Ratings based on 1,290 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was good

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: The second floor rooms that were renovated even though the renovation lack of good Planning.
Cons: If doing new renovations a good architect is needed for the room planing.
Location: Easy to get downtown
The rooms we took in the 1st Floor were not as good as the one they change us in the Second floor
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Red Lion Victoria

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Great Staff, friendly and helpful. Hotel only a few minutes from downtown. Affordable - saved about $200 per night versus downtown hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Stayed for 2 nights. Room was clean and comfortable and having a kitchenette in the room made it easier for travel with kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Clean and nice hotel centrally located

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Conveniently located and clean.
Cons: Could definitely do with a properly regulated heated pool rather than a pool that assumes the temperature of the environment which what they have.
Location: Close to all the attractions Victoria is famous for including the Parliament, Butchart Gardens, Fort Rodd Hill and Fisgard Lighthouse, Hatley Castle.
We had an extremely quick and easy check in and the manager seeing that our party would fit tightly into the family room that we booked offered an upgrade to a suite at no extra cost. That was a real bonus and the fact that all of the staff was so friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico, USA

Pleasant surprise

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: You can catch a nearby bus to anywhere you need to go for a few bucks, downtown Victoria, Swarts Bay ferry terminal, etc...
One of the nicer hotels in 15 yrs of international travel. Restaurant and liquor store. Big fridge, nice kitchenette. Location is not far from downtown, transport no problem. Friendly staff w/good sense of humor. Quiet room. Met interesting travelers. All-in-all, a very positive and pleasant experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel is close to uptown mall which is nice

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: it was ok
Cons: more staff. no naked bodies. hot tub near the pool
Location: the nearby mall has restaurants, starbucks, shops and whatever you need.
I was disappointed to find a gentlemans club in the hotel as we had children visiting and they saw a naked lady going into one of the rooms. they were quite shocked. we enjoyed being near the mall and the staff was ok the cleaning staff was understaffed and over worked. so the floors in our suite were very dirty. we had wanted a two bedroom suite which was not available so our son had to sleep on a less than comfortable pull out sofa. we enjoyed the pool very much and it would be nice to have a hot tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NL

Just outside Victoria

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Free parking and on bus route to downtown. Lots of restaurants nearby as well as a mall.
Stayed 2 nights to take in sights of Victoria. Quiet and renovated rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Good for one night stay in the way to Tofino!

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Stayed for one night with my husband and three kids for a place to sleep. Beds were comfy, staff very friendly at check in, room was clean and had a little kitchenette with microwave and bar fridge. It's not in downtown, but with a car it is accessible up downtown. Also it is very close to the Uptown Mall with a Walmart Super Centre and Starbucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 17, 2017
This hotel has been updated and provides great value for the price. The rooms are small but well appointed with everything I needed in the kitchenette. If you are a cyclist or walker the Galloping Goose trail is right behind the hotel. If possible request a room at the back facing the trail as it is quiet. There is a bar/liquor store at the front and I suspect it could get noisy. The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice and clean with friendly staff

Posted Jul 15, 2017
Pros: Location, value (free parking, free WiFi, and kitchen facilities, etc. Front desk staff is super friendly.
Cons: Get rid of noisy air conditioners
Location: We had own car. On July 1, we took a taxi to downtown costing only $12 with tips.
We booked 2 rooms with 2 beds for 2 nights. Checked in went very smoothly and quick. The front desk staff is very efficient and friendly. Both rooms had been renovated with new or fairly new mattress. The built in air conditioner in one room is quite noisy. The other room has a portable air conditioner and is working well and quiet.