Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Uk

Nice Stay

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Friendly reception staff & easy checkin, comfortable room, lots of hot water and comfy beds. Room looks slightly dated & needs new carpet/curtains to improve the room. Breakfast was very good plenty of choice, coffee could have done with being hotter but overall very good.
4 out of 5
by Stephen from Milton Keynes

Quirky but nice.

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
It's generally speaking, a nice hotel. The staff are friendly and polite. However, don't expect modern and brand new throughout. That being said, it has character. Just needs a bit of a spruce.
4 out of 5
by Kemeil from Sheffield

Wedding stay

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
Stayed for a wedding and the venue was lovely and the staff very friendly. There was a little problem with my room rate as I used my rewards points and was asked to pay but the issue was dealt with in a professional manner. I would definitely stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Convenient location for the Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: The kitchen
Location: N/A
We arrived and were pleased with the location and the initial impression was good. No convenient restaurant nearby so had a meal at the hotel. Service was very slow, no comment on the food was invited. We ordered a well done and medium rare steak both of which were dry and very much overcooked, the accompanying chips/french fries were cooked in oil which had been scorched and had a burned taste . The deserts did not match the menu and appeared to be from a packet served with no finesse. We were hungry and ate the meal but should have complained at the time. Following this experience we omitted breakfast.
3 out of 5
by Damian from Huddersfield

Decent hotel but avoid eating there

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
Fairly pleasant hotel. Nice staff. Nice room. Shower head was set at its highest at 5ft so couldn't get my head under without bending down which was strange. never had that in a hotel before. When I arrived in my room there was a mint right in the middle of the floor. Other than that the room was tidy. Restaurant was very poor. Choice was limited to 4 dishes per course or the bar menu which only had a couple of dishes on. Ordered a steak which was not cooked correctly at all. Also there was cutlery on the floor. Breakfast was good. Plenty to choose from and all good quality.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Lovely staff

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Could do with updating but outweighed by friendly & helpful staff
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 29, 2015
The hotel met my needs for the duration of my stay. The staff were really helpful. The room was very clean.
1 out of 5
by Steve from Chester

Tired, dated, in some disrepair

Posted Aug 3, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is dated and tired with masking tape holding a lot of carpet together. It is clean and the staff are reasonably friendly but the beds are terrible and I was awoken at 0410 by the water pipes screeching like a banshee. Lasted about 20 minutes and made the whole stay awful
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Co Durham

Lovely location near canal and nature reserves

Posted Jun 23, 2015
Relaxing and nice food. Rural location near motorway.
1 out of 5
by Barry from International

Overpriced and overrated

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Overpriced and overrated, family room was very small and dated and a long way away from the car park, so was a struggle with young kids and bags. Bed was very hard, no hotel information in the room, no room service menus, overall a VERY basic hotel. Bathroom was very clean, that's about the only good point.