Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Beautiful

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: ecofriendly design, kitchen with everything to make breakfast, being one with nature
Cons: insect repellent candles?
Location: bioluminescent bay, snorkeling, kayaking
I love this place! If you are looking for tranquility in nature, this is it. The rooms are built eco friendly and open to the environment. You have all you need to make a hearty breakfast in your the kitchen. They provide fresh fruits, milk, eggs, bread, coffee, tea, etc. You can also borrow the beach chairs, beach towels, and snorkeling gear. You can watch the clouds go by or the starry night while taking a shower. I truly loved the design of the place. You might even spot some wild horses that roam around. I definitely want to stay here again. Beware, there are a lot of insects but they do provide insect repellent and a mosquito net above the bed. It is a little bit away from town, it is best to rent a car and drive around on the island.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Bob Gevinski / GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us here at Hix Island House. We look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hix-Cool Experience

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Clean. Uber cool place to unplug from a busy life. Architectually interesting.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Bob Gevinski / GM, Hotel Management
John Hix will be happy to see that you enjoyed the HIx Island House as he planned. Unplug. Rewind. Refresh.
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Posted May 31, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to leave a review. If there is anything we an do to make you stay even better next time, please let us know.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kincardine, Ontario - Canada

Amazing experience all around!

Posted Apr 28, 2017
The room was fantastic. HIX has thought of everything to make their guests' stay comfortable and unique. The pool was lovely and beautiful. Grounds are well kept and reception staff friendly, welcoming and helpful. A great assortment of fresh fruits await you in the room as well as a fridge stocked with juice, milk, eggs and jams to make breakfast on fresh bread provided in the room. This huge open concept outdoor room with outdoor shower is fabulously designed and makes for an amazing experience. We felt very safe and comfortable and enjoyed the unique experience that we were so fortunate to share as guests of HIX.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2017 by Bob Gevinski / GM, Hotel Management
Thanks for the kind words about your stay with us. We are glad you enjoyed it, and look forward to your return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arkansas

Great place to escape and relax!

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Just returned from a week away with my wife. Vieques as a destination and especially Hix Island House provided exactly what we were looking for in a vacation. Secluded enough to give us a peaceful break from the norm, but close enough to beaches, restaurants and other entertainment in case you decide to go do something. Orientation was great at check-in and the rest of the staff was attentive and helpful throughout the week.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Hix Island House GM, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Hix Island House with the Expedia community, and we hope that you will have the opportunity to visit us again in the future. Wishing you all the best!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017
Thanks for the All-Star Review!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Breezy from California

The Mixed BAG!

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Location, views, contemporary design, free extras
Cons: No Air Condition, Bugs
Location: Perfect views of the ocean from our room, wild horses in the fields with lots of fruit trees on the property.
We had mixed feelings about this hotel. Just want to give the pros and cons. Pros: Stunning views, contemporary architecture, lots of little extras like fresh eggs and bread every morning, equipment for a day at the beach. Wild horse on the property This hotel has Wow factor. Cons: No Air Condition, Bugs (but not because of dirt), Sleeping with a bug net and finally No Air Condition...
5 out of 5
by Caitlin

a unique and relaxing retreat

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
the Hix Island House was the last stop on our whirlwind tour of Puerto Rico, and it was a perfect finale to a wonderful adventure! the gorgeous surroundings speak for themselves, and the room was comfortable and had everything we needed to catch up on some much-needed relaxation. we did not do much exploring of Vieques beyond the hotel, but if we had, we would have needed a renal car. the front desk staff were very accommodating--they were gracious in helping us find transportation on the island and flexible for our later-than-expected arrival. we were only at Hix for one night and loved every minute of it! it was one of the highlights of our trip to Puerto Rico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by K.B. from West Coast

Modern, airy loft with great views.

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Unique design, great views, sustainable architecture
Cons: Open design is not for everybody
Location: On hillside in center of island with views of forests and ocean
Stayed in Loft 1 of Casa Solaris, the newest building which is completely solar powered. Unique architecture, beautiful design and great views. Well equipped and very helpful staff. Completely open design, not for everybody b/c no phone, TV, AC in room. Use of mosquito net (installed) is essential at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by noname from New York, NY

Second time; can't wait for the third!

Posted Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Making breakfast and enjoying it on our balcony
Cons: Really can't say!
Location: Anywhere you stay on the island requires a car rental; Hix House included. Easy access to Esperanza but removed enough to provide that "away" feeling
This was our second time staying at the Hix House; a wonderful experience overall! Great for the "independent" traveler; someone looking for a travel experience different from the somewhat confining feeling of an all-inclusive, all-in-one resort. The staff are wonderful.