Ratings based on 658 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calif

I'm sure there are better rooms

Posted May 23, 2016
Pros: Nice staff and grounds. The staff tries hard for what they have to work with.
Cons: Everything, the place is becoming run-down. Electrical code violations in the room. It could be a much better hotel.
Location: Duke's Griddle 'n Grill and fishing on a chartered boat.
The initial check-in experience was disappointing because of an issue I created by requesting a ground floor room instead of the original room reserved which was not on the ground floor when I checked in about an hour early. It took an additional hour and a half to get the room cleaned by housekeeping. The reason I requested the change was that I realized that when I got there at the hotel it looked like the ingress/egress in the elevators would be difficult with rod and reels for a fishing trip which I explained, as well as the fact that both my brother and I are disabled and needed the easy ingress/egress. Nothing major, just can't walk up and down stairs. Got the room about 45 minutes after check-in. Loved the $10 a day parking fee. And proceeded to a room that I would normally pay about half the amount that was charged for this room. Oh and one other thing. I asked for a Band-Aid and was told that would be $2.15, wow.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from R

Not that great

Posted May 20, 2016
Shower water went from hot to cold every 3 minutes! They tested the fire alarms without telling anyone (I was there with my 8 month old and 4 year old...SCARY)!!! The hotel itself was just loud!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Adequate hotel located near the Marina & boatyard.

Posted May 16, 2016
Pros: The proximity to the Marina is about the only recommendation.
Cons: The staff need to be better trained in customer service. The AC unit needs to be quieter.
Location: The Marina is nice but the Ventura Harbor Village is nowhere near as upscale as the name would suggest.
The check-in clerk spoke so rapidly that we could hardly understand her. She didn't ask us for our room preference and we ended up in a room with a view of construction fencing--totally unacceptable for the cost of the room. The air conditioner was loud and obtrusive. The restaurant was pleasant with a nice view. Ventura Harbor Village is an easy mile walk but the facility is old and tired.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great staff, hotel tired.

Posted May 8, 2016
Staff were great, able to answer questions. Room was huge but tired and felt dirty. Kitchen sink and cutlery was dirty and carpet was grotty.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel stay, incredible views!

Posted Apr 13, 2016
Great staff, very friendly and accommodating. Convenient location, large, well appointed room, solid wifi. Definitely will stay there again during my next business trip
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ocean view. Friendly staff

Posted Apr 8, 2016
Our stay was too short since We would have loved to use the jacuzzi and beach. Pillows could be softer friendly staff
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Looks promising but doesn't fulfill

Posted Apr 1, 2016
Pros: I liked the staff, the peaceful, beautiful location, room size, the big nice bathroom and the bed (comfortable!).
Cons: To improve: room maintenance, bugs in room, wifi.
Location: Location overlooks the boat harbor and is very peaceful. To do nearby is boating, fishing, miles of beaches, surfing and the quaint central city.
Good points: The hotel staff were friendly and wonderful—all of them. The room was generally very clean (see bugs under cons). The location is nice and peaceful. The garden is lush and pretty except that there are a lot of bare dirt areas along the edges. Possibly that's for water savings but it is an eyesore and some solution should be found for dirt patches. The room was large and the bathroom was big and very nice. The restaurant meal was very good, if a bit expensive for what was served. Cons: Possibly our room location was a poor one as we expected a view of the harbor (that's why we picked the hotel) but had only the view of a patch of bare dirt and some garden. Roughly half the rooms are so placed but there was no indication of this when we made reservations. When we arrived in the room, three lamps had no bulbs. (This was quickly handled when we asked.) One lamp was broken and could only be turned on and off by screwing and unscrewing the light bulb. There was a dead spider in the bed between the sheets and two other bugs were found (alive) during our two-day stay. It should be noted that the room was otherwise quite clean. The free coffee was very poor quality. My biggest complaint was that the wifi was intermittent and weak, frustratingly so. I found I had to walk the long distance to the lobby in order for my emails to actually send. When we brought it up to the front desk, they had the wifi reset but that did not improve the signal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Mar 13, 2016
The hotel is old and they are renovatin which is annoying but you can't blame them. The suite is very large and has a fireplace. The ocean view is gorgeous but close to the road. The room reminds me of a lodge and was very clean.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cupertino Ca.

very nice

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The pillows and the food.
Cons: Can't think of one thing you can improved
Location: Great location close to the beach.
Wish iI would have kept one of the pillows best pillows I have ever slept on. Can I buy on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the harbor

Posted Feb 25, 2016
Pros: I like the hotel it is nice, clean and comfortable!
Cons: Some of the staff is nice, but some are rude.
Location: The harbor, where there is shopping whale watching and restaurants.
Nice hotel staff could be rude at times. They charge for parking if you have more then one car. The only thing to do in the area is the harbor.