25, 2017
Nice hotel, close to the beach with two restaurant
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Pros: The staff , for the most part, were very friendly and accommodating. The beach between the hotel and Iggies was wide and kept clean.
Cons: Rooms could be updated. Shower stall was very small. Skim the pool more frequently, by the end of the day lots of leaves and debris floating.
Location: Iggies Bar/cafe was a great hangout spot. Other than that not much in the area. Most places required a cab ride.
The hotel was OK. The staff was very friendly. The room could use some updating. Beach was good for sunbathing, but not so much for swimming, very rocky and there is a posted sign warning of sea urchins. Having said that, I would have expected a bigger pool to offset the beach swimming. Plenty of water sports available, some complementary. There is a catamaran and dive shop on site for excursions (extra). We would have liked to seen a spa on property. The hotel is a few miles from town, so it requires a vehicle/taxi to go shopping or land sightseeing. The catamaran has a few water sightseeing options. We took a sunset cruise which was fun, but a little pricey. The crew was great. Overall, it was a relaxing experience. The staff made the resort. It was our first trip to St Thomas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Great hotel right on a beach

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Hotel staff was friendly during check in. Misplaced our reservation so they gave us a free room upgrade. Outdated decor and some fixtures, but the rooms were a decent size with nice furniture. Great concierge that will plan excursions for you, but they did misplace that reservations also. Great use of nonmotorized water craft and beach towels for resort stayers. Overall a nice hotel when you look past the outdated decor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Jun 3, 2017
We really enjoyed the atmosphere and friendly service of Iggie's bar and grill.