Ratings based on 1,304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Property in downtown Taos

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: See experience section
Location: Oktoberfest at the ski area was fantastic. Trading Post Cafe is excellent, don't miss eating at this place.
Overall the look of the resort is nice. I would be lying if I didn't say I was a bit disappointed in the rooms in relation to how the property appears. The rooms are ok, but with a little upgrade, it could reflect the overall feel of the resort and the ambiance of Taos. There were folger containers with cigarette butts lined outside the rooms but yet the rooms are nonsmoking, so no need for these, or get classy with a few but tasteful containers. Take out the carpet and put down solid floors with an area rug. Easy to replace area rugs. Add some color, think Southwest. Windows are single pane and need to upgrade to double pane. Saw several rooms where the windows were broken and covered from the inside. Pay attention to the little details and clean those areas. Small changes would go a very long way. Again, great property and initial outside appearance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale

horrible wifi.

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: nothing
Dirty, dingy,. Door mat had large hole in it. Soap smelled awful. I could go on but won't.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Good value

Posted Sep 16, 2016
No coffee supplied with coffee machine. Internet didn't work in our room. Had to go to lobby. Otherwise not bad. A bit jaded
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Clean but very old. Overpriced for what we got.

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Pros: The room was clean and located close to where we wanted to stay. The brew pub next door was great.
Cons: Everything needs to be updated. Wires coming from baseboard heater to an outlet made us feel like a fire might start in our room. Really old windows.
Location: Brew pub next door was great. It was raining so we didn't walk as far as planned.
Although clean, the room and facility in general need some major updating. The wiring in the room was of concern (see improvements) and the windows were from the 50s or 60s. No fan in the bathroom so we had to open the window after 3 showers and there wasn't a screen on the window. The water pressure was very low and the toilet ran off and on all night on its own. We reserved the room for 3 guests but only had 2 towels and 1 washcloth. After 2 requests and over 3 hours, we finally had a towel for each guest. We used the 50% off breakfast coupons because it was close although reviews weren't great. One ordered oatmeal and toast and 2 ordered breakfast burritos. The burritos were good but the oatmeal came warm, not hot and had a hard glob the size of an egg that had to be removed. They forgot the toast and once the waiter was finally waved down, our breakfast was pretty much finished. We believe the price for the room was high for what we received. They need to take some of their profits and perform some MAJOR renovations. Paint, new carpet and towels won't fix the issues we had here. For the most part, the employees are doing the best with what they have to work with.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very clean and comfortable and nicely located

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Clean comfortable fine location.
Cons: the tv service could be better
Location: Many sites and restaurants and music venues and of course the magnificent scenery.
We stayed at the Kachina Lodge during the night of the 14th Annual Michael Hearne Big Barn Dance and a family reunion in Taos. Clean, comfortable and nicely located. Highly recommended.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Albuquerque, NM

Internet

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Cons: WIFI
Tried several times to log on to the internet. It says that I was connected, however no internet connection occurred. They have no WIFI connection. Also where we we located there were several maintenance crews staying there and became quite noisy in the evening. On Friday night they were still talking at 2:30 AM. Front desk closes at 9 PM
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Fabulous hotel. It's a bit old but well maintained. The rooms are quite large and clean.Everyone is friendly and the breakfast is nice since it is cooked to order. But the location is what will keep me coming back. All other "budget" hotels are not within walking distance of the main part of Taos. It is perfectly situated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Keep your socks on!

Posted Sep 4, 2016
Pros: Not much. I guess it was available on short notice...now I know why.
Cons: Pretty much everything, particularly the rooms. Staff was some what helpful, but not overwhelming.
Location: Good location; easy walk to the plaza.
Have not stayed at the Kachina in a number of years, but decided to give it a try. Not much positive to report. The rooms are very tired and need a complete refresh. Bathroom was not inviting and the A/C never made it into the room; great job in the Bathroom/Closet. Fan made so much noice, could not hear the TV, but at least the TV worked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Bring your cleaning supplies

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: The pool was heavenly and very well cared for
Cons: Cleanliness of room and hotel night desk staff.
Location: Great location
The room was very large, but not well kept. Bathroom was filthy and dirty sheets left on the bed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central Texas

GREAT VALUE

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: PRICE.On the main drag. Shops in walking distance, Rooms clean. grounds clean. offered a demo pow wow. they got everyone up to dance .Was Great
Cons: Nothing
Location: Martyrs Steak house was nice. Have the prime rib on Fridays!
Although the Inn is older it was very clean. Grounds were very clean and the staff was on top of everything. I will stay there again. There is a "Breakfast" at the hotel and other shops in walking distance. It was a spur of the moment trip and we got this room online. It was just what we needed. I would recommend this facility. Its huge, lots of rooms... 2 story. it took up quite a bit of real estate! be sure to wear comfy shoes!!