Ratings based on 261 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Michigan

It looks like a HIE, but doesn't feel like one.

Posted Oct 29, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast
Cons: Hallways were very dirty
I stay at HI Express because it's clean, the beds are comfortable and the staff is nice. The outside appearance was spot on, but the hallways were cruddy! The staff was very friendly and helpful, the breakfast was good (and they put it out early (win) but I couldn't hardly sleep on what I assume was a 16th century torture table. In the room, the bed was only rivaled by the floor and the bathtub for firmness. I would think a more middle of the road firmness would be appropriate for a hotel bed--such as you find in other HI E hotels. The only one I've ever stayed in that was worse was outside of London. At least this one had a fitted sheet. (Brits apparently don't care for elastic.)
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2017 by Angie, Hotel Management
Hello Les; Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Express Warren/GM Tech Ctr., and for sharing your feedback about your experience at our hotel. We’re glad that our staff was friendly and helpful, including Shawn, our lovely Breakfast Attendant, who always has breakfast out early during the week…kudos, everyone! We appreciate your candor about your stay…you are very funny! I particularly am fond of how you were able to refer to the not-so-wonderful portions of your experience in a light-hearted manner. We do take your comfort and satisfaction seriously, however. I apologize for the condition of the hallways; we were in the process of replacing the carpet in all the hallways (the finishing touches of the recent renovation), and the workers going in and out did not help the already wretched-looking carpet any at all. The good news is that the carpeting is done, and the hallways are clean and beautiful! The bed, however (or the “16th century torture table” as you put it), is another story; kind of a “mixed bag” of opinions, if you will. Many guests feel that the beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, while others (such as yourself) feel that they are awaiting a bare-chested, black-masked man with a flogger to enter the room. I hope that we can come to some happy medium at some point, and possibly even have foam-topper that can be placed on your bed when you return. In any event, we hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you when you are in the Warren area again. Cheers! Angie C., Guest Services Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Was a bit dirty. The bed seemed like it had been slept on. There was an earwig in the shower. The woman at the desk was awesome. The breakfast was really good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place

Posted Aug 23, 2017
The hotel was nice. The staff was excellent. Breakfast was OK. Some of the parking lot was not very well lit. I would much rather stay there then other places. We did have ants in our room. But compared to other places in the area I would definitely pick this one
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana Pennsylvania

Nice hotel close to exit

Posted Aug 21, 2017 on Orbitz
One of the cleanest hotels and best breakfasts we have had at any hotel. Staff was very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great stay for Woodward Cruise

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Came to Detroit for Woodward Cruise and this hotel was great. Lots of classic cars in the lot and they even had a hose and brush to wash your ride. I'd come back to this hotel again. Clean and friendly. Breakfast is ok but nothing to write home about. Overall trouble free stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
I will recommend the hotel and I will return after Christmas.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield, VA

All is well but they didn't make up the room

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: The manager was awesome once alerted to a problem.
Cons: They need better room servicing accountability.
Location: Right off I-696; stayed there because I was visiting my parents.
The hotel was fine but when we returned to our room late in the evening it hadn't been serviced. When I called the desk they said I would have to come down there for sheets and towels and to speak to the manager the next morning. The next morning the manager was not in (it was Sunday). When I called the manager, Toni, two days later she was very helpful, even calling Expedia to resolve the third party booking and promptly refunding one night's stay. Very impressed with the way she handled this. Can't say the same for Expedia who I had to call twice and request to speak with a supervisor.
3 out of 5
by TONITA

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
Really enjoyed our stay just pictured the room being bigger overall everyone was great and helpful especially Matt
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great short stay

Posted Aug 14, 2017 on Hotels
I was there for a funeral and it was as nice place to relax and unwind. Friendly staff, clean rooms, and quiet area. Only complaint, it is kind of hidden far off the street.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
It was a nice hotel, the pool was an outdoor unheated even on the 90 degrees days it was really too cold for us to swim. Other than that we really enjoyed our stay!