Ratings based on 1,545 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hidden Fees

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Beware of the hidden "$45 a day resort fees" you find out about the morning of your check out. Per hotel staff, these fees are for 2 bottles of water you receive daily from the maids, using towels, chairs and umbrellas by the pool, the spotty Wi-Fi they say is free, fitness classes whether you participate in them or not, snorkel gear and kayaks that they never tell you you have access to, among with a slew of other ridiculous things. Never in my life has a hotel/resort charged me for sitting on chairs they have by the pool, because it is not like they were the cabanas you knowingly had to pay for to reserve. This hotel has a knack for secret charges and charged my credit card without me knowing or approving, for services never rendered to me. It took me the entire week length of my stay to get my money back. The hotel staff even tried to say that I was charged extra fees because Expedia did not pay them, which is so big of a lie in and of itself. The fact that this hotel does not openly mention that the snorkel gear and kayaks are "free" to use is egregious. Mainly because they really sell their snorkeling and kayaking excursions that you have to pay for! Stay away from the buffet dinner cruise on the cat, unless you like your buffet coming out of small crock pots that only allowed people to eat once. Never in my life will I stay in this resort again, as there are plenty of other better places that do not blindside others.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Staten Island, NY

The good and bad of our trip.

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Pros: Most of the staff was phenomenal and the room was clean. Although the menus at the restaurants were limited, the food was very good.
Cons: The menu could be expanded a little and some of the staff could be a little more personal.
Location: The location was good and we didn't really do much off the property.
For the most part our experience was very good. The hotel was very nice and the "native" staff was awesome. Some of the other staff tended to be "business-like".
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

The Hotel is Outdated and Unclean

Posted Sep 4, 2017
I moved from the Marriott to the Ritz Carlton - best move I made to make our vacation the best!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel but a bit pricey on food and cocktails

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Nice hotel with friendly staff but be prepared to pay a great deal to eat. Each meal for two people averaged $60 a person even breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Eh

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Hotel is dated. The one floor smelled like a wet dog. The $45/day resort fee is insane since most people don't use half the things covered in the fee. The fact that you can't even get a towel after 5pm is just crazy. The food at the hotel is disgusting, cold, and overpriced. $25 for breakfast buffet. This should be covered in the resort fee seeing as everyone eats. Overall, I was disappointed with my stay here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Beautiful Resort

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Pros: The amenities.
Cons: Breakfast should be included in the stay. The restaurants should have way better food and lower prices.
My husband and I had a wonderful vacation. Our room was very comfortable and spacious. The beach and pools were amazing! The staff was friendly and helpful. The location was more than ideal. The only complaint I would have is that the food in their four restaurants was not very good and it was way overpriced. There is a resort fee for each day you are there which I feel should include a complimentary breakfast.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from georgia

Just ok

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Nice hotel and 4 property owned restaurants onsite. Customer service was disappointing. The staff act like the customer is an inconvenience. Food is very overpriced.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Experience at the Marriott in St Thomas

Posted Aug 31, 2017
We stayed in the Frenchman Reef section of the hotel. During our stay we had dinner at the Aquaterra that was classified as Italian food. I was rather disappointed to find a small selection on the menu. We had very little hot water for showers on certain days. I think this was due to the number of guest in the building. Overall we loved the resort and accommodations. This was our second trip here. The cab companies seem to have a monopoly on fares. To go to red hook area was $10 a person each way. That's $40 to go there for dinner.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nevada

Hotel , Staff

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: The beach
Cons: Customer Service
Location: Nice restaurants about 10 minutes from the hotel.
Hotel was ok average Hotel Manager needs to provide his staff Customer Service classes. The beach at the hotel was great ( I like beaches with waves). Food in the hotel was ok average.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Saint thomas island

Right on beach

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Excellent staff and great hotel location. Right on beach.