Ratings based on 499 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Not a four star hotel, but very clean

Posted Mar 31, 2018
The hotel overall is ok not a four star though! We picked this hotel due to its location and how close it is to everything. There were two staff members on reception who were very friendly a young man and a girl with long brown hair-these two were great. Breakfast staff were great also,the rest let the hotel down. Our room was dark and smelt like sewers big very clean. Asked to be moved and they forgot and didn’t help!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Rome trip

Posted Mar 28, 2018
This hotel was in a nice location. Close to the Vatican and walking distance to many beautiful sites and shopping. Lovely hotel with calm relaxing atmosphere. Delicious breakfast was including which was a great start to the day.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely hotel

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
The hotel was great, the staff fantastic. Breakfast was average, but ok. Dinner at the restaurant was a highlight. Food and service both top marks! The only thing for us was the lack of convienient stores and restaurants in the area - though it is close to the Vatican.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the Metro station, nice breakfast. BUT

Posted Nov 14, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and location
Cons: Clean bathrooms thoroughly, enforce non smoking policy, and replace beds.
Picked this hotel for the location, just a block away from the Metro and breakfast was included. However, the overall hotel stay was disappointing. Our first room, 110 was up several stairs which meant all four pieces of our luggage up stairs. Once we entered the room, we were greeted by an overwhelming smell of smoke. I opened the window and found several cigarettes in the flower box. I choose to advise the front desk as I didn't want to be charged of smoking in the room. Our next room was not initially smelling of smoke and we moved in. Once in there within an hour we smelled smoke, others in the rooms were smoking and noticeable in our room. The bathroom was not very clean, the shower head and door were covered in calcium or limescale. The ceiling and corners had black mold. The bed was very hard and not comfortable at all. I would have advised the front desk however, we were pressed for time in the morning. The front desk female who checked us in and changed our room, was kind and the breakfast was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointed for the price per night

Posted Oct 3, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Nothing really.
Cons: Management and may be better English speaking front staff will help.
Location: Near Vatican
We were so tired when we checked in late Sunday night after travelling from Barcelona. Check in was easy, there wasn't any problems at all. The problem started when we get into the room when we found out the AC was not working and the room smell. We called the staff and let them know that the AC is not working. They came and tried to turn it on. The AC wouldn't turn on. We requested another room, the front desk said there is no other rooms available that big enough for three of us. Believe it or not, we had to walk out of the hotel looking for another Hotel in the middle of the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, close to Vatican City

Posted Sep 20, 2017 on Ebookers
Standard double room was modest in size but reasonably comfortable. Room decor slightly tired but pleasant. Bathroom was stylish but needed a little TLC with regard to fixtures and fittings. Restaurant was top class with wonderful staff. Really handy to have had an on-site restaurant / bar after a busy day of sightseeing. Roberto, in particular, was very friendly and a brilliant host. Breakfast was a small hot / cold buffet with a good selection of food / drinks available.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location and lovely staff!

Posted Sep 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Location was perfect and so close to the station nothing was far. The staff were only accommodating and kind
Location: Vatican is 10 mins walk away By metro only 15-20 ride away to Colloseum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc
Great location, very close to station and easy walk to Vatican and short train ride away to all other sights. Breakfast options were great, staff very friendly and happy to help. Very happy to recommend!
2 out of 5
by Roger

Not a 4 Star Hotel Really Bad Area.

Posted Sep 16, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this hotel last minute assuming as it was next to the Vatican it would be ok. We couldn't have been more wrong. The hotel itself claims to be a 4 star but is pushed to offer the services of a 3 star. The decor was tasteless, cheap and tacky despite what there pictures may show. You can hear the people both above and next door to you taking a shower which makes your room sound like it's flooding when they are both being used at the same time. The hotel has a strange obsession with fish and the lobby always smells of it. On arrival the receptionist didn't seem very well trained and fumbled about trying to get us checked in. On the first night we went to get a drink at the bar and we're shown to a dirty table covered in wine stains and crumbs despite there being dozens of other tables free. It looked like they were trying to setup for breakfast at 8pm at night. We just walked out without buying a drink. Across from the hotel is the city's courthouse which means that undesirables are hanging around the hotel all day and night. One even smashed the hotel door while we were there. The only positive thing to say is that it is a short walk to the Vatican. There is nothing else to do around the hotel at night. No iron in the room but they say they will get you one and don't bother. The towel rail is in the shower so they end up soaked and if you put the towels on the floor to be replaced they just hang them back up. The bedding wasn't changed All week
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
Great hotel, great service! Staff was helpful and accommodating!
4 out of 5
by Mathew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 7, 2017 on Hotels