Ratings based on 121 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: near where I needed to be.
Stained sheets, tub not draining, iron is messed up, smells bad. dirty hallway/stairs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 10, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Sorry for the experience. We are working on it. All will be fixed soon. Hope see you in near future.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 8, 2016
Had to pay cash for late check-out 10.00 per hour
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Reserved a smoking room, was placed in a room that was clearly a smoking room as it smelled of cigarettes and there were cigarette burns all over the carpet. We were awoken in the morning to an angry employee telling me that we were in a non smoking room, and that they were going to charge me $250 for smoking in the room. It was resolved when they checked my reservation, but the attitude from the female morning employee was not needed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
average
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

A nuclear explosion could only help this place

Posted Sep 26, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: We are no longer there and we didn't bring home any bugs.
Cons: Scraping it from the landscape and starting over would be a huge improvement. The young woman who worked there did her best to be accommodating.
Location: It was just a stopping point for us. We got there, went to bed and got up at 2:45 to drive to the airport. We did not have time to enjoy the area.
Suffolk appears to be a small but growing town. Most commercial real estate around the Super 8 is new. However, this property appears to be untouched or improved since the 70s. It is set down off the road next to water. It appears as though it is condemned because there are no cars, windows are open and drapes blowing in the breeze. We found out why. The place smells like a smoky bowling alley. The Super 8 sign is so old, it's barely yellow and not in good repair. The side entrance from the parking lot swings in the breeze allowing any transient to walk in. The card reader has been ripped from the door and the door won't even fasten shut. It just stays wide open.The owners have made a minor attempt to improve the interior by painting the rooms and redoing at least our bathroom. If you put lipstick on a pig, it's still a pig! The hallway carpet was red and navy blue and is probably the original. It was black with filth and matted down. The hallways stunk of age and dirt. The highlight of our room was the air conditioning/heating unit. The switch did not work. It was inoperable and loose and just spun in circles like the spinner in a Twister game. The unit was dirty and grate broken in pieces. You had to plug it in to get it to come on and it neither heated nor cooled. My husband got up in the middle of the night because our room was hot and he nearly burned his hand unplugging the unit. The cord was also very hot. Imagine what would've happened if we got up at 8 instead of 3?
3 out of 5
by paul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Niya from Charlotte, NC

Would never stay here on purpose

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
Went threw Hotwire.com to get the room for the first night. Had to stay another night but got charged for 3 nights. Two of the nights where charged by the hotel. The owner (Patel) then agrgueed and yelled at use telling us that he wasn't gonna refund HIS money. The sheets, carpets, towels, mattress and lamp shades had stains on them and the floor had a hole in it. The only ice machine in the hotel was out of order. The room was very hot when we arrived. It smelled like mildew and smoke. The whole entire hotel smelled like smoke. We asked for a non smoking room because nither of us smoke and we had our 2 year old with us. This hotel isn't kid or family friendly at all. It looked like it catered to thugs and drug dealers.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ladson, SC

It's ok

Posted Aug 29, 2016
It's okay for the price. But some rooms had a odor. Our room sounded like it was next a washing machine. The toilet had problems flushing. The ice machine was down. But the bed was conformable. AC & tv was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from O

unpleasant stay

Posted Aug 25, 2016 on Orbitz
Hotel smelled bad and was in general disrepair. Broken door knobs, leaky AC unit, broken ice machine...the list goes on.