Scary, isolated, understaffed, unfriendly, unsafe!
Posted May 21, 2016 on Hotels
The resort is clearly in disuse! The management is extremely understaffed, calls to the front desk are mostly unanswered, the few staff are extremely unhelpful, the restaurant and kitchen were never functioning and locked while we were there, over grown shrubs and bushes, the pool is dark and not maintained, TV and electrical outlets were burnt out (thankfully, they replaced the TV, but only one day after we moved in), overall a feeling of being unsafe and isolated. While some may like the isolation of the place and being out in the wilderness by the sea, this is definitely not safe for families, especially with children and elders! Simple accessories like coffee, tea, sugar were not provided in the room and we were refused when we asked for it. Toiletries were never replenished. The beach is clean, but lots of seaweed, but no complaints there... nature! But it takes a good 25 minutes to drive to this place through an extremely desolate stretch of unpaved road - The Millennium Highway. For the $500/- per night we paid, expected to get a much better deal.
Comment from Hotel Management
by Management, Hotel Management
This time of year tends to be on the quiet side, the resort itself is a self contained condo, it is up to the guest to rent a car and make arrangements for supplies ( coffee, light meals, snacks etc ). The resort is ideal for those that prefer a quiet, tranquil vacation. We have had thousands of guests find the resort to be ideally suited for those that are comfortable away from thousands of tourists. I recommend you research the destination of choice and select a property that is more suited to your style. The pool is lovely at night and our property is very well lit with 24 house security. Our staff have been well appointed and recognized for doing a wonderful job by several guests. The resort is located on a national marine park, we clearly stipulate in the description where it is located on the island and it is quite obvious it is remote, quiet, very very safe, tranquil, and well appointed. it is unfortunate that you didn't research the destination and choice of accommodation. During your stay you did not mention anything about your experience,..had we been aware,.. we would have gladly relocated you.