Ratings based on 861 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Excellent facility. professional staff. Great amenities.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Sands at Grace Bay

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: La struttura nuova e ben tenuta
Soggiorno molto gradevole in struttura tranquilla ma elegante e ben attrezzata
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tolland, CT

Great location

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: Self contained condo with full kitchen facilities.
Cons: Two stove burners did not work.
Location: Walking distance to many shops, restaurants, a local grocery store and of course, miles of beach.
The Sands at Grace Bay was a delight. It is steps from the beach, has 3 pools, a hot tub, lots of water activity options including a Hobie Cat, stand up paddle boards, snorkeling equipment and kayaks.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Don't believe what the pictures show on Expedia

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: The staff is friendly, and they seem as if they want to help, but may be slow to get to your needs
Cons: The hotel rooms need to be remodeled and upgraded for the basic needs.
Location: It is in the middle of Grace bay, a wonderful beach and area with plenty of bars and restaurants.
We purchased the garden view. Not one of the online pics on Expedia show our type of room. Very old and beat up. The bed had a broken leg on it and was never fixed. We awoke night number two to a bad sewer smell coming up from the drains at 2am. We moved to a smaller and older room, even worse. The light in the bathroom was broken and the fixture so old the bulb could not be replaced. It took 2 days to get the broken hairdryer replaced. A very basic room, and from the pictures we were expecting something much nicer. The grounds are nice, landscapers always working on them. The water they use for the plants seems to be secondary somewhat cleaned up septic tank water, it has that sewage smell to it. You smell it every morning when you walk through to the beach after they water. Don't trust the ice cubes from Hemingway's restaurant, they may make your stomach upset if it is sensitive.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by The Sands , Hotel Management
Dear Chris, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences and your kind feedback regarding our landscaping and staff. We were sorry to learn we were not as timely with to any calls you may have made for repairs and apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced as a result. Your feedback was shared with our management team. Regarding watering the plants, indeed we reuse water on the Island to be environmentally green, and given that we have very little rainfall. It usually does not have an odor, however we did have to correct this concern and since then have had no issues. We are pleased to announce that we are refurbishing our rooms this summer which will be our living rooms, dining rooms, kitchens and patio/balconies. As for Hemingway’s ice, all of our water comes from the Providenciales City Water supply which goes through a reverse osmosis process. Some water may taste differently and act different to persons when travelling. It is completely safe and tested regularly by city officials. We hope that we may have the opportunity to welcome you back to Turks and Caicos in the future. Yours sincerely, Mona Beeson General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
The bellman took my suitcase to room and laughing and joking with the maids along the way and telling me how all the women loved him, then in my room, proceeded to sit down on chair until my husband came in and he promptly got up, felt uncomfortable. We called front desk for an ice bucket and ice and we never received it. The furniture felt so saggy and well worn out and paint chipping off various places and it overall just felt very nasty. We could hardly wait to leave in the morning. Our friends stayed there as well in another room and took a picture of a roach crawling around the ceiling, yuk. We would never, never stay there again and were so happy to leave. This is the first bad review of a resort that I have ever given but you need to know to take better care of your property and train your staff a lot better.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2016 by The Sands, Hotel Management
Dear Peggy, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We appreciate the time you took to let us know of your experiences. We were sorry to learn of the issues you experienced and apologize for any inconveniences you may have had as a result. We usually take pride in the services and product we provide and regret your experience was not a good one. I have shared your feedback with our entire management team. If time permits, would you be able to provide us further details such as your room number so that we may have the opportunity to take corrective actions. Yours sincerely Mona Beeson General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Great location

Posted May 4, 2016
Sands is in a great location easy access to the Salt Mill (shopping), grocery and liquor store. The beach access and tiki huts are a plus and of course the view of the water is priceless. This a family friendly resort - however there were way too many children for us. We have grown kids and we don't mind being at a resort with kids. However there was no pool that was just for children so when sitting poolside you got the jumping, crying and whining. We opted for the beach - which was beautiful. As for the staff - we found 80% to be friendly however the front desk which to me is your first and last impression - was the least friendly. They seemed like it was a chore to answer questions , check us in and out. It wasn't that HI WELCOME to Sands. At one time there were 3 people at the desk. One person was on the phone and the other 2 were speaking to each other - it took a minute or 2 for them to address me. and that happened 3, yes 3 times. The island is costly to eat and I found it strange that our hotel never offered a happy hour. We left to eat and drink at several others. Hemmingways did have great food though. The welcome party was for an hour - it was nice and had great music and that staff too was very welcoming.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel for the money. Good location.

Posted May 1, 2016
Overall good experience. Some criticism for have very poor quality bikes for guest. In disrepair. Also, some place around hotel smelled of sewage.
5 out of 5
by Marc

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Amazing Beach and Hotel!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
We spend a week at sands bay hotel, this was the best vacation our life. Hotel staff are really kind and helpful at anytime, from the front desk to the pool and beach team everyone is great! The beach is the most beautiful I've seen, very clean and relaxing. Location is great - walk distance to anything you need like supermarket and all the great restaurants on Sand Bay. We've been in many hotels in the US and Mexico but seriously can't find good enough words to describe this place. See you back in August!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, beautiful beach

Posted Apr 16, 2016
Overall the hotel and beach were wonderful. Beautiful water and wonderful drinks served on the beach or by the pool. Beware if you ask for a second bedroom with two twin beds. I am pretty sure they do not exist. We requested one with no luck at check in. As we were leaving an arriving family was having the same problem. Another area for improvement is their sprinkler system...it seems to be connected to waiste water. If you are out on your balcony and the sprinklers start you will be forced inside due to the odor. This was very unpleasant. Other than these two issues The Sands was great.