Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but breakfast can be more fresh..

Posted Jan 21, 2018 on Hotels
I had a good stay at Grand Hotel Duca D'Este although the variety of breakfast and ambience can be improved. The hallways are painted dark red which is kind of creepy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Missouri

Italy vacation to visit Rome

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Pros: Very nice Italian hotel with very nice staff who could speak English.
Cons: Having breakfast and dinner hours earlier, or having option to take something with us. Breakfast did not start until 0700 and dinner at 1930.
Location: Casino across the street, which we did not visit.
We stayed at this hotel because some friends of ours said we should stay in Tivoli for our visit to Rome. The hotel was not in Tivoli proper, but 8 km west and 20km east of Rome. Tivoli was definitely a beautiful town. We could catch the bus stop at the hotel to go either direction. To get to Rome we took the bus to the metro. It was about an hour trip to get to Rome. The traffic closer to Rome was very busy city traffic with construction on the roads closer to the metro.
4 out of 5
by Giacomo

Relaxing stop in Tivoli

Posted Dec 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comfort and quiet room. Very good breakfast.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2017
Dear guest, thank you for choosing us! We are very glad to see your review. We hope to see you again in our hotel. Best regards
5 out of 5
by Husam

Husam Hamdan

Posted Sep 1, 2017 on Hotels
Great place and friendly stuff
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing, unfriendly and smelly experience

Posted Aug 1, 2017
very poor sewage system, the whole hotel and area smells worse than a public toilet. Even had to turn off the AC to stop the smell coming in the room unfriendly and racist manager, who separated the group of black guests from the white guest at breakfast and took them to another part of the hotel ripped towels by the pool side! Not 4* experience! It doesn't even deserve 2 stars. Lift was out of service! The list goes on
5 out of 5
by Rocco

Excellent comfortable stay

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent hotel, clean and comfortable rooms, great breakfast buffet, a good value, friendly knowledgable staff. Definite recommend. I plan on staying here each time I come to Rome. Wifi is a little spotty but strong when it's working, surrounding area is not tje bedt but transportation is readily available to the center.
4 out of 5
by andrew from los angeles

Posted Jul 31, 2016 on Hotels
Difficult to access from autostrada. Difficult driving conditions on streets. Same problems would exist for all other hotels in this vicinity
1 out of 5
by Rickie from Corinth Maine

Posted Nov 3, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel presented well but they did not have our reservation at first and tried to convince us to pay for another room. After I pulled the confirmation up on my phone they went to their computer and found our reservation. The room they gave us was nice to look at until my husband pulled back the blankets and the sheets were torn. The restaurant gave us packaged oil and pepper upon our request which was very strange being in Italy and the tables around us had bottled oil and fresh ground pepper. I am not sure if it was because we were American or not.
4 out of 5
by John from Dublin

Good hotel for overnight stop

Posted Oct 17, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here overnight on a car journey from Naples to Florence, so the availability of free parking was a major factor in our choice of hotel. We also wanted to visit Villa Adriana, some 10 km away. The hotel has good grounds and a large pool, but the weather wasn't good enough for us to use them. The hotel is large, with plenty of common areas, and is furnished in way that seems intended to convey a sense of opulence - a bit outdated, but otherwise fine. Staff were helpful, especially the Head Waiter in the dining room, where food was good and portions were large. Our room was also large, and we were "upgraded" to one at the back, which had a view over the gardens and pool. We were very satisfied with this hotel, and would use it again for an overnight stop. However, we would probably not choose it for a long stay.
5 out of 5
by Ray from Maui, Hawaii

The best of 6 hotels we stayed at throughout Italy

Posted Sep 23, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is very clean and we were very comfortable in the room as well as lounging in the lobby area. They have a large lap pool out back and a fitness center downstairs in the spa area. The staff is Wonderful and they speak English pretty good. They were all friendly and helpful with a smile. They made us feel welcome. This hotel has a fabulous restaurant just downstairs. Their food is 5 star, reasonably priced and the menu changes daily so we never got bored eating there.. The breakfast was very good as well. The neighborhood is not very attracting, however, I gave it a high rating as there is a bus stop right across the street and a suoermarket right next door with a small strip mall and a pharmacy a short walk away. We felt the nightly price was very reasonable. I highly recommend anyone staying here.