Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by Breezy from California

The Mixed BAG!

Posted Sep 24, 2012
Pros: Location, views, contemporary design, free extras
Cons: No Air Condition, Bugs
Location: Perfect views of the ocean from our room, wild horses in the fields with lots of fruit trees on the property.
We had mixed feelings about this hotel. Just want to give the pros and cons. Pros: Stunning views, contemporary architecture, lots of little extras like fresh eggs and bread every morning, equipment for a day at the beach. Wild horse on the property This hotel has Wow factor. Cons: No Air Condition, Bugs (but not because of dirt), Sleeping with a bug net and finally No Air Condition...
5 out of 5
by Caitlin

a unique and relaxing retreat

Posted Aug 3, 2012 on Hotels
the Hix Island House was the last stop on our whirlwind tour of Puerto Rico, and it was a perfect finale to a wonderful adventure! the gorgeous surroundings speak for themselves, and the room was comfortable and had everything we needed to catch up on some much-needed relaxation. we did not do much exploring of Vieques beyond the hotel, but if we had, we would have needed a renal car. the front desk staff were very accommodating--they were gracious in helping us find transportation on the island and flexible for our later-than-expected arrival. we were only at Hix for one night and loved every minute of it! it was one of the highlights of our trip to Puerto Rico.
5 out of 5
by K.B. from West Coast

Modern, airy loft with great views.

Posted Jul 17, 2012
Pros: Unique design, great views, sustainable architecture
Cons: Open design is not for everybody
Location: On hillside in center of island with views of forests and ocean
Stayed in Loft 1 of Casa Solaris, the newest building which is completely solar powered. Unique architecture, beautiful design and great views. Well equipped and very helpful staff. Completely open design, not for everybody b/c no phone, TV, AC in room. Use of mosquito net (installed) is essential at night.
5 out of 5
by noname from New York, NY

Second time; can't wait for the third!

Posted Mar 14, 2012
Pros: Making breakfast and enjoying it on our balcony
Cons: Really can't say!
Location: Anywhere you stay on the island requires a car rental; Hix House included. Easy access to Esperanza but removed enough to provide that "away" feeling
This was our second time staying at the Hix House; a wonderful experience overall! Great for the "independent" traveler; someone looking for a travel experience different from the somewhat confining feeling of an all-inclusive, all-in-one resort. The staff are wonderful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A unique getaway

Posted Dec 29, 2011 on Hotels
All of the usual ways of grading a hotel don't apply here, or apply in a special way. This unique retreat is not for everybody, but those for whom it is right will find it magical.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Camping for adults

Posted Dec 25, 2011
Like camping for adults - unique experience but come prepared with long johns to avoid mosquitos (black robes, insect repellent and mosquito net in room were helpful but not enough for travelers unaccustomed to a semi-outdoor environment). Owners and manager are very friendly to guests and hold regular receptions.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Nov 2, 2011 on Hotels
This is probaly the most interesting hotel I have ever stayed in. So wonderful. It has no AC and no glass windows, which is why it is so great.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenixville, PA

It's paradise...

Posted May 17, 2011
I can't say enough good things about the Hix Island House. It's a little taste of paradise tucked away on Vieques Island. The place is clean and reasonably priced. They stock your room with fresh bread, fruit, eggs, juice, coffee, cereal, etc. on a daily basis. It's very close to the neighboring towns and beaches. They provide comfy smocks for you to wear (optional), but I highly recommend it. It's a wonderful place to unwind and to step outside yourself. The fact that the rooms are "open" to nature makes this retreat all the more better. If you get a chance, rent a jeep and explore the island and it's beautiful beaches. Borrow snorkel gear from the front office! And set up a Bio Bay Tour! And before you leave, ask the front desk to arrange dinner from a local woman. She'll cook you an authentic Puerto Rican dinner for $20 per person. The food is incredible. I hope you enjoy the place as much as I do. I can't wait to go back next year!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

A true getaway

Posted Apr 25, 2011 on Hotels
Hix Island House is a true getaway--an oasis from the rat race. My husband and I loved it. No TV, minimal Internet, yoga in the morning, a lovely pool. I just wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ossining, NY

Perfect accomodations

Posted Feb 3, 2011
We loved our stay at Hix Island House, and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great experience in Vieques. Open space, excellent grounds, beautiful views, and friendly and helpful staff.