Ratings based on 173 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
2.1 Room cleanliness
2.6 Service & staff
2.1 Room comfort
2.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by Tom

DON'T stay here!

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
The room, bathrooms, and all other common areas were all filthy. The place is falling apart, and the ceiling fan was so full of dirt and dust I didn't even want it spinning. The only thin impressive about the place is the elegant old elevator. The staff is nice and they are helpful and their rates are competitive but otherwise there is nothing that makes this place worth patronizing. Don't stay here, and tell all your friends to stay away. There are plenty of other good places to stay at the same price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good location, old building, horrible condition

Posted Feb 13, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: location
Cons: Cleanliness, general up keep of building
Location: sdf
beds awful, I actually chose to sleep on the unvacuumed floor rather than the mattress hot water in showers was not working & we were not told when checking in Sure it's only a backpackers but I expected more9
2 out of 5
by amirhossein

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was the worst hostel which I've ever been in Australia, it was dirty, the staff were really rude and arrogant and very loud during the nights, they were really annoying especially at night. the refrigerator was really frustrating every time you have to look for your cool bag and finally i missed it. it was small in proportion of the population in hostel.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Worst hostel I've stayed at

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Orbitz
Dirtiest hostel ever. I had to check out early because bed bugs bit my entire back and one toilet was available for 30 people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Basic maintanence needed in rooms and common areas.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location. Average hostel.

Posted Oct 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great location - 10 minute walk into city. Room standard for hostel - squeaky bed and wifi only downstairs. Building work on our floor so rubble in hallway and plans of wood everywhere. Bathrooms clean. Acceptable for a few nights but very basic and staff blasé
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible plate to stay, under construction

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Pros: Location, and easy access to city.
Cons: The services in general have a lack of control over their activities, some just look like visitors, they don't have uniforms.
Location: Parks, CBD, Museums, etc.
Bathrooms under repair, toilets not for use, internet only on the ground, workers performing repairings/painting at nights, smell to fresh paint inside the room, mess over the stairs, halls not suitable for customers, neither the stairs. This place must be closed for service, repaired and then open again after a check on building conditions and service check. I had to cancel my original stay of four nights to just one.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good for a bed

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
dorm room was full of anti social long term tradies. so it was only worth having a snooze and socialising elsewhere. shower doors were broken but good water pressure/ hot water
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short walk from the CBD

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Good location - short walk from the CBD. But dirty overall, but this maybe due to the work going on at the time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

A last resort if you're on a tight budget

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Wotif
Cons: Considering the rates you're charging, not a whole lot.
As the old saying goes: "you get what you pay for." So I guess I can't really complain too much about this place considering how cheap the booking was. But I do have a few comments. The interior of the building was like walking through a home renovation site: bare floorboards (walking through one area upstairs almost felt like you could fall through the floor at any moment) power tools and rubbish bins lying around ...not the most hospitable atmosphere I've come across to be sure. The rooms and bathrooms themselves were relatively clean at least. The staff were unfortunately only borderline competent and were virtually inept of any real people skills. To make matters worse, our bedding was not yet ready at the time we checked in. And when we returned to reception several hours later to pick them up, they were still not ready... Disappointing. It was just as well my friend spoke German, because the late-night receptionist's English was very basic and could barely understand our (second) request for bedding.