Ratings based on 3,559 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thortnton

High Amenity fee!!!

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Have stayed at this hotel before. It is close to everything in Waikiki. My only negative is the so called "Daily Amenity" fee of $21 a day. Not worth $21 a day for the fee. Why not just raise the nightly price and skip this "Amenity" fee.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonoma Co, Calif

There are no bargains in Waikiki.

Posted Oct 22, 2017
Pros: "Cheap", by Waikiki standards
Cons: END THE "RESORT FEE"! Upgrade the elevators.
Location: It's at the intersection of Kuhio and Kalakaua, so there is good bus service. There are few restaurants immediately nearby, but Eggs and Things for br
There are no bargains in Waikiki. You put up with a dump like this or take out a second mortgage. It was a hike to the beach, so I went only once. I HATE "RESORT FEES"! The "amenities" this hotel offered for $20/night included ice machines! (Get it yourself, as at every motel in America.) A laundry facility where you could actually do your own laundry! A swimming pool! (Like the cheapest hotel in Memphis). Free phones (for anybody in that .0001% who doesn't yet own a cell phone.) A water bottle (one, no matter how many nights you paid the fee for). Other useless stuff like a fitness center, game room, business center, and free bicycles (whether you need them or not).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Canada

Posted Oct 18, 2017
I spent 2 nights at this hotel in October in room 911 full of cockroaches
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Detroit, MI

False $100 Charge

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Cons: Stairs to the first level. Fire hazard and safety concern. Our AC unit was also EXTREMELY noisy.
We stayed at the Ambassador hotel and overall thought the site matched it's rate. I am extremely frustrated by the false $100 charge placed on my credit card, though, which was first described as a security deposit and then later being excused as a fee for smoking in the room. We did not do so, we even had a balcony so why would we have? I was not communicated anything about this while in Hawaii but 2 months after this is the best they could do to describe the unjustified fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from gta

Pictures were deceiving

Posted Oct 13, 2017
The pictures online were obviously when from it first opened. Bathrooms needed major updating. Showers were moldy and floors too. The kitchen was unusable because it was so old. A $20 resort was ridiculous and completely a rip off.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pittsburgh pa

comfortable,clean, excellent staff

Posted Oct 10, 2017
good location food beaches with in waling distance staff excellent clean and comfortable rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2017
The vents were too.noisy, couldn't sleep. Quit making me write more stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, California

Clean, quiet hotel room

Posted Oct 6, 2017
I was a little nervous about my stay at Ambassador after reading all the reviews but I was very pleased with the room we stayed in. The room was clean, spacious, with working ACs in the bedroom and living room and the balcony was a really nice surprise. Beds were comfortable enough and the bathroom had very good lighting. Staff were nice and the concierge lady helped us plan our activities for our 5 day stay. Only bad thing was that there was no AC in the restroom which got a little hot but other wise very happy with my stay at Ambassador. Would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spring, TX

A gem in the rough.

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: The price was decent for a last minute booking, the location was decent and the City Bus stop is very close with access to Ala Moana Mall and HNL
Cons: It could be updated, the building is about 30 to 40 years and it looks like it.
Location: The Ambassador Hotel is located at the beginning of Waikiki. It is at Kalakaua and Nakahama.
We had to find a hotel at the last minute because we missed the flight to Guam. I went to my Expedia mobile APP and started looking for a place for the wife and I and we happened the Ambassador Hotel and we booked it and didn't know what to expect. The room was clean and there was a full size refrigerator and a kitchenette with cookware, glassware and utensils.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from midland, on

Not worth the money

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The room is extremely dated. The walls are all banged up the kitchen is absolutely disgusting. Oceanview should be limited as you are at least four blocks away so you can't really see it that well. I was there on my honeymoon and was given a twin bed and a single. It has a serious ant infestation in the shower doesn't drain.